We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Ranked #63 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We stayed in this hotel on a two-night stopover in Singapore en-route to Australia and it was absolutely fantastic. The hotel is twenty minutes from Changi airport, right in the heart of the city and next to Raffles. It was my first time in Singapore but I was ready for the heat and humidity that hit us the minute we left the airport terminal having been warned by some friends who had been here before. On arrival at the hotel by coach early in the morning after our long flight our room was ready which was a real bonus. First impressions were great especially when we saw the amazing view from our balcony and the well-appointed, smart room. We ventured down to the fantastic shopping centre under the hotel and popped over to Raffles for a Singapore Sling. That afternoon there was a thrilling lightning storm that went on for hours which added to the exciting tropical atmosphere. The following morning we received a friendly greeting from the girl at the hotel's SwissCafé where we had a tasty breakfast with lots of choice and good quality food. The hotel is ideally located for sightseeing and that morning we headed first to the Botanic Gardens where we walked through the beautiful orchid garden and then past Little India to the Merlion, Singapore's symbol. From here we could see some of the city's newest developments in Marina Bay. We then went to the Thian Hock Keng temple in Chinatown before heading back to Raffles for the afternoon tea which was great. Back at the Swissotel Stamford we had a drink at the New Asia bar on the 71st floor which was a bit pricey but well worth it for the views of the amazing city as the lights came on. We had an early start the next morning but really enjoyed our stay here and would return in a heartbeat. Well done to all at the Swissotel The Stamford!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrickGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear CarrickGirl,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore and thank you for your unstinting support and encouraging compliments. We are pleased to learn of your amazing stay with us!

Taking pride in constantly exceeding the expectations of today’s discerning modern business and leisure travellers, we are deeply honoured to be of service to you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, on many more occasions in the near future, and in delivering the precise and attentive service that remain the hallmark of Swissôtel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,312
    2,756
    944
    295
    166
See reviews for
2,043
2,083
462
1,977
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,554)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

We drove up from Kuala Lumpur and stayed here for two nights.

Pros - Check in was quick despite the sea of people swarming the lobby area. The rooms were large and still had ample space even after fitting in a baby cot. There is a balcony for you to enjoy the view. The children's pool area was large enough which brought my kid immense joy. Gym, although not state of the art, was complete and provided towels. Hotel was right next to an MRT (rail transit) station and malls aplenty. Apparently there are some really nice restaurants and bars in the hotel but we didn't get the chance to give it a try as we were out most of the time. Perhaps the one most worthy of mention would be the hotel having really friendly staff. Always smiling, helpful and ready to strike up a conversation with you.

Cons - Despite the size of the room, at this price, you would have expected a much "newer" looking room. The furniture, the finishing, the deco were all still very much trapped in the 80's. The lobby was almost always packed with people. If you were planning to just chill by the cafe hoping for some peace and quiet, don't bother. Lastly, and possibly also the most frustrating part of this experience was NO COMPLIMENTARY PARKING. We either choose to park the car below the mall at an hourly rate (chargeable 24 hrs) or pay SGD25 (multiple entry per day) for valet services. I think that is very unfair to your driving guest. I was informed that an agreement has not been reached between the parking operators and the hotel management. Fair enough, but get your valet to charge your in-house guest at a cheaper rate. I paid SGD50 to park my car in a hotel I was paying to stay in. That's absurd.

So, will I come back again? If I was driving, a BIG NO. Although to be fair to your valet team, they were professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the 8th floor if you want to easily access the gym / spa / pool areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonGAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear Strat77,

Warm greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. Though a large part of your stay was enjoyable, on the other hand, we are deeply concerned that we have failed to live up to your expectations on our room decor, lobby area and parking charges.

We strongly believe we have the vital components in place to provide consistent quality service and products, and hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you back during your next visit to Singapore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We brought our accommodation through WOTIF as a mystery deal and for considering what we paid and what we received we were definitely the winners.
The Swissotel has the most friendliest staff you could imagine. The girl (i didnt get her name) on the door at Cafe Swiss was very friendly every morning when we went for breakfast and even knew our names. Also the cleaning staff, Guest services and reception staff can attribute to the hotel's great reputation and the hotel can thank great staff like this for patrons returning to this hotel.
The hotel is situated at the most convenient places, on top of a mall, food court and also the MRT is right at your door. Very convenient to Merlion, Marina Bay and all other attractions in Singapore are right at your door step.
The rooms were spacious and very clean and had the most amazing views.
I will not hesitate to stay at Swissotel Stamford again as it lives up to its reputation as a quality and luxurious hotel.
Congratulations to Swissotel Stamford, from our experience with your hotel we will always stay with you when we travel abroad.

Room Tip: The rooms are very sound proof, we didnt hear a thing and we had a lot of people on our floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear AucklandSweet,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

It is always a thrill to get fan mail, particularly when it is as positive as your experience was! Thank you for taking the time to let us know that we exceeded your expectations.

Do come back soon for another 'wow' experience with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

It was our first visit to S'pore, and we wanted to put up near the main attractions i.e. Merlion, suntec city mall and Singapore Flyer. We decided to book this hotel based on its rankings and reviews on TripAdvisor.

We have stayed at many of the 5 star properties over the years, but the experience and impeccable hospitality experienced at Swissotel is memorable. The staff at the hotel is very courteous, rooms are comfortable & spacious and the location of the hotel is excellent. We suggest everybody to visit "Equinox" restaurant to have one of the best asian foods with best panoramic view of S'pore.

Swissotel stamford is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pujatripathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Pujatripathi,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We would like to express our sincere thanks to you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford as your preferred choice of accommodation, and in taking precious time to share with us your generous compliments. We are delighted that you take home fond memories of an unforgettable experience with us.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford, many more times in the not too distant future and we will continue to deliver the highest standard of renowned Swiss hospitality that you have now come to associate with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuching, malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

Stayed here with my wife and daughter last week and found the experience absolutely wonderful right from check in.
We were so pleased to be given an upgrade to a bigger room on the 61st floor and the view is beautiful with very little traffic noise.
Room is clean with more than adequate amenities and housekeeping services first-class.
As for location, u can't ask for better .
My only gripe is that it does take a while to catch the lifts during busy periods of the day.
I have booked for my second visit from 9th to 14th Aug and certainly look forward to another pleasant experience with Swissotel The Stamford.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mengg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear mengg,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with all. We are very proud that you have given us the "thumbs up", we are even more pleased that you will be back to stay with us in August. You will be arriving on our National Day and we are most certain that you will be enjoying the buzz and soaking up the atmosphere from the big-scale nearby celebrations.

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed here for the Netball World Cup in July. The rooms were a good size for two (with shopping!!), it was very conveniently located, and I just loved having a shopping centre (Raffles) attached!! A great food hall there as well. We were located right on the MRT which meant getting around was easy and convenient, although we mostly caught cabs everywhere as they are so cheap. The service we received from staff at The Stamford was superb, nothing was too much bother and everyone was so polite. The concierge was the best I've ever encountered - she gave us great advice on everything from tours to shopping. Loved the breakfasts, such a great variety. Thanks everyone for making our stay so memorable!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible - the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHELEE49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear SHELEE49,

Warmest greetings from Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore!

We are extremely pleased that your stay was a blast! Thank you for writing in to share your experience with everyone. We can feel your excitement and how much you enjoyed your time in our Hotel.

We hope to be of service to you and your friends again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed in a lovely room on the 44th floor, with views over Marina Bay. Great service from the staff. The hotel is centrally located and connected to a shopping complex with plenty of eateries to choose from. Will holiday again at the Stamford.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anika005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PriscillaOsman, Manager at Swissotel The Stamford Singapore, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Anika005,

Thank you for choosing Swissôtel The Stamford, Singapore as your preferred venue of accommodation. We are honoured and privileged to have you reside with us during your sojourn in the lion city.

We are very grateful for your valuable compliments and are delighted that you have had an enjoyable stay with us. We will continue to provide immaculate service to create an unparalleled experience and make your future stays with us a truly memorable one.

It leaves us now to look forward to welcoming you back to Swissôtel The Stamford in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,528 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#54 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,712 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#51 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,264 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel The Stamford Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Property: Swissotel The Stamford Singapore
Address: 2 Stamford Road, Singapore 178882, Singapore (Formerly Swissotel The Stamford)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Singapore
#27 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#33 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#38 Business Hotel in Singapore
#57 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel The Stamford Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Singapore, Swissôtel The Stamford is a deluxe hotel that boasts a prime Singapore location amid the diversions of the Raffles City shopping complex and just 20 minutes away from Singapore Changi International Airport. One of Southeast Asia's tallest hotel, Swissôtel The Stamford offers a luxurious range of 1,261 guestrooms and suites with a wealth of amenities and panoramic views of Singapore and Malaysia. It also boasts an impressive array of 16 restaurants and bars including the Equinox Complex, Singapore's most exciting dining and entertainment complex. The hotel also houses the 70,000 sq. ft. Raffles City Convention Center which comprises 27 meeting venues with technologically advanced business facilities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Jetsetter so you can book your Swissotel The Stamford Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel The Stamford Hotel Singapore
Swissotel Stamford Singapore
Swissotel Singapore
Swissotel The Stamford Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing