We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for work or pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Ranked #14 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I stayed here for several nights while in Singapore for some business meetings. I arrived from the US at around 1 a.m., and even at that time, the bellman and front desk staff were pleasant and professional. The room was really comfortable and quiet and as I looked out the window, I was completely taken with the view of the CBD across Marina Bay, and also the new Marina Bay Sands resort, hanging there like a giant Starship Enterprise. In the morning, I learned that I could also look right down on the Merlion at the entrance to the river.

Got up the next morning, having had a great night's sleep in the very quiet room and comfortable bed. I went down to the hotel breakfast buffet. It was great, but REALLY expensive. You might want to ask how much it is before you decide to eat there. I learned the next day that there's a mall you can access as you go out the front of the hotel and to your right... if you can get in there after 8 a.m., some of the mall restaurants (including a Starbucks) are open.

I found the hotel to be a quick cab ride from most of the commercial areas in Singapore, although since Raffle's Ave is a one-way, getting back to the hotel can often be several dollars more expensive than your outbound ride.

I'm a runner, and I found that there was a great 2 mile loop around the Marina, and you can add some distance by running up along the river. Lots of wide paths. Just go early before it gets too hot.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view of Marina Bay, you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdxmark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,935)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,331 - 3,337 of 5,935 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at the Mandarin oriental from2nd to 5th April. Great room overlooking the pool, fabulous breakfast with so many choices but the staff are the standout here- aalmost without exception they are polite, friendly and do their best to make you feel like a very special guest.
Facilities at the hotel are great, good busines centre and easy walk to MTR through the Marina Bay shopping malls under cover.

Room Tip: Room over the pool was perfect- quiet yet with good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannmorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

My wife and I spent two days in Singapore at the end of our honeymoon. We booked the Mandarin Oriental because it had such a good Tripadvisor rating. Having stayed there we can't understand why it's so highly rated.

The place looks great and we did have a fantastic room on the 11th floor overlooking the sea. The bathroom was beautiful and all the staff we met were really attentive and friendly, especially the pool staff. This was the only hotel we stayed at which actually acknowledged that we were celebrating our honeymoon - but unfortunately our satisfaction stopped there.

This is a very expensive hotel so it comes as a surprise to find that the hotel charges ridiculous fees for almost anything that you consume. Chief amongst these outrages is Wifi. I have a particular intolerance for hotels that charge for internet access and for the Mandarin to charge $10 PER HOUR for in-room wifi is despicable. Even our $40 a night bungalow on Gili Air threw in complimentary wifi. For the Mandarin to scrape together a few extra dollars by charging customers for internet access is indefensible. What's next - pay-as-you-go aircon? Even the business centre wasn't free. We spent a couple of hours at the pool and a quick glance at the menu revealed a similar enthusiasm for squeezing extra money out of guests - $30 for a sandwich! Our flight out of Singapore was not til 2330 but after discovering that a late checkout was charged at 50% of the nightly rate, we quickly realised that a late checkout at the Mandarin was only for those with an expense account to fall back on. Pretty shameful to charge that kind of money for a few extra hours in your room.

Breakfast was not included in our room rate but we had heard good things so we decided to pay for it anyway. It was VERY good - a quite amazing choice and very good quality. However when we reviewed our bill on checkout, we found we had been charged $90 on day one and $110 on day two. It turns out we were charged for "continental" breakfast on day one because we'd arrived late, although no-one thought to tell us and we were not actually made aware on any occasion that there was even a continental option. This is poor practice and again gives the impression of maximising money-generating opportunities. Not a great image for what is supposed to be a luxury brand. Mandarin Oriental should take a leaf out of GHM's book - they offer proper luxury and treat their customers with respect.

This is a decent enough place, heavily geared towards business travellers, but don't expect anything more for your money than a room with a bed. We paid upwards of $400 per night and we don't really understand what we got for all that money.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DulwichEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

spent 1 1/2 nights. despite we returned at 16h room was not made which shld not happen for such a category of hotel. checkout 15 min which is far too long (he had to check various time about use of minibar). staff very kind. check in at oriental club fast and detailed information was given. overall good standard with weaknesses as mentioned above. however view exceptional, if y book harbour view.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

in short - this is a great hotel. good location, very friendly and helpful staff both at reception and at breakfast. spacious room with a fantastic view towards marina bay sands hotel. everything spotless. breakfast has a wide variety of dishes / kitchens on offer. value for money very well balanced. i can really recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cosmopolitoswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Mandarin Oriental Singapore. The service was impeccable!!!! The staff went above and beyond to cater for our needs and were so friendly. Best we have received anywhere. The rooms are presented beautifully and are lovely and clean but the view oh the view. It is breathtaking !!!!! Location wise it was great. Nice and close to Raffles, Orchard Rd, Esplanade, Marina Bay Sands, Flyer, River tours and bus tours. Highly recommended

Room Tip: worth paying a little extra for the city side view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRACEY E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

What a pity we only had one night there. The rooms were beautifully appointed (we had a premier harbour room) and the beds were really comfortable. Staff were excellent, polite and very helpful. Breakfast had the most choice I think I have ever seen. No wonder it was so busy! Next time I won't have to decide where to stay, I'll just go back to the Mandarin Oriental.

Room Tip: It was well worth paying a little more for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelynrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 319 in Singapore
23,853 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
8,155 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
The Fullerton Bay Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 319 in Singapore
5,252 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Singapore

Address: 5 Raffles Ave | Marina Square, Singapore 039797, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#6 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#7 Business Hotel in Singapore
#14 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $312 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 527
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore is one of the world's foremost luxury hotels. It is the only hotel in the city that has been awarded Five Star status for both accommodation and spa in the prestigious Forbes Travel Guide for six consecutive years (2012 to 2017). This award-winning property has a prime location, close to the financial hub with easy access to luxury boutiques and entertainment venues, and minutes away from Suntec Singapore International Convention & Exhibition Centre. The hotel features an impressive atrium lobby with 527 rooms and suites. There is a premium Oriental Club Lounge, an indulgent and intimate spa, extensive meeting and banqueting facilities, five renowned restaurants and two lounges overlooking the spectacular Marina Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Oriental Hotel Singapore
Oriental Singapore
Singapore Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing