We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Visit .To Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #15 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Happy Visit .To Singapore”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Very pleasant rooms overlooking the harbour. Superb breakfast buffet. Evening buffet also excellent and reflects the price in what is provided. Good variety of restaurants but some of them are a bit pricey.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bert_travels0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,816
    1,151
    321
    109
    67
See reviews for
1,040
2,186
318
1,265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,092)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel is way below the standards of a 5 star/Mandarin Oriental hotel. The check-in last night went quite quick (done in the room), but we were quite surprised as we walked into the hotel! Everything seems quite old and cheapely made. Our bed is ok, but the decoration of the room and halls alone is not one of a 5 star hotel - not at all comparable to MO in New York or Munich, where we have stayed. The bathroom is tight, has only one sink, shower cabin tiny and the finishing looks very old and poor. I think the whole hotel needs a complete make over!!!!! Also the service, which everyone seems to be praising about, is poor.

The breakfast has a great selection but again, the setting is horrible! You seat as if you are on the food court of a train station.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gyn94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My first impression when i arrived was "wow it was very crowded" However when i was introduced to the room It was a different experience. The service was good and the room was fantastic. Would love to go there back again. It was a five star hotel worth visiting again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awesome3866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Korea
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I would like to believe it is the time of year I chose to stay in the hotel. (This time of year many countries have school vacations.) I was there with family (3 adults) and as a result we had two harbor view rooms for 8 days. The view was spectacular especially at night. The public spaces were quite hectic from the lobby to the breakfast buffet. The rooms were clean but I had to ask for face towels on several occasions. The request was met promptly. The pool while beautiful was very busy (making seats hard to find) but the pool staff provided excellent service. My only big issue was with the spa. When I asked for the manager the situation was resolved quickly. The concierges were excellent and offered plenty of options for things to do. My final thoughts???? If you want to stay at this hotel and have options for what time of year do not go during the festive season (mid-Dec to Chinese New Year).

Room Tip: Don't go during December or January. Staff cannot handle the hectic crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaCuore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I am still staying in the hotel at a time a of writing
I have booked a 4 days package in a suite for 2000$ incl taxes
I have a baby of 6 months old
First suite was really noisy i asked to change
They told me if you want to change we have more expensive room your kind of suite is the last one available
Then after 10 minutes debating with them they found me the same room and shifted me..strange
I wanted to extand my room for one more night so i asked them to pay 500$ to stay in my room one more night
Answer:No you have to pay 680$
To do not have trouble with my baby i decided to stay in the same hotel and to book a smaller room which cost me 500$
To make short term money is good to satisfy customer it is better on the long run
I don t recommand this hotel

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Freds1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Probably one of the best hotels I've stayed in in Singapore. The housekeeping staff were extremely efficient and went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable and even made special efforts to take care of my son (lollipops, amenities etc)

Similarly the manager at the cafe also ensured we were well attended when some of our dining party opted for a la carte and the rest the dinner buffet by serving complimentary items for the buffet for the former whilst waiting for the a la carte meals.

One of the best breakfast buffets I have had in Singapore, caters for just about everyone - japanese, chinese, indian and american (even with a choice of crispy American vs middle rasher bacon!). All generally pretty authentic food except for the malaysian curry which was unusually average compared to the other food.

Room was large, spotless and well appointed. Pool is nice and has a separate area for small children.

Marina square shopping mall is just next door and easily accessible via a 2 flight stairwell just outside the entrance to the hotel.

Overall an excellent place to stay, I would definitely stay there again. Only issue would be if you are keen to shop on Orchard Rd - accessible by MRT station close by but a real pain at peak hour by Taxi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bananabok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a live review.

I used to be a vocal advocate for Mandarin Oriental and have for numerous times in the past used the Mandarin Oriental brand as a benchmark of hotel service excellence. Sadly to say, what we experienced in the past few days shattered my trust in the brand.

On our day of arrival a message left by our friend was never received.

Then in the afternoon a fire alarm and evacuation announcement got us hurrying out into the corridor, only yo be told by our son in the next room that there is a message in the room saying it was a drill. Yet there was no such note in two of our three rooms.

The reception lobby was chaotic and was like a 3-4 star hostel rather than Mandarin Oriental.

The breakfast cafe Melt was run more like a packaged tour outfit. Tables were tightly packed and table clothes were so large that they threatened to trip you if you were not careful. Is this Mandarin Oriental?

Upon our return to our second half of our booking, we were told at 4:30 pm no rooms were ready. The front desk had no idea when rooms would be ready.

At last a room became available but it was a smoking room. This was later changed after some arm twisting.

However, when a second room was allotted to us it was another smoking room! It was becoming farcical.

So we waited till 6:50 pm to get into a room. We were told the luggage was already sent. Guess what? No luggage in the room. So we went down to the concierge to get them and got them delivered ...... Only with one missing.

Now at 7:30 pm we are still waiting for the remaining two rooms.

I understand hotels do have disastrous days like today. But the way such disasters were handled was what made great hotels.

Sadly to say, to me Mandarin Oriental Singapore is no longer in that category.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter-the-Egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#35 of 312 in Singapore
21,588 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,125 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 312 in Singapore
5,731 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing