We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MO excellent as always”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“MO excellent as always”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Have decided that we can't go wrong staying at any Manderin Oriental. As usual excellent service, clean, quiet and peaceful . Excellent location. Amazing breakfast and a member of staff made sure that we were aware that breakfast stations would soon be closing if we needed something else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthMiltonKeynesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,863
    1,159
    322
    111
    68
See reviews for
1,058
2,205
320
1,276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,099)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We selected this hotel for our recent three day stay in Singapore as a stopover back from vietnam to Australia. We booked it through American Express. The room was ok, it was clean, the view is amazing but it did smell of cigarette smoke a little despite being a non smoking floor...we asked for some softer pillows and the pillows we were given had holes in the cases, quite poor for such a hotel. The next morning we went to talk to the front desk lady regarding wi fi in the hotel. She said we would have to pay $26 per 24 hrs for wi fi or $12 for one hour of use. We were astonished that this was so especially having just come from vietnam where both our hotels which were considerably cheaper than the mandarin had free wi fi. We asked the girl if she could discount the wi if say $26 for our entire three day stay but she flatly refused... Bemused we walked off.One hour later we had a call from the duty manager. He offered us 25% off the internet...something but not great. We went back downstairs to change money, we checked the fine details for our room as American Express had said in their booking email that we would have a $250 food or massage voucher included. The duty manager checked and said we didn't have this. We told him to ring American Express after showing him our email. After ringing he said there was nothing they could as American Express had booked it incorrectly. We were fairly disappointed. It was then that I said I wanted to speak to the general manager, he said the gm was off as it was Sunday. I said I would see him Monday morning, he tried to persuade me to talk to his front desk manager, I said no I want the gm ( I said his name for extra effect Christian haansig) that was when he became rude and I told him to stop arguing with me and be quiet as I am the customer(no manners at all). It was only after we said we wanted to leave and that we would be ringing the general manager the next morning that they offered us a free upgrade to a suite... Too late.My wife had witnessed all this and decided to go to the ritz Carlton next door where we got a suite for cheaper and free wi fi. Lots to learn at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Stayed in Mandarin Oriental for 4 nights in Feb 2014. I have never received such incredible service from a hotel anywhere in the world. The staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough for you. We had a harbour view room which was spectacular. The facilities in the room were excellent. Breakfast at Melt Café was incredible the choice was enormous. We particularly loved the Axis Bar. On arrival had a late night snack in this bar and would have to say it was the best meal I had on the entire trip. The piano player and singer were spot on what a great first night. Every member of staff at this hotel was amazing from front desk to waiters in café and bar to doorman all extremely helpful. Location fantastic with shopping centres next door and a nice walk to the Gardens By the Bay. Will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Definitely book a harbour view it will make your stay perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ausloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qld
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just spent 2 days at this hotel. Nice bay view room, although you have to look sideways to see the Marina bay Casino. Just to note though, everything at the hotel is VERY expensive. Internet $30, a beer $20, breakfast $50. Fairly standard room $500. So wont leave there with much change from $750 for an average stay. Could stay in Geneva for that :)

Breakfast was excellent, so was check in.

Room Tip: Select a bay view room when booking, chances are you will be offered an upgrade to a higher level no...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank extralite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed for four days and wished it had been more! From the moment we arrived at the Airport we were whisked away in a Mercedes Limo to the Hotel. no checking in we just were escorted to our room overlooking the Pool and marina Bay, quite stunning.
The hotel is conveniently located close to the the City (for the Bankers) but more importantly walking distance to Raffles Place, Little India the famous Marina Bay Gardens and of course if you are around in March the Singapore Grand Prix! The hotel is truly a perfect place to relax and of course to sample the delights of the Restaurants : dolceVita is an elegant Italian restaurant by the swimming pool, the cuisine is outstanding, Morton's Steakhouse, cherry Garden all serving wonderful meals. A great stay but I would suggest that the hotel provides Chest of Drawers for clothes which we had to keep in our suitcases, not very good for such a good hotel. The hotel has no Mandarin Oriental loyalty card which is a pity, it would encourage more visitors to try out a variety of their hotels in the Orient, North America and Europe.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 8th Floor overlooking the Swimming Pool and Marina Bay and on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trenham Ian Weatherhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

First time in Singapore. Mandarin Oriental is a nice hotel group, location excellent for what we wanted to do. Great that the hotel was next to a mall with easy access. Checking in on our arrival was very slow with inexperience staff. The lobby has no "wow" factor, walking up to our room felt like I am checked into a "Motel" rather then a 5 star establishment. Rooms are ok.... furniture and fixtures are dated, chairs and footstool (soiled & stained). We only stayed for 2 nights! Breakfast buffet was "Great", restaurant team very professional (Special Thanks to Prasanth/ assistant Manager) who work very hard with the high volume of guests and still took the time to check how we were doing!) Concierge was also very helpful (especially Mohan Elangovan) gave us great recommendation and confirmed a reservation to the local restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marshmellow2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barlaston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Mandarin is a good hotel but not as good as others in this hotel group, so don't expect the 'wow' factor, but expect a good quality and pretty reliable hotel. Great position for getting around Singapore with excellent bell hops who rustle up taxis in seconds! Check in was a bit tardy, we observed a lot of staff busy doing nothing! The hotel reception is dark and a bit miserable looking because there is hardly any natural light (due to a dated design fault...) and it seriously lacks a lobby area (unless you count the water around the central lift shaft which smells of chlorine, not pleasant). No nice morning coffees or afternoon tea here. Great buffet breakfasts with masses of choice although the staff struggle when it's busy - what it needs is someone in charge and working the floor! Didn't eat in the restaurants at all. Excellent room with a great view with a fantastically comfortable bed, pillows and linen. Nice bathroom with good quality toiletries, towels, fab shower and a bath tub. Well stocked mini bar, good tv and a good working area if on business. Free water, tea / coffee, iron, decent hair dryer all appreciated! Oh, and an excellent laundry service (flight attendant spilt coffee on my cream lacy top and it was restored to new!). Lovely outdoor pool with soft towels, iced water, papers / magazines and sun lotion provided. It was busy when we went up there but with a bit of shuffling two loungers were arranged in the sun where we wanted them. We were travelling with a school sports swimming team (as parents) and one miserable guest looked disparagingly at our students (who were immaculately behaved) poolside, but some people are only happy when they're miserable! Full marks to the pool attendant for keeping a keen eye on them whilst in the pool even though they were just as qualified as he was probably! Quick word of warning - this hotel seems to be permanently hosting weddings which is a bit tiresome for us 'Terry Tourists' and I think staff are diverted to look after wedding guests leaving the hotel a bit short elsewhere? Just an observation. Just one major gripe - I really resent paying for wifi no matter how fast and efficient it may be!

Room Tip: We had a good rate allegedly for the the Asian market, so if you're an expat in Asia send off yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#36 of 312 in Singapore
21,865 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 312 in Singapore
7,277 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,014 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#5 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing