We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointed this time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #77 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Quality standard is well accepted & perfect location in Singapore ( came to this hotel few times in the last year )

but air-con system got problem during our 2 night stay between 1-3 Feb. Called someone to fix but still same result...you set at temp control at 16c but you feel like 25c in the room .

pay for bayview but can't believe hotel does not ''clean'' the window for months, it is all dirty+dust you look through from Clarke Quay to Marina Bay Sands.

(ROOM 1316 )

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kay-nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelSingapore, Manager at Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for selecting our hotel as your home when in Singapore and for taking the time to write in your experience regarding your most recent stay.

We are grateful for your continued loyalty and deeply value your support thus we regret to note the issues you encountered during your most recent stay with us. Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused.

At Novotel, we strive to ensure that our guests’ enjoy our products and services at the highest standards thus a thorough inspection of Room 1316 was carried out upon receipt of your feedback and the cause of the issues have been identified.

While the room's fan coil unit is already scheduled for replacement in order to improve the air-conditioning system, the method used by our contractors to construct the double glazed windows unfortunately prevents us from gaining access to clean them. However, please rest assured that our team is currently on track to finding a solution for this issue.

We thank you again for your valuable feedback and it is our hope that this experience does not deter you from staying with us again. If you could kindly contact us directly for you next trip, we will ensure your next stay will be as pleasant as the previous ones

We look forward to hearing from you.


Kindest Regards,
Aira Allarde
Assistant Manager - Quality Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,333)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,623 - 3,629 of 6,333 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2013

As a whole hotel is very expensive in Singapore and this hotel is no exception. This also goes for breakfast and internet. My room price did not have these included. I found out that the 24-hour McDonald in Liang Court below the hotel has free Wi-Fi access and it was good enough for my iPhone and saved me a daily rate of SGD30 Internet fee.

I could also get the local SIMS card at the 7-11 store is also right below the hotel at SGD18. A passport is needed for a new mobile phone number to be registered in Singapore. The Liang Court also has a food court. I could get my dinner at around SGD5 and the quality is quite decent.

This hotel also has a gym and a decent size outdoor swimming pool for laps. I did not have the chance to use the gym but the pool was good and there were hardly anyone there. New clean towel was available at the pool deck but there was no poolside bar.

The hotel is located in Clarke Quay, the restaurant and night life area for drinking and partying. It took me 15 - 20 minutes walk through this restaurant district from the hotel to the MRT station.

The best way from the airport to the hotel is by taxi. One of the things I am yet to get used to in Singapore is "surcharge" (http://www.taxisingapore.com/taxi-fare/). On top of my normal fare, I usually had to pay, "booking fee", "city area surcharge", "ERP surcharge". To make it more complicated, these fees vary by different time and different day of the week. In some cases, the total of your surcharges can cost more than my fare!! On one trip back to my hotel after work, my taxi booking fee alone was SGD8!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grahamqla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twannytwanny
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Located in a great spot in Clarke Quay. Buffet breakfast was first class. Would certainly stay there again.
Only complaint was that there wasn't enough bedding when we first arrived and we had to arrange an extra bed. Other than that all was great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPM409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank effieg22
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

we have stayed at this hotel on number of occasions and as usual all the staff on the premier floor were fantastic especially when the smell of paint from a nearby refurbished room became offensive,we were moved without delay to suite on a different floor.The rooms and views and location of this hotel are great and can't be beaten.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wfforrester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Novotel Clarke Quay is true to its brand, a good value modern hotel with pleasant public rooms, conveniently located near all the night life and restaurants etc. The bus stops right outside the hotel for transport around Singapore plus the underground train is nearby. Our room was huge with a good view over Singapore, the staff friendly and helpful, beds beautifully comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. Minor issue was some of the caulking in the bathroom was starting to look a bit tired and grubby (clean into those corners!).

From the outside of the hotel it is not the prettiest piece of architecture (a strange orange/yellow coloured brick facade) so it does look a bit old compared to all the newness of Singapore. But as I said, the location is great. We would stay here again when passing through Singapore.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJL1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#56 of 317 in Singapore
4,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#62 of 317 in Singapore
3,813 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#93 of 317 in Singapore
2,482 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Singapore
#42 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Business Hotel in Singapore
#69 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $158 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing