We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Novotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #69 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the Novotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2007

We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We cannot comment on meals as we never ate in the hotel - not even breakfast.

We decided to forgo breakfast and stay instead in a superior suite. The room was very large and very comfortable with a balcony and the air con worked perfectly. The bathroom was large and in excellent working order, including a separate shower cubicle.

The only problem was that the safe didn't work but this was soon sorted out. We found the hotel service to be extremely prompt and efficient.

In retrospect the only thing I would do differently next time would be to request a room overlooking the river to get more of a view.

The hotel is above a small shopping mall where one can get things to eat; there is also a 24/7 MacDonalds for coffee etc. Also in the mall is an excellent massage centre - cheaper than the hotel, and seemed to be very professional and used by locals.

The Clarke Quay area is very touristy, lots of eating places and it's nice being by the river. Lots of places to walk to from the hotel.

Strongly recommended and would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank Henrythefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,862
    2,662
    924
    261
    132
See reviews for
1,833
1,854
448
1,102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed here at the end of July and I booked using the Accor ( Dis)advantage Card Plus - this card seems to guarantee the worst possible room in the Accor chain of hotels - have had problems in Fiji (mercure) - room next to a loud generator, Fiji (Sofitel) deluxe ocean front room at rear of property - view obscured by a tree and buildings, Sydney (Wentworth/Sofitel)- no room available when we turned up to check in, so they gave us a room at the rear of the hotel that was the size of a cupboard - I'd booked a deluxe room, Singapore and Phuket - you can read about that drama in the Novotel Phuket reviews. I'd foregone our 'free' night in Singapore to use as an upgrade to an executive suite however we were given a standard room, when we complained we got the Accor company reply - hotel is full, I produced the documentation to show what I had booked - no-one should have to do that. We were eventually shifted to a higher floor with nice views but it wasn't an executive suite, what I had paid for and had been promised in not what I got. In our experience Accor has taken our money, not honoured our bookings, left their staff to deal their company policy and I could of got better deals booking the rooms I wanted on-line through Asia-Rooms etc. We have had this card for several years and re-newed it quite by accident (long story).
As for the Novotel Clarke Quay - our new room, although not an executive suite had a great view and was very nice. However at 12.00 midnight a band or something in the Clarke Quay area started up every night, the thump, thump, thump, could be heard clearly in our room - so if you're a light sleeper it may be somewhat of a problem. Obviously we won't be returning to this hotel I don't need to start a holiday with a confrontation with a check-in clerk and we've had the same problem repeated at each Accor hotel we have booked. This time the Accor Dis Advantages Plus Card is headed for the shredder, I like happy holidays not dramas and confrontations.

  • Liked — The view over Clarke Quay
  • Disliked — Late night noise from music in Clarke Quay
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Jemtide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Level Contributor
348 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in July, on our way to Malaysia. I based our choice on reviews I had read on various travel sites, including this one. Although there were a couple of other hotels that I preferred, this one offered the best deal at the time. Here are some of the points I would make to people looking for a hotel.

The Hotel: The main entrance is on the ground floor, but the reception desk is on the 7th floor. There are restaurants on the 6th (Chinese and Indian) and 7th floors. The elevators from the 6th floor go to a shopping centre (Basement to 5th floors) while the elevator from the main entrance goes directly to the 7th floor. A separate elevator goes to the rooms (presumably, for security purposes).

The Room: I was a bit nervous about common issues I had read about hotels in Singapore: cleanliness and room size. We were pleased with the Novotel on both issues. The room was a decent size and it was clean. We had a room overlooking the river and the pool. Based on how the hotel is situated, I think every room has a view.

Staff: The staff at the front desk were very helpful. We checked in at around 1:00 a.m. after 18 hours of flying and the staff were very considerate. Our bags were taken directly from the main entrance to our room. A discrepancy between the price Expedia quoted me and what the hotel charged my credit card was handled graciously (though it took a bit of time to sort out). The cleaning staff were courteous.

Location: If we go back to Singapore again, this is the area we would stay in. Just be aware that it is pretty dead in the morning. We didn't find anywhere nearby to get breakfast (we didn't want to spend S$28 per person for the hotel breakfast, nor go to the MacDonald's in the shopping mall). The place comes to life at night, though. There are many restaurants and night clubs on the quay, which is a few steps from the hotel entrance. In the other direction, Fort Canning Park is across the street and is a very nice place for a walk. The Clarke Quay MRT station is about a ten minute walk, across one of the pedestrian bridges crossing the river. Also across the river is the Central shopping mall. It has a good food court if you want cheap eats (opens at 11:30 a.m.) for lunch or dinner.

Facilities: The pool is nice, with towels provided. Entry is from the 6th floor, one floor below reception. The hotel is above the Liang Court shopping mall (which was undergoing renovations when we were visiting). There's a large bookstore, and in the basement is a Japanese supermarket (open 10 a.m to 10 p.m.) which the elevator from the 6th floor goes right into. We didn't discover this until a few days into our stay and it became our source for simple breakfasts and snacks.

On our way back home, Singapore Airlines put us up for one night in another hotel (supposedly 4 stars) but it didn't come close to the Novotel Clarke Quay. I'd recommend this one to a friend.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank TPT_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2007

We just returned from our trip where we spent 3 days in novotel, singapore. This property is located at Clarke Quay which is the center of action for food, bars & pubs and also weekend roadshows etc. We were glad we didn't select a hotel on Orchard road and stayed at Novotel.
The reception is located on the 7th floor because this hotel is in a shopping mall which occupies 6 floors. The swimming pool is compact just what you would find in a business hotel. We didn't get a chance to taste any of the restaurants except for the breakfast which has a decent spread of items.
They have a movie on demand channel which shows movies at a pricey SGD18 per movie. It wasn't working earlier and they took 2 days for somebody to come and repair the same. FUNNY! There was a DVD player in the room so that let me see my own collection too. I am not sure if they had a DVD movie library in the Hotel, you can check that. The bathroom tub was a little small compared to the standard sizes, i believe.
There is a bookshop, electronics store, currency exchange and a tourist information center right below the hotel in the mall.
A little away there is a taxi stand at Clarke Quay from where you can get a cab very easily. The bell boys are helpful too if you can't get one, for any reason.
If you work across the lake towards Central Mall, there is the nearest MRT station which connects you to important locations around Singapore.
NOTE: when you check-in, make sure you collect the FREE boat ride tickets and also discount coupons valid at certain outlets in Clarke Quay.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank kapsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2007

We stayed at the Novotel for one night on a recent Singapore stopover. We have stayed down by the river before and always enjoy this part of town. In fact, we were trying to find a previous hotel we had really enjoyed (nice room with fantastic views) but it appeared to have gone out of business. When we arrived we realised that the hotel we had stayed in before was the previous incarnation of the Novotel (Novotel bought in 2005) so we ended up staying in the hotel we wanted anyway!

We chose the Novotel because we are members of the Accor Advantage Plus Club (and because its in a fantastic location right on Clarke Quay). We were "upgraded" to a balcony room although we were only given a room with twin beds. I did say we would prefer a room with one bed, but as we were using a complementary voucher for our stay I didn't complain too much. The room was relatively compact but had a good view over the river and Clarke Quay. When we stayed 7 years ago we had a room up near the top which I'm sure was much larger so maybe
the more expensive rooms are bigger.

The choice of dining at Clarke Quay is quite overwhelming, and as we weren't that hungry after our flight we chose to dine in at the Novotel's restaurant which was nice but not spectacularly exciting.

The pool is quite big and has lots of lounge chairs. We managed a quick swim before checking out at midday. The hotel had no problem keeping our luggage locked up for the afternoon until our evening flight.

The rooms at the Novotel are pretty much standard Novotel decor - the best thing about the hotel is the great location for night dining
and a good pool for relaxing around. Its also one of the few hotels in Singapore where you can open an external door to get a break from the A/C, or just take a picture from your balcony. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location right on Clarke Quay
  • Disliked — Rooms a little small
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank dgtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2007

Since we last stayed here in Feb.2005 there have been significant changes in the area around the hotel. The hotel standard has been maintained and the staff were as helpful as ever. In our "superior" room, the bathroom fittings around the washbasin were loose and repairs had been attempted in a very amateurish way. It took two messages to the hotel to acknowledge this in the comments made in the hotel questionnaire. Having said that, the hotel is still the one we would return to on our next visit to Singapore.

  • Liked — Location & excellent breakfast
  • Disliked — Bathroom fitting as above.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lindso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2007

I was there on a 2 day stopover between Hongkong and Europe. A perfect location if you plan to relax and are not stressed by business meetings downtown.

I enjoyed the pool and the sunshine even better, when thinking about snow and ice back home in Europe. Poolsite very well kept, attentive service.

Found the department store in the block quite practical. Rooms rather small, but come with bathrobe amenities etc. This place is a former New Otani hotel, so its design does not fit into the usual Novotel line.

Did not try the restaurants, too much competition from the leisure time hub Clark Quai.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank freekicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#47 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Somerset Liang Court Singapore
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#54 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Property: Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Family Hotel in Singapore
#63 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Booking.com so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing