We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handful of flies in your room, can you believe that?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #74 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Handful of flies in your room, can you believe that?”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed there during Dec for a weekend trip to attend to a wedding. The location is great with a lot of happenings around. However I was with my 2 small kids so it didn't really matter to me...

We requested a connecting room so it will be easier to take care of the kids obviously but then the doors couldn't be opened. We called the Front Desk asking for help but nobody came to help until we had to leave the rooms - we can't just stay there half a day and wait for them to fix something can't we? So we left the room assuming the doors will be fixed by the time we came back from dinner. Then funny things happened... Obviously we came back after dinner and the doors were still not fixed! Okay so I had my wife to call the Front Desk again while I went and take a shower with my son. Then there was a tiny fly flew by my eyes and I was like "Holy cow there was one fly...". AND THEN, I looked up the ceiling and there were like 20-30 more flies walking on the ceiling!!!! I immediately closed the bathroom door and worried that the flies will go out to the bedroom but it was too late already. There were some of them on the bed and on the ceiling already so we called the Duty Manager and told her something is definitely not right for this room. A lady picked up the phone and she said she will send someone over. So we waited and waited for 10 minutes, it was getting late the the kids are getting sleepy. I called again and she said someone was "on his way". Okay so I waited for another 10 minutes and then a staff showed up and he said he was there to fix the connecting rooms door!!!! OMG I told him there was a bigger problem now and I showed him where the flies were. He told me calmly that there was nothing he could do when I requested a room change. So he left, I called the Duty Manager again and I told her she has under estimated what was happening in the room and I requested her to come to see things herself RIGHT AWAY. Obviously she did not show up until another 10 minutes later. I was dead tired by then and I didn't have any gas left in the tank to argue with her or to ask for any kind of compensation. I just asked her to please switch the room for us - which her did except it was not a connecting room, but by then who cares right... At least my new room is flies free... Yay....~

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,942
    2,759
    944
    271
    137
See reviews for
1,908
1,922
459
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We decided on Singapore as a venue for my wife's 60th birthday. Booked through Accor as I am a business customer. Rates OK for high season. Our experience at the Novatel Clarke Quay was very mixed and contrasts with other stays at Novatel and IBIS in the past 12 months. On check in, we were unable to use our Visa debit card as a "extra guarantee" despite the card having been used for full payment before arrival. An SG800 cash deposit was required with final refund in SGD- CRAZY! Our annoyance was offset by the arrival of a birthday cake next morning PLUS marks to front desk staff.
We had booked 2 rooms (11th floor - one was satisfactory and the other terrible. Air conditioning was barely functional, fridge was best described a cool and definitely no good for beer. An unpleasant smell also noticed whenever the room was left for anytime without the bathroom being used. (water trap leaking possibly making the pipes open)
The location is fantastic being alongside the Clarke Quay dining and club area - fabulous food and great atmosphere. Short walk to MRT. The only negative was some musical thumping until late. Pool good and general service OK.
After a busy 2 days I asked to have the fridge, air con and smell investigated and corrected. On late arrival after the night zoo it was obvious the someone had opened the fridge, but nothing was changed - another hot night!
After complaining again, we were promised new rooms when we returned later that day. The rooms were not available until about 8pm and so delayed our meal that night. The new rooms on the 19th floor were as expected, and apart from some minor plumbing issues satisfactory. Overall we enjoyed our 8 days in Singapore, but I felt that I was paying Novatel prices for an old IBIS standard venue. We will return to Clarke Quay and have already checked out alternative, similarly priced hotels in the area and will not miss the Accor points!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCD1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013


The location of the hotel is excellent being at Clarke Quay with so many restaurants available. China Town and Orchard Road are only minutes away by MRT. The hotel has excellent facilities for businesss and pleasure and the friendly staff add to the whole pleasure of staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Novotel always lives up to their reputation. Only complaint this time is we were put in a room on the 9th floor right next door to their renovations. We woke up to jack hammering and it continued all morning! The hotel must have been full for them to use that room but I think we should have been warned and compensated. Other than that, the room was lovely, beds comfortable and we would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

My family (2 adults & 2 children) recently stayed here, the location was good -lots of taxi's around and close to the MRT. When booking extra beds were requested for the kids, upon checking in we were informed that we could have one extra single bed for free but would have to pay an extra $60 for an extra bed, we ended up having one child in the king size bed. WiFi is available at $28 a day! However they do provide free computers in the lobby area, there is usually a line up for these.

Hotel was clean and comfortable, there were some renovations going on our level - these didn't bother us at all though. Booked room when accor was having a 50% off sale so the room ended up being good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melandmatt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Singapore is expensive however the Hotel is tired and decor just doesn't seem to work. Staff in lounge were very helpful. Position not near good shopping. Next time probably would stay at Airport eg. Crown Plaza for just one night in the middle of a long flight. Have just returned from 10 weeks away having to go in and out of Singapore 4 times. Stayed at the Changi Village Hotel. Expensive and ordinary. Once again staff very helpful. Some restaurants were charging $11 for a cup of tea!!! Therefore am over Singapore after being there many times.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#50 of 312 in Singapore
3,833 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#49 of 312 in Singapore
3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#51 of 312 in Singapore
3,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Property: Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Business Hotel in Singapore
#46 Family Hotel in Singapore
#68 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing