We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #15 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We arrived at the airport in Sinapore after midnight but our pre-arranged Mandarin Oriental pick-up was waiting for us. He whisked us away with our luggage and soon we were at the hotel where we were greeted by a young lady who escorted us directly to our room and checked us in right there. Do not pass go! Do not collect $200! No problem, mam. Our luggage arrived within several minutes and we were in bed happily zzzzzing away before we even knew what had happened to us! What a pleasant experience!
The next day we discovered the Club and fell in love with it for every opportunity: breakfast, tea, drinks and hors d'oevres. In fact, the food was so good that we didn't go many other places. Loved the personnel and the ambiance.
The double decker bus is just a hop skip and jump outside (ask the doorman....it is easier than it appeared to me on a map). There is also an easy way into the attached mall which was fun. So much to see and do in Singapore! LOVED the city!
My only complaint is that I thought I had ordered a bay view room, but in the morning when we looked out, no bay view. Still, the city view was beautiful so no big complaints.
It's an easy cab ride to the cruise terminal from this hotel as well.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room that has access to the Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,679 - 2,685 of 5,686 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

I wanted, so wanted, to give this hotel the best possible rating. Why? Because one day I left my diamond tennis bracelet on the bed, and when I got back that night it was waiting for me on the bureau.
So, I can highly recommend the cleaning staff as honest.
I wish I could say they paid the same attention to the cleaning & upkeep of the room.
In Singapore it isn't about location, it is about what each different hotel offers in amenities.
The spa at the Mandarin Oriental Singapore is wonderful & relaxing.
The hotel is very cool looking.
The rooms are a nice size.
So, what was wrong? The small things, like a light that was out wasn't noticed. Or having the porters stand around while you check out, not calling a cab or even asking if you need one.
It is surprising how clueless some of the staff is. Yes, they're quite eager to help, but you need to ask for everything & make everything clear. If it were 5 star they'd anticipate that.
It took a very long time to have someone come to collect my suitcases at 8am, long enough that I'd started out of the room on my own.
They do have the 2nd best breakfast buffet in all of Asia, I'd say.
The best is the Fullerton in Singapore, this is a wonderfully close 2nd place.

The list:
Shower pressure: Good.
Front desk: Average.
Bed: Above average.
Sheets/Bedding: Average.
Towels: Average.
Phone service/attendants: There is a real problem with them understanding you if you speak English. It is amazing to me that they don't know what a wash cloth or a face cloth is.
Room size: Above average.
Room service: Better & more affordable option than Morton's or other restaurants. They're also very quick.

Room Tip: All rooms are facing the outside, so ask for a high floor with a view of the Marina Bay Sands &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilovemanhattanNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I often stay in Singapore, either on our way to Europe or to join a cruise. Perhaps our favourite hotel in this city, a city that has many great hotels, is the Mandarin Oriental, situated at Marina Bay in a most central location. There are many reasons why we choose this hotel. For a 5 star hotel, the cost is within our budget and we love the room décor, with many rooms having exceptional views overlooking the bay and city.

We have become addicted to their “Club Floor” rooms where, for an additional cost, they offer much more value in real dollar terms.

Some of the items included in their Club Floor package include: the use from breakfast to late, of the club floor lounge facilities, that include the use of a meeting room, an ideal place to hold business discussions, a substantial breakfast buffet with some items cooked to order, fresh juices, hot and cold beverages and more.

Soft drinks, coffee and tea are available throughout the day as well as computer access and free wi-fi. At lunch snacks and cakes are on hand as well as an excellent afternoon tea. Early evening is our favourite time, where for over two hours, wines, beers, spirits and cocktails are freely available along with a large selection of hot and cold savouries, snacks and cheeses. The only problem is one does not want to leave this area, with its comfortable lounges and chairs, to go elsewhere for dinner. Considering the extra charge for the Club Floor, we believe it is worth every penny and more. There are also free pressing and shoe shine services.

On arrival, in-room check in makes it so easy, especially after a long flight and there are usually some welcome treats and hot tea waiting.

The hotel has an excellent pool area and surround with stunning views, where you can relax on the comfortable lounges or choose a cabana. Naturally there is a spa. Next to the pool is a sensational Italian restaurant, Dolce Vita, where we have enjoyed some wonderful lunches. There are five other dining options offering something for everyone. We tried to dine in Cherry Garden, their Chinese restaurant, but on our last visit it was booked out. I suggest booking into this restaurant on arrival.

As well as being a favourite with business travelers, the hotel is almost a mini resort for the leisure traveler.

This hotel certainly earns all their 5 stars. John Pond, Sydney Australia.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook other hotels, so if a great view is what you are after, mention at time of booki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnpond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

It's been a loooooooooong time since I have had to ask to be given another suite in a luxury hotel or seriously contemplate checking out for that matter, but the MO in Singapore has reset the clock on that.

The wife and I checked into a Premier Suite at a cost of $2,000 SGD plus taxes per night ( approx $1,600.00 USD plus taxes per night) in February 2013.

We have stayed at the MO in San Francisco, Las Vegas and Sydney in the past so our pleasant experiences there, plus the recommendation from a friend sealed our fate to book the MO in Singapore.

We arrived from Hong Kong at midnight and were advised on arrival that we had been "upgraded" to an Oriental suite as part of the FHR booking we made through AEXP. We were then escorted to the suite for check in and on arrival we were very weary, but noticed that the suite looked very dated and tired. It also had an odur. Anyway, being worn out we went straight to bed.

During the night the odur of mould ( which we discovered in the morning) filled the air and in the morning we were absolutely horrified at the state of the suite once we opened the dated and worn curtains. - I have atteched several photos of the suite to this review so you can see for yourself.

The AC vent in the master bedroom was disgusting. It was heavily stained and it was filthy. The carpets were extremely dirty and mould was everywhere. - We were gob smacked that we had been checked into a suite in this condition in a 5 star luxury hotel.

We contacted our agent to check for availability in other 5 star hotels and rang the front desk to request the duty manager come up and explain the condition of the suite. To be fair the management were quick to respond and arrived at our suite promptly and agree it was sub standard. We were immediately offered another suite, which was mould free and clean, although due for a refurb in our view for the price they were charging.

I sent photos of the mould to my agent via email and he in turn sent them to the regional manager of the MO chain, who then contacted management at the MO Singapore and instructed them to credit us for the first nights room charge immediately and apologise which they did. - apparantly there are a few premium suites in the hotel on the 15th and 20th floors which are long overdue for a refit and the hotel only use them in an emergency. - Lucky us !!

As we were unable to get a suite in another hotel of our preference and the other suite we were offered at the MO was better and mould free we decided to stay. - we also checked out the pool and other facilites first and they were in good order and looked as though they had been upgraded recently.

Overall the staff in the hotel are very good. Service was prompt and efficient and what you would expect from a 5 star luxury hotel.

What on earth led management to believe that it was acceptable to put paying customers into an obviously unfit for use suite amazes me.

To top things off my wife was served a rotten egg with her breakfast one morning. - That was just the icing on the cake!

No matter how good the service was, the lasting memory will always be paying almost $2 grand a night for a sub standard suite. - If you intend booking a suite here, make sure you confirm you won't get the one we got !! - Good luck!!

There are simply too many options for luxury hotels when you are prepared to pay that sort of money, so we won't be back at the MO Singapore.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RelaxWithMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed at the Mandarin for four nights from the 17th of february as part of our honeymoon. We arrived at 10pm at night and we were given a complimentary uprgade to a harbour view room on the 12th floor. The views of marina bay and the business district were out of this world. We found the room to be very spacious with a fantastic bathroom/shower. The beds themselvs were huge and soo comfy. We ate every morning at the market. The staff knew we were on our honeymoon and were so attentive and brought us a glass of champagne to the breakfast table, took our photo and by the time we returned to our room in the afternoon the photo was waiting having been framed, also with it was a lovely letter congratulating us on our wedding and a really good bottle of red wine.
The food choice for breakfast was soo vast that some mornings we didnt even know where to start. The food could be cooked to order and was of the highest standard.

The pool was amazing with great views of the marina bay harbour. The staff were always on hand bringing cool towels,complimentary smoothies and sun cream if needed!

We also ate at the Dolce Vite restaurant which was fantastic.

This hotel should be your first choice for a stay in Singapore, pretty much everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ianbb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

I last stayed here in 2007 and was expecting it to be looking a little scrappy around the edges but, none of it, it still looks like its just come out of the box. Very clean and highly polished. Service is exemplary and just a smidgen below the level achieved by the MO in Manila.
This is very much a business and retired folks on tour hotel. If you have a youngster with you and you've promised them time at the pool, get there very early as it is rammed over the weekend.
Just some tips then: the rooms with the best views are at the side but have no balcony. The rooms with balconies have rubbish views but allow you respite from the aircon. Wifi coverage is a bit hit and miss. Lower floors are good but the top floors rely on the Exec club wifi and they close that at 10.30pm when the signal almost disappears. Food at the Cherry Tree Chinese restaurant looks expensive but in reality is both superb and good value. The poolside restaurant is also very good especially for eats on the terrace whilst the light show from the Sands hotel is going on.
I am now sitting in the Hilton at KL Sentral and missing my two weeks at the MO Singapore very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed here for a work conference and view of Marina Bay and Singapore Flyer from room was amazing. The staff is also fantastic, what you'd expect from Mandarin. Location is great for Garden by the Bay and Esplanade but further from Orchard road shopping. Hotel itself is not quite up to Mandarin standards (HK hotel much nicer) and feels a bit tired. Lobby has the 1970s-80s open interior courtyard (like LA Bonaventure or SF Hyatt) and rooms while upgraded, spacious and well appointed, feels like it needs a refreshing. The pool was wonderful and staff brings fresh warm towels when you get out of the pool. The one complaint I have is the food we got at the conference, it was possibly the worst hotel food we had for our lunch and this is the eating capital. And both breakfast and lunch were generic western food, just lacks imagination given location. But all in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#41 of 317 in Singapore
22,683 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 317 in Singapore
7,658 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Marina Mandarin Singapore
#49 of 317 in Singapore
6,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $319 - $475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing