We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Stamford again and again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #71 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We booked "The Stamford" again, as the very big advantage is, it can be reached by MRT very easily and fast. You just follow the sign "train to city", at Tannah Merah station you change to the opposite platform and from there you alight at the station City Hall. Then it is only a few steps to the hotel as the station is directly below the hotel.
Small lobby, extra check-in for guests of the executive-floors. The check-in counters are often very busy.
We choose always the executive rooms as the staff is very friendly and the offer of refreshments and snacks is good. The lounge itself is not very cosy but nevertheless very popular. The view from the rooms on Singapore is unique.
The rooms could need an updating but are still okay. Only the shower in the room we had was a mere trickle.
The pool area is small and used also from the guests from the Fairmont Hotel nearby. The gym at times very frequented but good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager-liese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

We’re happy to know that you love staying at Swissotel The Stamford. We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s accessibility, unique view and the very friendly executive lounge staff. However, we also note your feedback on the shower in the bathroom and the room conditions. Please rest assured that we will incorporate your feedback in future refurbishment plans.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel the Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (8,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,355 - 5,361 of 8,052 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a very good hotel in Singapore.
The rooms a very good in size, cleaning and an excellent bed (firm).
Beside of everything it is connected to a shopping mall, allowing you buy or have lunch/dinner without getting out of the same building facility.
It is expensive for a vacation but for business it is ver centric and with very nice meeting room facilities.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Corbellini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Check-in was quite fast since it had been pre-arranged as we were a fairly large group. was assigned room 5555 which had a good view of the Marina Bay, including the Casino and the Ferris wheel. the room was spacious and comfortable and even had a Pillow menu to choose from. Did not try it as i am not fussy about pillows. The TV was big but not very clear and the channel listing was pretty poor with regional channels dominating. No free internet but free wifi was available in the lobby. There was provision for internet connect but did not use so did not find out the rates. Location is very good , close to Raffles and Suntec etc.. the Hotel is connected to a Shopping Mall so it is quite convenient for shopping with all the usual suspects- brand wise. I was told that there is a food court downstairs but had gone out to try the famous Singapore hawker stalls which is quite close by. Two 7 Elevens in the vicinity.
Breakfast was sumptuous befitting a 5 star property, but how much can one eat especially in the era of diabetes. I think breakfasts are overrated and encourages gluttony!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Bay have a good view but one has to pay a premium for it I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thudor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay.

We appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s fast check-in, good view, room conditions, amenities and the sumptuous breakfast. We also note your feedback on the TV channels.

We hope to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We went as a family of 4 (2 small children) and were given a family room consisting of 2 double beds. We did not have a great view (just below the pool level) but were only in Singapore for a few days hence not a problem. The hotel in right next to the Raffles shopping mall so there are plenty of eating options nearby and the subway is right next door to.
It is a nice walk to the 'Durian' building and you can walk even further to the Singapore flyer which we did
The bad thing about the room was the shower - luke warm water only and no real force. Not what I would have expected from a hotel of this quality.
The breakfast was great - the kids liked seeing a proper honeycomb dripping the honey down onto a plate at the bottom. There was an extensive variety of fruit, cereals and hot food and one of the chefs (apologies but have forgotten her name) who was from the Phillippines was really friendly and great to talk to and the kids liked her a lot
I would stay here again because it is a good location (airport is only 20-25 min car journey) and it is very near the touristy areas

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank datahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

We take pleasure to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and appreciate your compliments on the hotel’s locality, the breakfast spread and the friendly chef. At the same time, we also note your feedback on the shower conditions. Please rest assured that we will follow up with the relevant department.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel the Stamford. We look forward to welcome your family back in the near future!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and every night I'm standing at the balcony, enjoying the marvelous view of Marina Bay (Singapore Flyers, Marina Bay Sands, Esplanade, etc)! Talk about the room, it was spacious, very nice king-sized bed and pillows. The bathroom was good, but the bathtub need to be, mmm, upgraded? Or need to be cleaned more? I saw the bathtub got some yellow marks that need to be cleaned.
Facilities are great. One thing I love the most is the desks. I can see the night view of Marina Bay while I'm working. For me, It was a awesome experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

Indeed, the view of the Marina Bay is something to behold. We also appreciate your compliments on the guestroom size and the hotel’s facilities. We note your feedback on the bathtub conditions. Cleanliness is a top priority so please be assured that we will follow-up with the relevant department to ensure that this do not recur.

We hope to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Wonderful location right near the City Hall underground station and next to the Mall. It has spacious rooms, wonderful view and excellent comfort. The buffet breakfast at Prego which comes with a Club room is superb with many varieties. The happy hour in the Club Lounge is also very satisfactory except that the items get consumed very quickly and do not have sufficient replacements. The view from the Club Lounge is superb as well.The hotel has several remarkable restaurants all worth trying All in all highly recommended

Room Tip: recommend the Club rooms with the added benefit of Club Lounge and buffet breakfast in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rini47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and strong recommendation. Your compliments on the hotel’s location, room size, view, comfort and restaurants are appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you back to Swissotel The Stamford!

Best regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here for a conference for 4 nights. On the positive side, the mattress was great, firm and comfortable, the linens, towels and robes are appropriate for the price, the tv and working area up to date and convenient. The bathroom is dated, the tub has been re-caulked with poor workmanship, the furniture in the room is scoffed, the master control for lighting is old, and the room did not cool down for two days. The fitness center, while a walk across the pool area to another building, has good recent equipment, it was crowded, and, use of jacuzzi and sauna is an additional charge, which is unacceptable for this price hotel. Also, while consistent with other high end hotels, I can not get used to being charged $25 per day for internet access on top of a high cost per night for the room. Breakfast was not tried, because at $32, seems a bit larcenous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkbnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TanBrian, Director of Quality at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Guest,

We apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Please rest assured that your feedback on the room, air-condition and pricing will be followed up with the relevant departments. You might like to know that access to the jacuzzi and sauna is complimentary for Swissotel the Stamford guests.

At the same time, we appreciate your compliments on the mattress, linen and room amenities.

Thank you for choosing Swissotel The Stamford.

Warm regards,
Brian Tan
Director of Quality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#19 of 319 in Singapore
6,205 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
7,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#56 of 319 in Singapore
4,033 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#48 of 319 in Singapore
6,127 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 319 in Singapore
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#31 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $187 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing