We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel
Ranked #23 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice but expensive”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Nice Hotel with fairly nice room but expected a little more for the money. Breakfast was good but dining area was very busy. Tried to get a drink at the bar in the afternoon of New Years Eve but was told it was closed until 5pm! It was pouring down with rain so we didn't have the option of having a drink elsewhere - not good service for a prestigious hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paynterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    601
    128
    37
    27
See reviews for
366
458
122
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights over Christmas before going to Bintan Island. We were here with family and had booked three rooms in the hotel. Having two children is difficult when they only offer one extra bed, so daughter slept with her aunt. We arrived at 8.45am and after a request from my sister in law who checked in a couple days before, our room was ready for us at 9.30am! This allowed us to have a shower before going out to beat the jetlag! The children and I slept during the afternoon but were disturbed by the redecoration of the rooms above us. Also, that evening there was a distinct smell of white spirit coming through the airconditioning unit. Turning the air con off stopped this over night.

The breakfasts were wonderful - so much to choose! We ate out for all other meals so can't comment on other meals. The pool area was lovely, well attended and safe for children. We loved the lobby, so spacious and beautifully decorated for Christmas.

Overall, the hotel isn't the prettiest to look at outside, but its location just off Orchard Road, and the welcome as you enter was amazing.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

No morning newspaper provided !

Excellent Service quality - all the staff are most willing to help out and are very well trained.

The Lounge at the club floor was well maintained and the layout is such that it is very conducive to having business meetings without being overheard or disturbed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pavansood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I have stayed at the Regent Hotel in Singapore for business about 4 times now over the course of 2 years, and each time has been a positive experience. It is consistent and I haven't noticed any change from the first time to the most recent time a month ago.

The decor is classic, the rooms are very clean, and the interior is well-appointed. The staff is helpful, things are organized, and everything is as it should be.

Some quick points:
- The breakfast buffet on the 2nd floor is excellent.
- Laundry service is expensive.
- Floor to ceiling windows are nice
- Building looks strange on the outside (and quite outdated), but the inside is very nice
- Lobby smells like your grandmother's house (could be a good thing or bad thing, depending on what you're looking for)
- Business lounge food is creative and nice
- The room could use more electrical outlets
- If you don't have enough adapters, room service will bring you some (nice touch)
- Bathroom amenities are nice
- Water is always hot
- Hotel is quiet

The only other comment I would offer is to book directly through the hotel. I have found some great offers a few times. One example is finding a deal on an 88 sq-meter Executive Suite for about $25 US more than the Deluxe Room.

I'm sure there are other nicer hotels in the area but the price differences at the Conrad, Mandarin, etc are usually about $200 US more per room per night. The Regent is a very nice, consistent hotel that I think is very good value for the money. I will return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheEveningPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel, the receptionist took a long time to check us in. Apparently, she had called her duty manager down to inform us about the Hotel's policy of two guests per room. We had booked an executive suite with the intention of celebrating a friend's birthday on NYE at the Regent. I have attended numerous birthday parties held at different hotels in Singapore and there had been no issue with the number of guests in the room. I understand that if we do make a lot of noise, they have the right to chase us out. That is acceptable. What is not acceptable is the Manager Tan Poh Ling telling us that she was willing to refund us the money for the prepaid room as she did not want to let our party of 4 check in.

Hello, it's New Year's Eve and you tell us this only upon check-in? Are you kidding me? Who are you to disrupt our plans? I told her, look it's not about the money. Other hotels in Singapore have had no issue with more than 2 guests in a room in the day and we told her that only 2 people will be staying overnight. She reluctantly let us check in, warning us that any damages will be billed to us. Like duh. You think we are a group of irresponsible teenagers out to wreck your room? We are a group of grown up working adults, FYI.

Room wise:
Nothing to shout about, yes the Executive Suite was big but the interior was dated and old. It did not look well kept for a 5 Star Four Seasons Hotel. Disappointing. No further comment about the room. Swimming pool was pathetically tiny for a 5 star hotel.

Check-Out
Upon check-out, again, the receptionist took a long time. We asked why check-out was taking a long time and she said she was calling the manager (Ms Tan Poh Ling again) to inspect the room. When we asked if it was standard policy, Emily the receptionist told us, "No, because this is a special case as you are special guests". Wtf. Seriously. We are special guests? What if we have a plane to catch? Are you going to delay us at the hotel? I am sure all hotels inspect for damages when they are cleaning up the room and whatever damages will be billed to the credit card. What right do you have to hold us back?

Never again will I stay at the Regent. I rather take my money and spend it at St Regis just across the street.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flying_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palermo, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We have been in Regent 5 nights now without air conditioning in our club floor room! The room is really moist and stinks.
They have decided to do some repair works over the Christmas, so there is heavy thrilling noise every morning around 10.
We are going to try to check out today and find something nicer to continue our holidays.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffRednourHotelMgr, Manager at Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Heleri D,

I am sorry to hear you have a problem with your air condidtion. I am sure we can correct this situation for you immeidiately if you would be so kind as to contact our Duty Manager or any of our staff. I do hope this message reaches you in time to enjoy the remainder of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Nice place to stay. It has friendly staff and good service. The room was a bit dated but comfortable. The in-room services were good. The restaurants are good. The lobby is quite lively. It is a five minutes walk from Orchard road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SidZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#20 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#39 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,943 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,668 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel

Property: Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel
Address: 1 Cuscaden Road The Regent Singapore, Singapore 249715, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#13 Family Hotel in Singapore
#23 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#24 Business Hotel in Singapore
#34 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 440
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel, is built around a sun-filled atrium that ascends through the building's 12-story interior. Conveniently located in the city's most select area, the hotel is central to the business district and minutes walk to tranquil Botanic Gardens and Orchard Road, Singapore's premier shopping and entertainment hub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Singapore Hotel Singapore
Regent Singapore, A Four Seasons Hotel
Regent Hotel Singapore
Singapore Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing