We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel, but not great value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

This is a very good hotel, but it's not exceptional and certainly not worth the $1100 per night we paid. I enjoyed my stay here, but I have had more enjoyable stays at 5 or 6 other Singapore hotels over the past few years. The Meritus club suites at the Marina Mandarin next door are much better value if you want to stay in the Marina Bay area. If you want to relax, then the Capella at Sentosa is hard to beat and if you want to shop, then stay at one of the excellent 5* hotels around Orchard road.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,936)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,256 - 3,262 of 5,936 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

This was a really delightful surprise - a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. Our room looked out across the harbour with an extraordinary view of the Marina Bay Sands, the Singapore Flier and the new botanic gardens currently being built. The bars and restaurants were of a very high standard and the pool was wonderful - especially for an early morning swim - what a view! I am already planning a return visit and the Mandarin Oriental will be the place I stay. Cannot recommend it too hightly - and the service was superb.

Room Tip: Obviously the harbour view rooms are hard to beat - and the view at night is amazing, a light show w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Its a big and very nice hotel. Service, friendlyness and athmosphere are overwhelmingly good. They know you by name the second day, their breakfast is one of the best in the world - nothing they dont have! The pool and the view from it you have to see for yourself. THE place to stay in Singapore, I wouldn't want any other!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miseducation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Stayed there for a night on a stopover. The hotel were well maintained. The view of the room overlooking the Marina Bay was amazing. The Spa is a real journey and one of the must do in this hotel. The pool has it's class of it's own, wonderful deck chair built-into the pool. The buffet at The Melt restaurant were sumptuous.
The location of the hotel were strategically located adjacent to the Marina Square shopping mall which is connected to several other major shopping mall such as Suntec City, City Link, Millenia Walk, Raffles etc. Walking distance to the MRT station as well.
Great place to stay, not too hustle bustle compare to hotels at the Orchard Road, but convenient enough to all the necessary

Room Tip: Ocean view or Harbour view rooms are the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tulipanmorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a stop over for two nights before going on. Needless to say this hotel was little short of perfect.

On arrival we were checked in very quickly, the lady named Fairy was very helpful and polite. We were shown to our room which overlooked the Harbour and the Singapore Flyer. The room was lovely, just as its shown in the photos with a complimentary bottle of wine as we were honeymooners.

We ate in the Dolce Vita Italian Restaurant situated by the beautiful pool area. An amazing view of the city at night and really fantastic food. It was 5 star food and the staff couldnt do enough for you. I loved the wine i ordered and asked what it was. She kindly went and took a photo of the wine and printed it out for me. They also took a photo of us with their camera and presented us with a lovely framed photo at the end of the meal.

Singapore itself was fantastic with lots to see and do. The hotel was in an ideal location and perfect to stay in for a stop over. The breakfast was excellent with a huge variety of food. I especially enjoyed the pork bacon and sausage which i had been without the first week of our honeymoon in Malaysia.

If i came back to Singapore I would 100% stay at the Mandarin again!

I cant think of a bad thing to say about it!

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the Harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank George1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Beautiful, stylish and chic. Good restaurants, great pool. Very impressed and would definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col&Nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Mandarin Oriental properties come with a huge reputation for five star luxury and a unique east-west fusion styling - certainly the property in Bangkok, Las Vegas, and the two in Hong Kong are doing the brand proud however the Singapore property - once the hotel all others was measured against, is sadly showing it's age. Although still lovely - the hotel and certainly the suites are in desperate need of refurbishment.

Currently the hotel is fine but not great in terms of overall presentation. The restaurant/breakfast area is awkwardly set out is prone to pedestrian traffic snarles during peak periods, the Chinese restaurant is very good and it is extremely well positioned within the convention precinct of Singapore. As it still charges its rates based on past glories - the hotel standard rates don't translate into good value for money.

If you can get a good rate book it otherwise consider it's surrounding competitors.

Room Tip: high floor, away from lift lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ThrillingMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 319 in Singapore
23,867 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
8,158 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 319 in Singapore
5,251 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave | Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $313 - $530 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing