We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old grandeur in new way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Goodwood Park Hotel
Ranked #30 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Goodwood Park Hotel had its share of history, owned by some wealthy Singaporeans, than used as the war-tribunal for the Japanese after the second world war.
And now a hotel which combines that “old” in new luxury.

I't s difficult to find ok hotels in Singapore in the lower price ends, even the expensive ones do not always live up to their price-tag, but the Goodwood certainly does.

A friendly staff (without being stiff), a big hotel with 2 swimming pools (one just at the lobby and a more intimate down in the hotel), some quite expensive restaurants (who aren't really worth the price - paid over 400 euro's for dinner with 4 and expected more from that) you can find much better restaurants in town.

Rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and have all the accommodation one wishes. Cleaning staff is more than helpful, breakfast is recommended (with tasty omelets at your wishes, Asian and common breakfast, ....).

They have bars and shops and off course the high tea, if you want to take part, make a reservation, every single afternoon I passed by it was packed. It looked tasty but since I wasn't free at tea time I never enjoyed the party.

Also nicely located, just off Orchard (not even 5 min. walk) so if you want to be in or out the crowds it's a matter of minutes


in short: this hotel has something to live up to, and does that perfect – one minor thing the hotel is old and at some places it shows, scratches at the walls, carpets looking as old as they are, … but the do their best, the power of the humidity and hot temperatures is really intense over here, they eat buildings a live - just look at the Ion Mall, build only a few years ago and already showing signs of decay

Room Tip: ask for the rooms at the back, besides the little pool (you'll stay in a courtyard with palm tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benjaminv816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear benjaminv816,

My team and I are very pleased to hear that your recent stay at Goodwood Park Hotel was a positive one.

Indeed the hotel has a beautiful history since its opening in the 1900s. Thank you for recognising our effort towards maintaining the national monument, at the same time working towards enhancing our guest’s experience.

We hope that on your next visit to Singapore, we can have the pleasure of welcoming you and you would have the time to savour our popular English Afternoon Tea at L’Espresso.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,623)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

908 - 914 of 1,623 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here with family and elder parents. Good location close to Orchard Road next to Far East Plaza. Abit of a walk to the main orchard street for the parents though.

Rooms are spacious with charming design. good service too.

would definitely stay here again if not on budget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlyy_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear carlyy_car,

Thank you for choosing Goodwood Park Hotel during your recent visit to Singapore with your family and for sharing your pleasant experience with us.

Your generous compliments is greatly appreciated. We hope we don’t have to wait long to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

A lovely charming hotel surrounded by greenery and old world charm. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the inner courtyard. The service was excellent. When they found out I was I'll with a cold, they sent up complimentary juice and fruits along with a get well card!
The breakfast offered a lot of choice and delicious. A good recommendation anytime

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Hi Mim L,

Thank you for your review and we trust that you had fully recovered from the cold.

We are happy to know that your stay with us had been a positive experience and you were well taken care by our team.

We will continue to work towards providing a high level of services and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel remembered me from years ago. It has that feeling of classical old British traditions, a high tea service, two pools, gigantic rooms. Its location just off Orchard Road, right in the bustle, excellent concierge with top tips for shopping & the night safari zoo. Bit pricey but for a Honeymoon Start, a steal... Room Services were fantastic too. Top reception services also.

Room Tip: All rooms offer appeal, based on 6 past visits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richy_L99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear Richy_L99,

It is a great pleasure to have you back at the hotel again during your recent visit.

Thank you for your generous compliments which has been shared with our team members.

We will continue to work on interesting offers and enhancing our services and do hope you will be back again soon.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed here as it is located close to Orchard Road - the major shopping area.
Reasonable sized room in the new wing. Entrance is to the side of the original colonial style building. Short walk to Orchard Road. Excellent location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelGWilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi MichaelGWilliams,

Thank you for choosing us as your preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore and taking your time to share with us your experience.

I am delighted to hear that you have enjoyed the hotel’s convenient location to Orchard Road and you are pleased with the room assigned.

We do look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Have just returned to Australia after staying with a friend for 4 nights at the lovely Goodwood Park Hotel. The staircase entrance is quite stunning with the red lanterns hanging down looking very exotic and beautiful. Our room was spacious with a nice balcony looking out to a tree that sported a lively squirrel. We were happy we could open the sliding doors to go onto the balcony to sit and have a cuppa while watching the little animal dart about. The smaller of the two swimming pools was delightful and it was great to grab a complimentary mandarin or two from the big bowl just inside the pool door. The best part of our stay was the friendly manner of the staff and their helpful assistance with a number of matters. A very gracious and friendly place to stay for anyone. Also great to be within walking distance of Orchard Road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Hi Helen175,

It was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay.

Thank you for your generous compliments on the service and facilities of our property. The team will be delighted to know that they have left a positive impression.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Singapore.

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Goodwood Park was first opened about 1900 and the original buildingremains on a slight hill of garden and with grand staircase and entrance There are 2 pools with surrounding gardens, welcome away from the general hustle of the City. Our room wa in the new wing and had all the standard 5 star facilities and good servicing Security entrance was by key to the floor as well as room . We were there (accidentally) at Chinese New Year so the Hotel was full and the lobbies and dining areas all very busy but the staff coped even with the crowded multinational breakfast buffet. There are several restaurants of different cuisine and cost up to the very grand and a small deli shop , Unfortunately internet is charged by the minute! In Singapore? There is a gym and spa is in a separate cottage Our second visit after 30 years and we still found Goodwood Park atmospheric and different from the chain Hotels.

Room Tip: Our room 451 overlooked the second smaller poo land garden and had a good sized balcony with table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda W, General Manager at Goodwood Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear sheilarussel,

It was our pleasure to have you stay with us again on your recent visit to Singapore and trust that you had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We will be reviewing the charges and just to let you know that our internet is charged by the day (24 hours usage) as well.

We hope we don’t have to wait long to welcome you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Linda Wee
General Manager of Goodwood Park Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Royal Plaza on Scotts
#47 of 317 in Singapore
4,470 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#31 of 317 in Singapore
2,464 reviews
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#43 of 317 in Singapore
3,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Park Hotel

Address: 22 Scotts Road Goodwood Park Hotel, Singapore 228221, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#24 Family Hotel in Singapore
#26 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#30 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#31 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $191 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Goodwood Park Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goodwood Park Hotel is set amidst on a luxurious 6-hectare landscaped garden within Singapore’s famed shopping belt in Orchard Road. A quiet retreat for guests with the hustle and bustle of the city at its doorstep. It is conveniently located 5-10 mins walk to Orchard MRT Station and upmarket shopping malls such as DFS Galleria, Paragon, Ngee Ann City and ION Orchard; 15 mins drive to Central Business District. A 10-15 minutes drive to the Central Business District and numerous nightlife options at Clarke Quay and Boat Quay, making it an ideal choice for both leisure and business travellers visiting Singapore. Guestrooms and suites at Goodwood Park Hotel feature contemporary amenities with pool or garden views, with some providing direct pool access to one of its two outdoor swimming pools and complimentary internet access for all in-house guests. The hotel’s facilities consist of two outdoor swimming pools, a well-quipped fitness centre, beauty and spa services, five renowned restaurants, a bar, a deli and a range of banqueting and meeting venues to cater to every need and occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Goodwood Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Park Singapore
Hotel Goodwood Park
Goodwood Park Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing