We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent & highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #13 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Excellent & highly recommended”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

First class experience and would highly recommend this hotel. Service was excellent and so was the suite. Very spacious, lots of closet space and 1 and 1/2 baths. Loved the breakfast buffet in Melt and had a delicious meal in Cherry Garden. The seafood hot and sour soup and the Chinese BBQ plate were excellent. Beautiful pool area and very convenient location. 10 min walk to Marina Bay Sands. Great to see this landmark but not impressed with their restaurants. I'd eat at the Mandarin before eating at the Sands.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler33305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,851
    1,159
    322
    109
    68
See reviews for
1,053
2,200
320
1,273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,097)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you believe that you should get what you pay for, then you should have no problem paying a little extra to stay at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Singapore. Following a recent stay there, my wife and I came away feeling that it would be hard to have a better experience at an hotel.

The best place to start in praising the Mandarin Oriental, Singapore, is with the staff. Some hotels may have more interesting architecture, and well run boutique hotels hold unique charms, but for me the most important measure of any hotel is its service. To a person, the staff here were helpful and polite; attentive without being obstrusive. From the moment we checked in, it seemed that all members of the staff remembered our name, and made us feel that they were there for us. There were numerous little touches that were nice. One such: as we walked away from the hotel one day, it started to rain; we were about a half a block from the hotel, and turned around to go back and collect an umbrella, but there was a member of the concierge staff already head towards us, an umbrella in hand.

Our room on one of the upper floors was spacious and immaculate, and had a spectacular view over Marina Bay. The bed was comfortable, although our sleep patterns were a little disrupted by jet lag the first two nights.

The breakfast buffet and afternoon teas served in the Oriental Club on the 19th floor were wonderful and the atmosphere relaxed. Although we did not use the restaurants on the fourth floor, it seemed that each evening the groups at the Morton's bar were invariably having a great time.

The pool is quite nice, and I found that a morning swim was a perfect way to start each day. IF you can drag yourself out of bed to get poolside before 8 o'clock each morning, you can sit back on a chaise-lounge and sip coffee after your swim at a time of day when it is still cool enough to be thoroughly pleasant.

My wife came back from the spa one afternoon so relaxed that it was difficult getting her ready for dinner. If I had any quibbles about the facilities, it is that the fitness centre was so chock full of equipment that there was very little room for any stretching, or exercises that do not require equipment. One could go outside to the yoga platform, I suppose, as long as there were no yoga classes going on at the time.

Chinatown, Little India, Bugis Street, Arab Street and the Shoppes at the Marina Bay Sands are all within walking distance of the Mandarin Oriental, but make sure you spend some time studying a map before starting out. Streets in Singapore do not seem to run true, and several appear to have name changes part way along their length. One Singaporeans told me that even the locals tend to ignore street names and tend to navigate by landmarks. That would seem a difficult prospect in a city where changes to the skyline seem an ongoing feature.

In the end, the question for me about the Mandarin Oriental is not so much if I would stay here again, as it is one of when I will. We will be back, sometime.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on the Marina side, and ask about the Oriental Club privileges when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WDTVancouver_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mandarin Oriental for three nights recently.... Awesome stay. Got two Club Harbour rooms facing the Flyer and Sands hotel. Lovely amenities such as slippers, free coffee and TWG tea, fruits, good quality towels.... Etc. the bed was amazing, even better than the ones I enjoyed at Marriott and Intercontinental. Literary, fell asleep within seconds. The room also had a DVD player and a huge flat screen TV.

The breakfast buffet was good, not the best I have had but decent. Good selection of breads, fruits, hot and cold plates. Fresh juices, unlimited.... Good services. However, coffee and cappuccino were better at the club lounge.

The club lounge was good value. Spent at least 8-10 hours within the four days and three nights period. Good service where the staff remembers your sitting preference and your names. Didn't try the breakfast as My family preferred a greater selection. Afternoon tea was good. The evening cocktails and snacks were better... Can definitely fill you up.... Only need a light dinner afterwards. Atmosphere was perfect for relaxing and light chats.

Would definitely stay there again if we visit Singapore again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ivy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I had two stays at the Mandarin back to back. I flew down from Malaysia for 5 working days, and then made a trip back to KL over the weekend, only to fly down the next 5 working days.

The biggest 'issue' I had was that they allocated to me two single beds on both occasions. Not something I usually kick a fuss about, but this happened to me for both stays and I was reasonably upset.

The service is typical of Mandarin Orientals (which means they're great) but overall there were some shortcomings I couldn't look away from. Mainly my issue with the beds, but other smaller things like the Laksa I ordered for room service one night was quite possibly the worst I had ever eaten, which is strange because the Kerala curry I order the week before was pretty good. WiFi experience was also a bit suspect, but overall it was accetpable.

Location isn't really an issue anyway in SG if you're willing to take the cabs, and the cabbies do regularly come to this hotel, so you're unlikely to wait long.

Now onto the good stuff, the hotel staff were good and very pleasant. The breakfast spread is nice, and I especially like the pastries in the morning. The pool side has some nice tables to have a relaxing mid-morning meeting in the open air (always recommended), and the hotel itself feels quite elegant and nice (although I was never a fan of the dimly lit hallways).

Not to bad, but it depends really on what rates you get for the hotel, it may be a bit over the top if you pay regular walk in prices, but my corporate price was pretty decent if you ask me.

Overall though, the experience was just average but you can't go wrong with the mandarin oriental though.

Room Tip: WiFi on the 6th floor was pretty good, the higher up you go, the less good it gets I hear. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

For the steakhouse on the 4th floor too, arguably the best in the region. Atrium inside is wonderfully designed and lighting subtle and classy. The interior and view out to the main shoreline from the Axis bar lounge is stunning. My top 7 in the globe, great to be back after 5 years.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norheim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Received a nice upgrade to a harbour-view room, with a lovely view from the Fullerton to the Marina Bay Sands with its crazy "ark" boat on the roof But... room-service breakfast 20 mins later than promised two days in a row, promised airport taxi never arrives and a general less-than-stellar service attitude pervades. Spectacular atrium but the gloss cannot hide a dated interior design. Other 5-stars in Singapore preferred.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freqstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Our transfer from the airport to the hotel was delayed as we were given a BMW instead of the shuttle bus so when we arrived the reception staff were very apologetic that our room had to be changed and we were upgraded to a suite! We couldn't believe it - flowers, fruit bowl, sitting room, balcony and the biggest bathtub with a range of bath luxuries to indulge in. We looked toward the Marina Bay Sands which is architecturally impossible to believe and probably familiar to many by now. Our view also included the bay with the ships at anchor and the many skyscrapers across the harbour. The $20 entrance to the viewing deck is well worth it and provides a good overview of the adjacent "gardens". The elevated walkway from the Mandarin side of the harbour to the Marina Bay Sands was designed by an Australian and the shopping centre within the complex includes a gondola and canal! with very high end shopping. The new garden with its steel trees is well worth a visit, the MRT is immaculate, on time an arrives just where you want to go. China Town was preparing for Luna New Year an everyone was happy, the street decorations outstanding depicting the Year of the Snake winding overhead. High Tea at Raffles, nearby to the Mandarin is memorable even for those not into history and tradition. The pool at the Mandarin only ever had 6 people at the most so a day lounging in the curtained cabanas with a club sandwich for lunch was a day well spent. We began the river boat trip at Clark Key and covered the whole bay, up close to the Marina Bay Sands and the history commentary explained the buildings lining the river. There is also a bus tour of what remains of the historic parts of Singapore which haven't been demolished.
The Mandarin has several restaurants - we ate at La Dolce Vita beside the pool and although the bill was a big surprise it still the one we remember for the magic of the food and surroundings. The breakfasts are by far the classiest in town. We needed to send a fax and the business centre staff took care of everything for very little cost.

We will return to the Mandarin as soon as we can

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#36 of 312 in Singapore
21,811 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#12 of 312 in Singapore
7,238 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
5,814 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 312 in Singapore
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#13 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing