We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #11 of 305 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Damascus, Syria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

inspite of the very long trip from Damascus to Singapore , and exactly to Mandarin Oriental hotel, it was worth visiting . The hotel is amazing .very luxurious , excellent service , very exciting decorations all over the hotel . creative ideas , I like the elevator in the middle of a pool ,and the very huge tree in the 4th floor it was a very relaxing romantic breakfast among that green huge plants , the mall which is very next to the hotel is also a creative idea.
every thing in Singapore is interesting organized and beautiful , I advise u all to visit The National Orchid garden , and or course one Fullerton , where is the lion , the symbol of Singapore .
I spent a week in Singapore , Mandarin Oriental , and I really wish to revisit it in a very long vacation

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nisreen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,257
    992
    273
    98
    56
See reviews for
863
1,865
277
1,098
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (951)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Before I stayed there my impression was that the Mandarin Oriental in Singapore was way too corporate for my tastes. But I was knocked out by their amazing service. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was upgraded when they realised that we were travelling with our two children. Extra dragonfruit delivered within double quick time - twice! (that's kids for you). But when the doormen great you by name (even though you are only staying a night or two), you are either notorious guests or this is a pretty special hotel. I choose to believe the latter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveKidsWillTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I spent 2 nights at the Mandarin this week and having previously stayed at the Mandarin in HK it was exactly what I expected, even to the room decor! The hotel is well located and has superb views if you book one of the higher Marina view rooms. The staff are exceptional and the service similarly outstanding. I had a discounted room rate and so found the room rate reasonable for a quality hotel. I was there on a business trip and also booked a meeting room which was excellent. The breakfasts have received rave reviews and I similarly enjoyed it. However, given a price of $54 I would have expected nothing less than a world leading breakfast! I did enquire about a continental breakfast and was told that that was not an option, which seems unfortunate if you are short of time and thus don't have the opportunity to get value for the price paid. I also had to use the business centre and was charged $3 per page to scan and email a document, which seemed somewhat excessive!

Overall, a great hotel and I would certainly stay there again. As noted by other reviewers it does lack a "wow" factor - but then that's probably not why you would stay at the Mandarin!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tony_cleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We didn't start the stay on a very good note - we had an issue with our room, had to wait for the staff to investigate, then wait some more for them to arrange a new room (of course, the wait always seems longer when you have kids in tow). The hotel itself is starting to look a little dated, and the rooms are great but not anything out of this world, but like most reviewers have mentioned, the service is very impressive. They are friendly and personable and at the same time very professional. They went beyond our expectations in service recovery for the room issue, and the service in the club lounge was commendable. The champagne breakfasts at the club lounge are well worth upgrading your room for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MumsEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was my third stay in the last couple of years. Last time it was for a conference, this time it was for pleasure. Both occasions I was impressed by both the rooms and the service. The standard king bed rooms are comfortable - probably a little smaller than other prestige 5 star hotels in Singapore such as St Regis, Ritz Carlton and Four Seasons, but the space is used fairly efficiently and it doesn't feel small by any means. The beds were comfortable - a little soft which is how my wife likes it. I like firmer beds but had no issues. The pillows are a good size and down feathered so quite good. Windows are double glazed and since the construction around the marina is mostly finished, outside noise is usually not a problem - more on this later. Noise from the corridor outside is noticeable when loud voices go past but not materially different from other hotels.

Service is very good. Every encounter started with a friendly attitude as though they wanted to help and training was obvious. On check-in I had asked for a quiet room. They "upgraded" me to a harbourview (or was it seaview?) room. However, at 7am on the next morning (it was a Saturday) I was woken up by booming noises. A peek out the window revealed that there was a fun run being held across the road from the hotel and the moronic organizer had the PA system maxed out as well as playing pop music as loud as possible just in case anyone in the surrounding six 5 star hotels were sleeping with ear plugs and wasn't being rudely woken up. (To try to liven up their stodgy conservative image, Singapore has in the last few years tried to play loud pop/rock music everywhere in public spaces with loud and hyped up announcers "woohoo!". They haven't yet realized that it actually annoys the tourists and the locals absolutely hate it). Since I got to sleep at 3am, I was really livid with the noise. I went downstairs to complain to both the concierge as well as the duty manager. To their credit they remained calm during my rant and apologized, offered to change my room and said they were already working with the Ritz to see if there was something they could do since they already had complaints from other guests. I do know that Singapore has very lax rules about excessive noise late at night and early in the morning so the hotel cannot be blamed. I even went out of the hotel in my dressing gown and slippers to give the inconsiderate organizers "what for" but the source of the noise could not be seen from our side of the road. I guess the upshot was even though there was something to complain about at this hotel, it was politely and professionally handled. My wife used concierge for other things such as directions and a restaurant booking and all was handled well. Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice. Food was good and there were plenty of seats for all the guests which is a big gripe I had at the St. Regis and one of the reasons I am looking for a new "regular" Singapore hotel to patronize. I have a recent review on the St Regis. A further plus is that they have a whole floor of restaurants (4 I think) apart from the hotel brasserie, Melt, that also serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. I haven't tried them but they have good reputations and are useful if u don't want to leave the hotel - there is a Moretons for those that want a lot of American style meat.

The pool (for laps) and gym I have tried previously and were both good. Checkout was fast and efficient. Another big plus is that there is a place for taxis to wait inside the hotel driveway so there always seems to be taxis waiting for guests. It is difficult to get taxis at some Singapore hotels, particularly at peak times. I still want to try some other hotels before settling on a new favourite Singapore hotel but this is a front-runner and my wife would definitely agree.

Room Tip: Stayed here three times in standard king sized rooms looking both at the sea and the city. They were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DirkHartog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Being here a few times now, no change, even with a conference in full swing the hotel maintains it's full glamour and quality.

Lovely rooms, convenient location with shopping mall walking distance from hotel, and excellent service.

Food options are plentiful and many, not to mention fantastic taste.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thivanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Top notch hotel with courteous and attentive levels of service. Sophisticated and luxurious oriental style interiors. The spacious outdoor pool and sun terrace provide a great place to relax at the end of a busy day sightseeing in this vibrant city. Fantastic breakfasts. No hesitation in recommending the Mandarin Oriental for your trip to Singapore.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buenasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#31 of 305 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 stars 18,445 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 5,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Singapore
#10 of 305 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 stars 4,849 reviews
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Address: 5 Raffles Ave, Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for five consecutive years (2012 to 2016). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing