We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm... with a few cracks around the edges!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Goodwood Park Hotel
Ranked #32 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Old world charm... with a few cracks around the edges!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights at the Goodwood Park Hotel for a long weekend getaway.

The hotel enjoys a prime location on Scott Road on elevated ground several hundred meters north of Orchard Rd. Nearest MRT is "Orchard" but Newton both on the red line are an easy walk to the hotel. So for access to Orchard Road shopping but with a feeling of privacy and intimacy this is an excellent hotel choice.

Booking was through Agoda after checking with the hotel and discovering their direct rates where more expensive!

Check-in was excellent, we arrived early around 11am and the receptionist was happy to allocate us a junior suite room (as booked) on the 2nd floor in the main hotel complex but right at the back (NE corner). The suite comes with a comfortably sized living room-bedroom featuring couch, small dinning table, side board and tele-cabinet. Within the open plan area there is also a king size bed (very firm mattress) and luggage rack, wardrobe and dressing table.

Bathroom had vanity, toilet and bath with stand in shower and curtain rail.

The overall impression was one of a suite with warmth and comfort decorated in calming earthy tones.

Big thumbs up for; ultra quiet room, nespresso coffee machine in room, effective and quite air-conditioning, large safety box

Several of the "ergonomic" aspects of the room were a little frustrating including;
the shower in bath which was cramped and the shower curtain failed to stop some water leaking into the bathroom floor.
the chair for the dressing table had arms and could not fit under the benchtop consequently the area around the dressing table (luggage rack and one side of the bed) is cramped
the television cannot be comfortably viewed from bed (what about a 2nd TV on the wall as an option?)
lighting was controlled by a central electronic panel at the bedside which is a good concept but the controller was a little challenging to use
although the general cleanliness of the room was good there was several grubby marks around light fittings.

Sleep comfort was good, the room being ultra-quite (Room 180) but the mattress was a little hard for our taste. Room service, of which we required little, was efficient and all the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.

The common areas of the hotel are pleasant with the same general earthy tones and "oldie-worldy" feel. The two pools are fine although the general outside decor is a little tatty and due for a make-over.
Breakfast buffet, while not expansive, was adequate and service was fine. I'm surprised as an option breakfast is not served around the main pool. This area, already partially uncover, would make for a very pleasant weekend brunch experience? I note it is used for weddings and such but these are mostly afternoon and evening affairs so I'm sure the dual-use could be accommodated.

The garden areas are nice but not stunning; while the complex is surrounded by high rise the outside areas feel relatively private and relaxing.

The coffee shop is comfortable and serves lunches, high teas and all day tea and coffee. The cake selection is terrific! We only ate diner at the hotel once and ended up at the Gordon Grill after being told "Gaia" restaurant is not open on Sunday nights(?) (Its also strange that restaurant Gaia does not feature on the hotels website?)

The Gordon Grill accessed through the Highland Bar served a very "meaty" selection. Prime cuts of meat are brought to the table for selection if requested.

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the service was good although at S$260 for 2 mains, side dishes and a bottle of wine it is at the premium dining end of the spectrum (at least for our budget!).

Check-out was equally smooth and concierge were always helpful during our stay.

The internet is a little confusing as the 2MB "free" service is in fact not restricted to 2MB of download but rather I think that is the maximum speed you get... you can pay a premium for faster speeds but we found the free option perfectly adequate (including several Skype calls). The wireless coverage was adequate in our room and public areas where tested.

So to sum up we would happily return to the Goodwood for a "weekend getaway" experience and can live with the slightly quirky aspects of the hotel, some of which stem from it being an old property, but others which could be resolved with a bit more TLC.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Notcomingback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi Notcomingback,

Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this constructive review.

It’s our pleasure to have you with us during your recent trip to Singapore and I am glad that your stay was generally a positive experience. I will certainly share your compliments with our team members and they will be delighted to know that their attentive service has left you with a good impression.

I do however regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the room layout and facilities. Please be assured that your feedback will be further reviewed and discussed with the Executive Housekeeper and where possible,we will make improvements to ensure a more pleasant and comfortable stay. We will also review your wonderful suggestion to serve breakfast by the poolside with the F&B team. I would also like to take this opportunity to share with you that we have indeed recently upgraded our internet connection speed to 2MB. It is through regular feedback from guests such as yourself that we are able to keep improving.

Regarding Gaia Restaurant, as they are a tenant and not one of our hotel-operated restaurants, hence we do not feature them in the hotel’s website. I am also very concerned with regards to the room rates offered through other channels as we take pride to ensure all rooms rates are the same through all channels hence this has been highlighted to our Revenue department. Also, to take note that that we do offer exclusive room packages which include breakfast, dining credit etc. only available on the hotel’s website. Should you need assistance, please do not hesitate to contact our reservation team at +65 6730 1811 or email us at rmresv@goodwoodparkhotel.com.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and it will be our pleasure to have you back with us again which we certainly look forward to very soon.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    536
    167
    54
    22
See reviews for
393
535
106
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed a night at the hotel as I had my wedding banquet there. Had a junior suite which comes with a very big bathroom and sizable living area. Bed was very comfortable and service standard was excellent. The hotel also acceded to our requests promptly and room service was not bad too!

Room Tip: Don't see the need to choose the poolside suite. Felt that junior suite is already sufficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cashewnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Beautiful hotel, well run and organised and great food. I stayed here for 3 nights while having a business conference at the hotel. The reception staff was good and got the formalities done quickly. The lay out of the hotel is a bit confusing, but I guess that is the result of heritage buildings pulled together and extra wings added. My standard room was well laid out with all I needed available. However, the room was quite small and cramped. Conference facilities were very good and the food and drinks were excellent. Great service and friendly staff.
The location, within walking distance of Orchard Road, but still with a lots of green around it, is great. Well recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank expat_sealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Hi expat_sealover,

Thank you for choosing the Goodwood Park Hotel as your preferred choice of accommodation.

I am pleased to hear that your stay was mostly a pleasant and memorable experience. I would definitely share your compliments with our team members to encourage them to continue working towards service excellence.

Indeed due to the unique layout of our rooms in this low rise heritage hotel, all our guests are personally escorted to the rooms upon arrival and the room size for our lead in category- Deluxe room is averaging 40 sq m. Some room sizes do vary accordingly due to the location and structure of the hotel. However we have taken note of your feedback and where possible will make improvements to ensure a more pleasant and comfortable stay experience.

We do appreciate your comments and If we can be of any assistance for your future stay, please do not hesitate to contact our team at rmresv@goodwoodparkhotel.com Look forward to welcoming you back again the near future.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was very colonial. As it stated. The front face of the hotel is just that. I was disappointed with the pool. If you're a sun worshipper there are too many trees. You need a map of the hotel to find your room. If you have a mobility problem ( walking) this is not for you.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Penzance63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

My family and I stay at the Goodwood Park Hotel Singapore at least once a year. I thought that this is an opportune time for me to write a review about this hotel since it has been partially refurbished.
With its impressive colonial facade all round, sprawling grounds and greenery, makes It different from other hotels in Singapore and with the building painted in white, it just gives it that extra colonial touch. The hotel has a very welcoming homely atmosphere. It is located on Scotts Road and is just 5 minutes to Orchard RoadIt and if you venture via Yprk Hotel which is also owned by the same owners it is 5 minutes The drive up to the hotel is pretty impressive.
The lobby lounge with the swimming pool in the background has that perfect colonial charm too, partly reminiscence of the backdrop in the story, "Tanamera.
The rooms are very spacious and comfortable,always well cleaned and is fabulous value for money. Overall the hotel is well maintained and clean.
The only problem with the rooms that I discover is the noise that can be heard from the function room positioned awkwardly on the same floor.as the rooms, if there is a function and the noise in the morning from the staff by the swimming pool if one is residing in the suites. Not a big issue but still!
The staff there are ever so helpful, well mannered and gracious, there is always a smile for you!
The Concierge in particular is always very willing to help and assist in anything.Just go up to them, and you won't be disappointed. I have had great service form the concierge in particular from Idil and Raj to name a few, but everyone of them there is just as great!
The coffee house has great Teo Chew porridge served with a big menu spread, and the best that I have tasted in Singapore Excellent, a must try! the rest of the food is just average, used to be very good though.The waiters and waitresses there too are very friendly and willing to help anytime. Most commendable is a lady by the name of Caroline. The perfect hostess.
Min Jiang the Szechuan restaurant is one of my favourites…I just love the food there!

In terms of room rates this hotel is better priced then most 5 stars in Singapore.
I feel very at home in this hotel and I have to desire to stay anywhere else when visiting Singapore.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Happyjaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
116 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This time I was in Singapore with a colleague and we stayed at Goodwood Park hotel for the First time. At a very reasonable price the hotel was very nice and comfortable, service was really good, and something which makes me choose it above the rest.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamik_Dubey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrant Monkton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My parents used to stay at the Goodwood 53 years ago when they visited Singapore from Malacca. So my husband and I decided to have 5 nights there on our way back from Australia. The hotel has a lovely traditional atmosphere and so nice to be somewhere that is not high rise.
It is perfectly placed for Orchard Road and all activities.

However, there were a few disadvantages. On arrival we were told we had been upgraded to a newly refurbished room. But we found the room a little on the small side- the bathroom too. In a hotel of this quality we thought that there should be a separate shower and not one over the bath. The room had a balcony but the chairs were very uncomfortable and rock hard. We were not over impressed with the breakfast so after the first morning we went out for breakfast.

We did have great 'Dim Sum' in the restaurant. Which we highly recommend. I guess we paid a premium for New Year. However, we stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 918PatriciaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear 918PatriciaF,

It is our pleasure to have you and your husband as our guests.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s charming atmosphere and your dining experience at our award winning Min Jiang restaurant during the New Year period was a memorable one. However, I do regret to hear that we did not meet your expectation with regards to the upgraded room accorded and the breakfast selections. Please be assured that these feedbacks will be further discussed with the Executive Housekeeper and Executive Chef to make improvement whenever possible.

Once again, thank you for taking time to share with us your experience. We are very delighted to know that there will be an opportunity of welcoming you back which we certainly look forward to. Should you need assistance for your future reservation, please do not hesitate to contact our reservation team at rmresv@goodwoodparkhotel.com.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,274 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#39 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Park Hotel

Property: Goodwood Park Hotel
Address: 22 Scotts Road Goodwood Park Hotel, Singapore 228221, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#24 Family Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#31 Business Hotel in Singapore
#32 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Goodwood Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodwood Park Hotel is set amidst on a luxurious 6-hectare landscaped garden within Singapore’s famed shopping belt in Orchard Road. A quiet retreat for guests with the hustle and bustle of the city at its doorstep. It is conveniently located 5-10 mins walk to Orchard MRT Station and upmarket shopping malls such as DFS Galleria, Paragon, Ngee Ann City and ION Orchard; 15 mins drive to Central Business District. A 10-15 minutes drive to the Central Business District and numerous nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay, making it an ideal choice for both leisure and business travellers visiting Singapore. Guestrooms and suites at Goodwood Park Hotel feature contemporary amenities with pool or garden views, with some providing direct pool access to one of its two outdoor swimming pools and complimentary internet access for all in-house guests. The hotel’s facilities consist of two outdoor swimming pools, a well-quipped fitness centre, beauty and spa services, five renowned restaurants, a bar, a deli and a range of banqueting and meeting venues to cater to every need and occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Goodwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Singapore
Hotel Goodwood Park
Goodwood Park Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing