We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reccomend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #15 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Loved my time here. Great location and lovely marina view from 14th floor. All staff were polite and friendly and bent over backwards when I arrived at 8.30am for a 2 pm check in. Had breakfast and was in the room by 10

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarkTomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,429 - 2,435 of 5,686 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Everything inside this hotel seems strange. Arrival at 2am. 6 staff at reception, 15 minutes to check in even though they had asked usto send passport scans ahead of arrival for expedited check-in.
Went to the room, internet not workig at all. Several trip from reception. We gave up went to bed. Next morning internet works but costs an arm and a leg. We stayed at Shangri La where internet was included in the rate.
Rooms are small (and we got an upgrade), they show their age. Only positive we had a nice view on marina Bay
Inside of hotel makes you feel like inside a space station (the cold one type). Very dark inside, only windows on the 3rd floor where the bar is. Clearly a special architect devised this place.
Swimming pool is nice. Great cabanas but unfortunately always full. Go there after sunset and then you get some peace.
Hotel seemed packed so it seems the brand is very strong because in MHO there is much better choice around.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Marina Bay (but unfortunately no large rooms on that side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in July.Right from the start on arriving the Hotel we were greeted and met with friendly staff.Checking in was a breeze and our room overlooking the harbour was brilliant.On our second day my wife took ill and required hospilisation .The staff were brilliant in assisting me in organising taxi's to the hospital and enquirying about my wife everytime they saw me from the bellhop to the duty manager .What a team. The staff remembered our names and nothing was any trouble.

The pool area was good and the staff were helpful .Cabanas were normally taken first thing however came available thru the day and we were afforded the opportunity to use them.They wouldn't take bookings .The hote is an easy walk to shopping centres and Marina Sands.Definitely wll be back.

Room Tip: Try and get a room overookng the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJH712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Generally very decent. Happy with room, service etc. location in the Marina Bay Area I thought was very good.

Only issue is that the pool is small and the poolside bed is limited. Therefore, it can get a bit tight around the pool area, especially when your their during a holiday period.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank East_London_Chap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good hotel, of course, well located, and very pleasant staff. But nowhere near the special experience of perfect luxury or aesthetics that the name conjures up. The rooms are absolutely fine, but no better than any number of 5-star hotels. One aspect that put me of a little is that the hotel 's atrium is too dark - indeed feels almost sepulchral as one glides up or down in the lifts. That impression is not ameliorated by the sombreness of the closed Morton's bar during the day (occupying a central feature of the atrium at 4th floor level, visible from above and below). Even when it is open, in the evenings, the bar remains rather depressingly dark, from within as well as without.

Breakfast is very good and diverse, no question. I did not have a chance to sample the Chinese and Japanese restaurants, but Dolce Vita - listed elsewhere on Tripadvisor as the "2nd-best" in Singapore) proved fine but, again, not stellar. Same for Morton's steak house.

The swimming pool area, nicely laid-out on several levels outside, is delightful. The gym is very good, and Diana, the fitness instructor who oversees it much of the time and can help put you through your paces, is both lovely and effective! The Spa is very pleasing to the eye but at a minimum of US $ 260 (Sing $ 328 incl. tax etc) a massage does seem rather steep compared with excellent massages to be had elsewhere.

And then the sort of niggle / irritant that rather undoes the point of staying in a hotel like Mandarin Oriental: I found that not only my minibar did not chill the drinks, but it took two calls several hours apart (the second around midnight as I returned hot and thirsty from a long walk, and found it still not working) for someone to come up and replace the fridge. Still no cold drink in sight, though, or any offer of supplying some ice, say... Too tired to fuss. By morning, none of the drinks were chilled yet either....

So, on balance I'm afraid "I'm not a fan", as the saying doesn't go... I expect I'll be exploring other options on future visits to Singapore.

None of this is to say that this isn't a good hotel - just, dare I say it, a little 'ordinary', and not what the reputation and prices of a Mandarin would lead one to expect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jongrak_of_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Mandarin Oriental for one night and we had a VERY disappointing experience:

We encountered problems as soon as we check in. Not only did we have to wait for more than an hour to get our room, but we were told numerous times throughout our wait that the room would be ready in a few minutes!

Now it may be a technique to comfort people by telling them they don't have to wait long but I wished they could have told us the truth from the beginning. Had we known that we could have done something else with our time instead of wasting our time in the lounge (admittedly it was a beautiful lounge)

Next, when we called to make a reservation at the hotel's Italian restaurant, the Dolce Vita, we were told it was fully booked. No worries, good restaurants get fully booked on a weekend night, it happens. We then asked if we could be wait listed just in case of any cancellation. The reply was that they would get back to us. We waited. No get back. How hard was it to just pick up the phone and get back to us, even if to tell us we could not be wait listed?

Third, during our breakfast the following morning, we were served burnt waffles. In the hustle and bustle of serving many customers in the busy breakfast time, burnt waffles do occur. But do you have to serve it? No! We asked for another (unburnt) waffle, we were told to wait for 2 minutes. No worries, we waited. But by the time we returned, we find that our table had already been cleaned and given to other people!

We appreciate the manager's concern and offer to get us a new table when we complained, but by this time the frustration was too much for us to take and we had completely lost our appetite.

We have stayed in many hotels both on business and leisure. We chose this hotel due to their reputation and reviews (specially on this website). Unfortunately however we learnt that despite all the good reviews and ad campaigns, a bad experience is never off the books. Clearly I'm NOT a fan.

PS. I know the hotel's staff may monitor these reviews and offer a counter explanation. By all means for it is your right to do so. But please DO NOT use something in the line of "we were busy" as a reason to explain for the problems we encountered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I cant recommend this hotel enough. We stayed for one night and 2 full days on our way back from Europe. It was so hot that we literally left the hotel for one hour the entire time. The rooms are beautifully appointed, clean, very spacious and great bathrooms. the spa is excellent and there are a number of really excellent restaurants in the hotel to choose from. The pool area is very well run and inviting and the staff so helpful. Would like to mention in particular a man from Germany called Jan who worked at the pool restaurant and was born to be in the hospitality business....so professional , friendly and good at his job. The position is great as it is across the bay from busy Orchard Road so it is quieter than many singapore hotel locations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoteljunkie273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#41 of 317 in Singapore
22,683 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 317 in Singapore
7,658 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#49 of 317 in Singapore
6,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $319 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing