We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but quite a few problems with bill, room configuration and noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Ranked #76 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2008

We booked this hotel through ratestogo.com.

We paid a deposit through the website but when we got to the hotel, they made us pay 20% on top of what the invoice stated claiming it was local taxes and room service.

The website and invoice had a disclaimer about local taxes and service charges but it no different to other hotels we've booked before and we've never been charged extra. If the hotel will charge more than advertised, they should also say what the extra cost may be.

Since then, having complained to ratestogo.com, we have recovered the taxes charged as the Novotel has admitted the advertised fee at the time of our booking included the taxes, but we're still wondering what the 10% charged on top for "room service" was about. We settled the account before we got the rooms, so I'm wondering what sort of room service they charged us for.

If the invoice mess up wasn't enough, there was the room configuration problem. On the website the room was advertised as suitable for 2 adults and 2 children but when we got there the only thing they could offer us was a room with a king size bed and 2 extra king single beds. Our room was large but with the two extra beds, there wasn't much room to move about.

Then there was the noise every night up to 5am or so. We didn't investigate the origin of the loud music but it sounded like there was a night club somewhere in the hotel. We were on the 13th floor so I can't imagine how people on lower levels slept at night.

We can't say it's not a nice hotel. It's also clean and in a nice location, but the problems experienced with the bill and the room configuration, plus the nightly noise, were enough to spoil part of the experience.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank eautmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,387 - 5,393 of 6,401 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2008

I am writing this review sitting in my bedroom in the Novotel Singapore. We are here for 3 nights as a stopover on the way back to the UK. We booked a deluxe room on the 23rd floor, part of the BIZ complex on the top 3 floors. The staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you. The BIZ lounge is a special treat, free drinks from 6pm till 8pm. Our own breakfast, tea lounge and lot's of other perks. Our room is slightly behind the times in decor, but large with free Internet connection. The bed is king size and very comfortable The views are outstanding over central Singapore and down to the river.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, not sure what the basic rooms are like, but well worth pushing the boat out for the BIZ rooms.

Swallow 11

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Swallow11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

Stayed in a club room, very small compared to other hotels we have visited. Double bed with only space for bedside cabinet on one side of the bed. Bathroom had tiles that were cracked and coming away from the wall.

Club lounge quite small, snacks looked as though they had been out all day and none were covered so things a little curled round the edges.

An ok hotel but not great compared to some hotels in Singapore, wouldn't hurry back.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2008

We have just arrived back in Cairns Australia this morning after spending the last four nights at Novotel Clark Quay. For location, service and cleanliness this hotel is up with the best. When I was in the process of booking hotels in Singapore I was concerned of reports of hotels not bing clean, smelling of smoke and being old and needing refurbishing so when I booked the Novotel I went for a deluxe room. My concerns were not headed at this establishment as not one of the above problems is in this hotel. The staff are frindly and the buffet breakfast and lunch are sensational. It is only a $7.00 taxi ride to most of the major shopping centres and eating is not a problem because at your doorstop on Clark Quay are some of the best eateries you will find. A must see is the flying angel at Divine Wine Bar, the building is magnificent and the angel that flies to get your selected bottle of wine will be one of the highlights of your Singapore visit.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank travellorcairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

Great hotel. Upgraded to a suite ( 2 adults, 2 ten year olds), upon arrival - it was worth it. Huuuuuuge bed in bedroom, we all got into it for a couple of hours when we arrived and slept comfortably!!!!

Had access to the business room on 24th floor. Nibbles and drinks nearly all day long and free internet and printer access. Brilliant. Nice pool but it was being renovated whilst we were there - loads of workmen. This is due to finish soon.

Clarke Quay is definately unique!! Deadsville during the day then everyone in Singapore appears to descend upon it at night. I thought it was a great place, very trendy, non threatening and certainly interesting!!! The seating at 'The Clinic' is wheelchairs sprayed gold - still not sure about that one!!!

Loved Singapore and it sights . The newly opened terminal 3 at Changi airport is an experience in itself. Would return to the Novotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank mimi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2008

We stayed in Novotel Clarke Quay last week starting from January 12 till 15th Jan.The most important thing is for me is that the rooms are clean.The hotel is in a great location that very near to MRT(metro) and easy walk to Clarke Quay-Singapore river-full with cafes,bars,restaurants.10 minutes to Chinatown.The stuff at the reception was ok.Not really smiling faces though!! The stuff where we had the breakfast were very friendly and kind.We fly with Singapore airlines which I definitely suggest to everyone.It was so comfartable.Shortly,if you want to discover the city all day and have a peaceful stay in a clean hotel Novotel Clarke Quay is great.It is not a hotel that you want to stay in whole day though!!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SaraDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2008

Great Hotel with great pool in great location......BUT staff was a bit rude and unfriendly during our checkin and checkout. I stayed there as an Advantage Plus Member and my night was complimentary so they didn't think I deserve the Novotel hospitality!!! Despite this, they didn't spoil our stay as we had a great time. It's walking distance to Chinatown, all the restaurants and pubs in Clarke Quays, MRT is about 5-7 minutes walk, The rooms are big and great for family with young children. However, the shopping complex (Daimaru) next to the hotel is being renovated so expect some construction dusts and noises around the area. The hotel reception is on the 7th floor. so you have to hop on to 2 sets of lifts before you get to your room which is not funny when you have 6 luggages to tag along to check out!!! Overall, it's an experience at the Novotel as I have never stayed before but I won't stay at this hotel again simply because it's not conveniently located.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Bibsterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
The Quays
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
Park Hotel Clarke Quay
#55 of 317 in Singapore
4,595 reviews
The Quays
Swissotel Merchant Court Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#64 of 317 in Singapore
3,895 reviews
PARKROYAL on Pickering
#24 of 317 in Singapore
3,186 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#96 of 317 in Singapore
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay

Address: 177A River Valley Road, Singapore 179031, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > The Quays
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Singapore
#42 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#45 Business Hotel in Singapore
#69 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $157 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay 4*
Number of rooms: 403
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay combines convenience and comfort in the center of town. This 4-star hotel is the perfect choice for your next business trip or holiday, and is located close to the famous shopping paradise of Orchard Road and the Suntec City Convention Center. Featuring 403 beautifully appointed rooms, plus a Premier Lounge, Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay offers great conference facilities, plus an outdoor swimming pool, a bar, and three restaurants serving local and international cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay Hotel Singapore
Novotel Clarke Quay Singapore
Singapore Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing