We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for enjoying the nightlife of Clarke Quay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #77 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Goleta, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great location for enjoying the nightlife of Clarke Quay”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location of this hotel is just across the street from an entrance to a covered section of Clarke Quay. There are dozens of restauarants and bars to choose from under a covered roof, which is handy for dealing with the frequent passing rainshowers. The room was very comfortable and the bathroom was very nice with both a tub and separate shower. My only minor complaint is that the lighting was modest and great for ambience but a bit dark overall unless during the day when natural light could be used. The WiFi worked well and allowed me to keep up with work. The breakfast buffet was nice and offered a good variety of foods to choose from. I found a package deal online that included breakfast and WiFi in the price, so that helped. This hotel is located on top of a multi-story mall; reception is on the 7th floor and rooms go up from there. The view from the 12th floor over the Singapore River and down to the harbor was very nice. If I stood next to the window you could hear just a bit of the music coming from the bars below, but it wasn't noticible further into the room. The location right on the river is nice for taking a walk into the central business district; there is also a convient taxi queue right outside the hotel on the main street (as well as at the ground floor entrance). It was a nice location for easy access to restaurants and night life, and I would go back again when in Singapore on business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jeff A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,970
    2,805
    953
    278
    139
See reviews for
1,938
1,952
460
1,158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (976)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

When we booked the hotel it was imperative that we stayed somewhere that had a pool. On the morning after our first night at this hotel, a note was slipped underneath the door stating that the pool would closed the next day for maintenence. Not once did anyone advise us that the pool would be closing at the time of booking or EVEN at check-in. We subsequently moved out of this hotel the next morning. I told management at the hotel that this was deceptive, but they just wanted to lay the blame on some junior staff member for not advising us at check-in. Come on !!, a notice should have at least been posted in the foyer especially seeing this was not a random closure of the pool, it had been planed for some time.. The room's here were good however management of this hotel want to have a good hard look at how they disclose important details to their paying customers. MY advice, check every detail important to your stay here and get it in writing, as other room inclusions on the website, did not exist.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Familyx4_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Accorhotels.com traveler,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.

While we are truly thankful for the opportunity you have given us to accommodate you during your recent trip to Singapore, we regret that we have not met your expectations during your stay.

Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and disappointment you experienced due to the immediate closure of our swimming pool; in order to guarantee our guests’ safety and security and prevent any untoward incident, we urgently needed to commence repair works in the surrounding area of the swimming pool to resolve the waterproofing issues we were experiencing. Nonetheless, we will ensure to remind our Reception team how important it is to consistently communicate significant details with our guests.

At Novotel, we place great value on trust, when it comes to interacting with our valued guests hence it is concerning to hear that you did not find some room inclusions that are stated on our website. We would like to look into this further and ensure any issues are resolved thus if you could send us an e-mail with your booking details through H5993-FO14@accor.com, it will be greatly appreciated. Meantime, please rest assured that we have updated our website with the details of the on-going repair works on our swimming pool area.

Once again, thank you for the opportunity you have given us to identify areas we can improve on through your constructive feedback and we are truly sorry for not being able to provide your desired level of service during your recent stay.


Kindest Regards,
Aira Allarde
Assistant Manager - Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominical, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location of the hotel is great, after going to pubs in clarke quay it was just a few minutes walk. Also the view from the room/balcony on the area is amazing.
Downside, was that the pool was closed, and will be untill half of may as i understand. This was very sad they didnt mention it on website. You could take a cab to another hotel to use their pool but thats too much of a hassle for a quick dip. I dont feel like going for a drive to another place to swim. And for staying a few days at the hotel i really would have liked to swim and chill.
In the lobby was no wifi which would have been nice.
Beds are comfy and service is friendly. Just the service at the bar was not so friendly and we had to wait a long time to order the drinks, to get it, and to pay for it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainbowNine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guest,


We sincerely appreciate your effort in sharing your experience during your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to note your satisfaction with the location of the hotel and the view from your room as well as the friendly service provided by our staff. We thank you for your encouraging comments as these will certainly motivate our team in our continuous efforts to extend the highest level of service to all of our guests.

On the other hand, we regret to note your disappointment with the closure of our swimming pool during your stay. Given that we were experiencing waterproofing issues in the surrounding area of the swimming pool, we had to urgently commence repair works in order to ensure our guests’ safety and security. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience this has caused you.

We are also sorry to hear of your experience at the Le Bar Rouge as this is not the service level that we strive to provide our valued guests; you can be assured that your feedback will be used in a constructive manner to ensure all our guests are extended the best service experience every time.

We are truly grateful for your feedback as it is only through guests' comments like yours that we can step up on our service standards.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.


Kindest Regards,
Aira Allarde
Assistant Manager - Quality Servicse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family want to get a different environment which is Clarke Quay, one of famous place in Singapore.
The room that I booked is Marina Bay view, so I got the room that I can see Marina Bay Sands and Lotus Museum even I can see Singapore Flyer from the room's balcony.

The hotel is besides Liang Court Mall, so we can go to supermarket to buy drinks etc. At night, it was very nice to walk a long Singapore river and saw the night live of Singapore.
However it made me difficult to sleep to :(, as the sound from Clarke Quay can be heard my room, although my family sleep well.

In the next morning I was satisfied to swim in the clean warm swimming pool.

Overall it is very good hotel.



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sutjipto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good hotel and good location in Clarke Quay - one of the most lively and touristic areas in Singapore which clearly reflects in the general price level. Absolutely everything in this area is overpriced. The hotel was good and the price was average for Singapore standards so can't really complain about that. Well worth a visit - there is a Japanese mall right next to the hotel and we had our breakfast from there every morning as it is a good alternative to the pricy breakfast at the hotel. They have a good bakery at the mall with cheap and tasty buns :) Another good thing about the location is the tourist bus Hop On/Hop Off - the bus stop is right next to the hotel.

The hotel is very family friendly, there were many families with kids so it is a good choice whether you travel as a couple, family or for business purposes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I asked if I could get a room with a view and was upgraded to an executive suite, which was really pleasing.

The view from the 23rd floor of the skyline was amazing. Downside was that even 23 floors up i could hear music from below albeit faintly.

The bed was so comfy I didn't want to leave it. The bathroom had a jacuzzi type bath which i had to use and was well worth it. In all the room was probably the best I've ever stayed in.

It costs to use their wireless/internet services so bear that in mind.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view and see if you get an upgrade !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dons1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SURFERS PARADISE
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were most impressed with the check-in this time around. It was fast & very efficient & the young lady was only a trainee! The upgrade to the suite was an unexpected surprise but we did miss the view overlooking Clarke Quay. We paid extra for the access to the Premier lounge but was disappointed that teh Advantage Plus site did not provide enough information about the lounge. The site stated there were free cocktails but this was not the case, as they did not serve any cocktails. There was no time restrictons on the booking site as well, that outlined that childern were not allowed during the breakfast times & between 6pm - 8pm. This made it awkward for us to enjoy our time in the lounge, as we didn't want to leave our son alone in the room. Fortunately, they allowed us as a once off to take a plate of breakfast to our son but we did feel very uncomfortable about this. The closure of the pool was also, not stated anywhere on the website ort at check-in. There was a note left in the room. We were not happy about this at all. They advised us that we could take a taxi to another hotel & use their pool & they would re-imburse the taxi fee. Considering that we paid over $400 for the night, I don't think the overall experience was worth it. We like the location but will not consider the Premier floor again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SOLAIRE2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Accorhotels.com traveler,


Thank you for the time you have taken to review your recent stay with us.

We greatly value our Le Club Advantage Plus members thus it is a pleasure knowing that a complimentary upgrade to a Premier Suite was extended to you for this stay and that our new Reception staff, Mazni, has provided you with a positive experience during your check-in. Your kind words will definitely inspire her to continuously deliver the highest level of service to each and every guest.

At Novotel, we strive to ensure our guests' full satisfaction with every aspect of their stay, hence we regret to note your disappointment with the information on the website when making the booking. As part of our efforts to constantly improve the quality of our services, we have escalated your feedback to the department managers concerned for further review and discussion; rest assured that we are already in the process of evaluating the revision of the information on our website to avoid any further occurrence.

While a child policy indeed applies in the Premier Lounge during certain timings, alternative venues have been arranged and the options of having the breakfast at The Square Restaurant and the cocktail hours at the Le Bar Rouge are available, to ensure that families with children below 12 years of age may still enjoy the benefits included in the Premier Floor Package.

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the closure of our swimming pool during your stay; however, in order to ensure the safety and security of all our guests, urgent repair works were needed to resolve the waterproofing issues that we were experiencing in the surrounding area of the swimming pool.

We do note that you found the location of the hotel very convenient and it is our sincere hope that this brings you back to stay with us again in the future. Please feel free to contact us directly through H5993-FO14@accor.com for your future visit and we will be happy to assist you book a room according to your preferences.

Thank you and we hope to hear from you.


Kindest Regards,
Aira Allarde
Assistant Manager - Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#51 of 315 in Singapore
4,013 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#53 of 315 in Singapore
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#60 of 315 in Singapore
3,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Property: Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Family Hotel in Singapore
#71 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing