We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Goodwood Park Hotel
Ranked #40 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2007

I'm beginning to wonder if some people's expectations are just unreasonable. This is a lovely hotel, people who stay here and complain must have to look hard to find problems. My room had recently been refurbished and was very spacious and comfortable. The main lobby with its cafe and patisserie were great for afternoon tea and a quick dinner. The buffet breakfast had a huge selection, with fresh omelettes made to order - my favourite. There are two pools and the smaller one is delightful and private, with trees and blooms all around. Staff were polite and helpful and arranged a treatment for me at the Aspara Spa, which is part of the hotel complex and it was sumptuous. Hotel is just off Orchard Road and near the metro station, a $15 cab ride to the airport. Perfect for a very comfortable stay and very reasonably priced when one is used to staying in tiny very average hotels in europe for the same price.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JHinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,295 - 1,301 of 1,706 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2007

I had a few days here at the end of my 2 month trip in Asia (mainly in Singapore) and here are my observations of the Goodwood :

1) Reception area had been updated and is nice (though the high tea is held here and still too open and public, no sense of privacy at all when having tea with your friends or family)

2) Staff are still very friendly and helpful

3) Dining - the breakfast buffet's standard had dropped from a few years' back, the local high tea buffet is pretty good and very reasonably priced at S$20 (or thereabouts), Minjiang is still a good restaurant though prices had gone up a little (quite pricey), the pastry shop still serve up some good cakes and pastries, the chocolate moose cake is scrumptious

4) Room service - will inform u that it will take 45 mins but arrive in 20 mins (order was placed at about 7 pm which is peak hour on a Friday night but they still managed to get it to us on time and still warm)

5) room (this will only apply to the Parklane Suites) - definitely needs updating, it is not all bad but definitely not good in my books for a 5* hotel. see photos attached for molds in the bathroom (u can smell how musty the room was the moment the door is opened, not just the bathroom but the whole apartment), everything is old (TV is horrible upstairs as it was a wall mounted 16" TV that is about 10 years old !, a/c was not functioning well when u dropped the temperature, water droplets start appearing at the vent on the ceiling and pretty soon, u have water dripping on top of your head !, old power outlets, old and worn out closets, tables, doors that has cracks and chips on them, etc), the photos I had taken makes the room better than it looks as I didnt zoom in on the bad stuff (i only did the mold photo coz I just cant believe how bad that was) The bed is not comfortable (not firm) and the huge overhead painting's frame is just at the height of the bed when if u lift up your head from the pillow, u will hit the bottom of the frame ! Sofa in the sitting room (directly above the stairs' landing area) pulls out into a twin size bed (cant even fit two kids comfortably)

6) Pool - didnt go to the other pool but did the main one as it was closer, still hardly any shade (the palm trees are still too young to provide any shade and there is hardly any umbrellas around, only 2 !) and too open (facing the cafe and the outdoor buffet), not a great pool to swim in (not a full size coz one end of the pool had been blocked off for the kids) or even lounging around (very few loungers and not a big pool, the landscaping needs a lot of improvement as well

Overall, there is a lot of improvement to be done if they are to keep up the standard of a 5* property in SIN and to charge higher prices like they are doing nowadays. The main hotel had some rooms that had undergone some renovation and I wish I had made my reservations for these one, I would rather have these nicer newer rooms as connecting than the Parklane suites.

12  Thank _de_last_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

This is a hotel which is very disappointing. One of the Grand old Dames of Singapore that attempts to be 5 star but a combination of lack of investment, poorly trained staff and disappointing food makes for an experience not worth sampling. There are far better alternatives elsewhere in the City. The one redeeming feature is its location.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Londonhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2007

I have been staying at The Goodwood Park since 1997 and would never stay anywhere else in Singapore. Close to shopping, transportation, dinning and more. The best staff in the business and it's nice being remembered year to year.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank gcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2006

We were not supposed to stay at this hotel, but after one night at the terrible Phoenix hotel, we were desperately looking for a decent hotel, and majority of those on Orchard road were fully booked.

What a pleasant surprise! The hotel has been renovated, the lobby, restaurants looked fabulous.

We were given a large room which had obviously been totally renovated. Beautiful carpet, nice furniture, lovely bedding. The staff was helpful, the people at the front desk polite and efficient. The buffet breakfast was excellent.

In one of the halls there is a big bowl with complimentary apples, which disappeared before we could help ourselves, as a group of Japanese tourists took the whole lot, 2 or 3 apples each!

I would definitely recommend this hotel.


  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank strtchrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2006

I'm staying in the Park Lane Suites which are part of the Goodwood Park Hotel. Our room is a slightly pricier multi-storey appartment but really nice - modern, stylish, spacious and very clean. Nice to have a bit of privacy in an apartment rather than a hotel room. Discount for stays of 30 days or longer - good for those on business trips (like us). Haven't eaten in the restaurant but have been lazy enough to get room service a few times and each time has been pretty awful, but plenty of great places to eat all around this area so not a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jenners10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2006

My wife and I absolutely loved the Goodwood Park. The service and cleanliness were excellent, great location, and a really nicely appointed suite for about $120US per night. We got there via a great deal found on one of the three big internet sites (the other two couldn't touch their rate, so it pays to look at the deals each one offers). Food and facilities were awesome and since we stayed at Goodwood for about 1/3 of the rate of the Raffles, I think it's where we'll head back again. The rooms were nicely appointed, spacious, comfortable, and designed with excellent taste.

The concierge captain (Idiyl Ruben) was truly superb and sized us up perfectly after a few minutes of conversation. He made a couple of excellent recommendations for quick side trips that were real highlights of our stay. This was one of our best vacation stays ever and we'll be recommending it to friends and family with no small enthusiasm.

Stayed: August 2006
9  Thank Multicaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Fort Canning
#36 of 317 in Singapore
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#39 of 317 in Singapore
2,573 reviews
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 317 in Singapore
5,208 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Park Hotel

Address: 22 Scotts Road Goodwood Park Hotel, Singapore 228221, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Singapore
#22 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#31 Business Hotel in Singapore
#40 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $190 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Goodwood Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodwood Park Hotel is set amidst on a luxurious 6-hectare landscaped garden within Singapore’s famed shopping belt in Orchard Road. A quiet retreat for guests with the hustle and bustle of the city at its doorstep. It is conveniently located 5-10 mins walk to Orchard MRT Station and upmarket shopping malls such as DFS Galleria, Paragon, Ngee Ann City and ION Orchard; 15 mins drive to Central Business District. A 10-15 minutes drive to the Central Business District and numerous nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay, making it an ideal choice for both leisure and business travellers visiting Singapore. Guestrooms and suites at Goodwood Park Hotel feature contemporary amenities with pool or garden views, with some providing direct pool access to one of its two outdoor swimming pools and complimentary internet access for all in-house guests. The hotel’s facilities consist of two outdoor swimming pools, a well-quipped fitness centre, beauty and spa services, five renowned restaurants, a bar, a deli and a range of banqueting and meeting venues to cater to every need and occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Goodwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Singapore
Hotel Goodwood Park
Goodwood Park Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing