We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very hard beds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #73 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good location, very hard beds”
Reviewed December 22, 2010

Convenient location. The hotel is located above Liang court shopping centre whcih was great for us. The kids were able to have Maccas while we were able to eat at the food court. There is also a supermarket downstairs.

No major check in problems. Extra beds for the kids delivered in reasonable time.
Major problem was the the actual beds. Hardest beds i have ever encountered. When I complained to reception, i was told all the beds are the same and the only thing they could offer was to add a feather overlay. It didn't help that much, the bed was still hard.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emerald020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear Sir/Mdm,

We very much appreciate your comments via TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay.

Thank You and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay on your next visit again.

With kind regards,
Lionel Sim
Quality Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,941
    2,759
    944
    271
    137
See reviews for
1,908
1,921
459
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 20, 2010

Great relaxing stay in a comfortable room. Convenient location with good shopping and Japanese food around the corner!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear Sir/Mdm,

We very much appreciate your comments via TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay.

Thank You and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay on your next visit again.

With kind regards,
Lionel Sim
Quality Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2010

If it was not for the restaurant and its staff, I would give it a 1-star. So let's start with the positive. The Square restaurant works very well for families with kids. The staff is friendly and helpful, the menu is great.

And now the rest. We arrived after a 20 hr flight from San Francisco with 2 children, very tired. After the initial niceties at the lobby, we were informed that we would get a room that did not exactly match the one we booked. One less bed. We bent over and said ok. When we went to the room we found that it was 2-beds short. So we called and they apologized saying that there was a miscommunication between reception-desk and the other department.

30 min. since we arrived.

I went down to the lobby and they changed our room. I collected my family and moved to the other room. Well, this was 2-beds short as well. Hmmm. I called. Reception desk apologized again. Same reason. Miscommunication between their 2 departments. They said they will fix this problem and that we should just wait in our current room.

50 min since we arrived.

I decided I should go down to the lobby again. I had waited for an hour to get the room I had booked. I was less than cordial and it showed. When the lady at the reception desk once more offered to change my room to "fix" the problem, I asked to talk to the manager. The manager, who happened to be at the next station all this time, responded that she will help. We had to wait for one of the vacated rooms to be cleaned before we could move in. Changed us to a superior room in the way of an apology for their mess.

We soon realized that the superior room was the apology for putting us through this crap. Not much for words, the manager only offered a smug attitude and small talk with the kids.

One-and-half hrs after we arrived at the hotel we had a room. This is a 4-star hotel with terrible service. There are many other hotels in the same area with better value. Not worth the trouble wasting time with the likes of Novotel Clarke Quay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmitMajumdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 19, 2010

Best of the 3 hotels in Singapore beloging to the Accor Group. However, it will be good to have unlimited access to car park entry/exit for hotel guests rather than just a signale entry/exit. Also, it will be good to have a games room for young children to entertain them.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear Sir/Mdm,

We very much appreciate your comments via TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay.

Thank You and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay on your next visit again.

With kind regards,
Lionel Sim
Quality Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2010

I booked the king superior bay view for the weekend of 12-15 November 2010 and it was absolutely superior! Uninterrupted views to the new Marina Bay Sands towers, the river, the Singapore Flyer wheel, amazing to see when all lit up at night. Comfortable bed, all amenties needed were there. Staff pleasant and easy to deal with. I'll stay here again (but only if I can get the bay view room because the view is too spectacular to miss!). Looks a little aged from the outside but don't let that put you off, they're keeping everything inside pretty well (although TVs and bathrooms could do with an update but they responded promptly to my feedback to confirm this is underway).
Surrounding areas of Clarke Key and Robertson Key are fantastic - colourful nightlife and restaurants overlooking the river. Easy access everywhere else by taxi for those less inclined to walk but easy to get around from this base on foot as well.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Dear Denwick,

We very much appreciate your comments via TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay.

Thank You and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay on your next visit again.

With kind regards,
Lionel Sim
Quality Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLLEGE STATION
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2010

Everything was good except the AC in the room was'nt that good. Because of the warm weather in singapore it was annoying at times when the AC dint do was supposed to do.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catchifucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, December 30, 2010
Dear Sir/Mdm,

We very much appreciate your comments via TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay.

Thank You and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay on your next visit again.

With kind regards,
Lionel Sim
Quality Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#48 of 312 in Singapore
3,829 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#52 of 312 in Singapore
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Property: Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Family Hotel in Singapore
#67 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing