We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Ranked #48 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed with our daughters over a weekend and we disliked it so much and found it so expensive for what it was that we ended up checking out one day earlier. The hotel is enormous and soulless. The rooms are tired. The room we had opened to the big foyer (I think most of them do) and you can hear both the music at night and the birds in the morning. The location is ok but not great. Breakfast variety was average and service non existent. We had to clear the plates ourselves. Altogether I would definitely not recommend it. It you want to spend this amount of money there are definitely better places in Singapore and for this quality you can find much cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCMKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is with much regret that your recent stay was less than satisfactory and we sincerely apologise for not delivering up to the expected.

To offer you excuses of why the shortfalls happened would only further compound the experience. Nonetheless, we value your feedback and please be assured that immediate actions are taken to increase the quality of our products and services.

We have also taken note on your preferences for a quiet room and will include into your profile during your future stays.

We hope to be given another opportunity to make amends, hence, we invite you to contact us directly at marina@meritushotels.com for your future visits and we will ensure a memorable stay for you.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,377
    1,907
    717
    244
    123
See reviews for
1,115
1,843
312
1,407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (887)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Marina Mandain in very centrally located with a great view of the water front in the distance and the fantastic city view from the other side. The hotel is very close to the train station and one can walk through the underground shopping area to access the other side of town.

The hotel itself is like any other modern oriental five star with nice clean large rooms and bathrooms. The restaurants are very nice although the prices are steep. The breakfast buffet has a huge spread of dishes and a selection that is both international and local.

The only sour note to this othewise fantastic hotel is the service. The staff at reception are rigid in their approach and not very proactive. A simple correction to the final bill took half an hour of going back and forth till finally I just gave up. Really wish the hotel train and empower their staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heminbharucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

Indeed, the location of the Hotel has brought our guests much convenience. It is easily accessible to the Central Business District and also to various dining and entertainment options.

We are glad that the room facilities were up to your expectations and we will seek continuous improvements to further enhance what we can deliver.

Whilst we are delighted that you have enjoyed the facilities, we are concerned to learn about the service that was rendered during your stay. We have shared your feedback with the Team and we will step up our training efforts to ensure that our Team is always ready to accommodate our guests' requests.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred choice of accommodation, for your future visits, please contact us directly at marina@meritushotels.com and we will ensure that your accommodation requests are met.

Looking forward to be of service to you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The check-in process is fast and quick. The room size is slightly bigger compared to a normal average size hotel room. The furniture and the settings looks a bit tired and dated especially the bathroom. You can see they did a refurbishment recently but probably did not do a good job. Bed is comfy enough. The bathroom size is ok but the settings and general look and feel show that it is from the 80s'. Service is alright. Did not try the pool so no comment there. The location is quite good as it is linked to a marina square shopping center and a short walk to mrt station. Overall, average only.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sxght
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to be the preferred hotel for your recent stay.

At Marina Mandarin, we pride ourselves into exceeding our guests expectations each time they stay with us and it is through our guests feedback that we are able to continually improve ourselves to remain competitive. We sincerely appreciate your concerns for the Hotel and we have since shared with the departments concerned.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as the preferred choice of accommodation, we look forward to be of service to you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Marina Mandarin. It is excellently located close to attractions, shops and restaurants. The bed was a bit hard by Aussie standards but you get used to it. After reading some of the other reviews on trip advisor I was a bit concerned, I needn't have worried, some people must be really hard to please. The rooms we had were very comfortable and spacious. We had requested a room with a view of the marina but here wasn't any available when we checked in, but they moved us the next day. The staff were very helpful and courteous. The breakfast was very nice and plentiful. We had dinner at the the peach blossom restaurant which was fantastic. It is more expensive to eat at the hotel, but peach blossom was worth it. I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It gives us great pleasure knowing that you have enjoyed your recent stay!

Indeed, the location of the Hotel is one of the best selling points. It is centrally located to various shopping and dining choices and not forgetting the entertainment options too. We are glad that the location has brought you much convenience.

We have also taken note of the bedding and view preferences and will include these into your profile for your future stays.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred choice of accommodation, we look forward to be of service to you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

First off - this was a Groupon 5-star staycation deal. We paid for a deluxe room and were able to upgrade to a club level, without the club benefits, which was a nice touch. Room was a decent size with nice robes and slippers. The bathroom was a little on the small side. There was a building being demolished next door which was clearly heard throughout the day. The biggest flaw was when my wife went to use the bathroom first and found the toilet had not been flushed. The rest of the room has been cleaned but that set the tone. We found the small fridge but never did see a mini-bar with alcohol. Not a bad thing considering how pricey alcohol is in Singapore to begin with. It included buffet breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. So-so food choices. For dinner we tried the Ruth Chris Steakhouse in the hotel. Very disappointing considering its brethren in the US. I would not go back there - I would stick to the Cut at Marina Bay Sands since the price is similar. Overall it was an okay stay but we did check out early - decided it was enough to try it one.

Room Tip: Aks for rooms facing the Marina is possible. Higher floors have a nice city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runamoksg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to be part of your recent staycation and we value your constructive feedback.

We have taken note of your feedback shared and have since reviewed all aspects highlighted. We sincerely apologise for any shortfalls and we assured you that immediate actions are taken.

We have also taken note of your feedback for our tenant, Ruth's Chris. We have since forwarded your feedback to them directly and you may wish to contact them directly at mail@ruthchris.com.sg.

Thank you for choosing our hotel as your preferred choice of accommodation, we look forward to be of service to you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Got the deal for a 2D1N staycation at their Executive Suite.

GRO (Guest Relations Officer) escorted me to level 21 Meritus Club for check in and then brought me to my room. We got a room with city view, unfortunately the city view was interrupted with 2 construction works going on, otherwise it would have been splendid!

Suite is spacious with 2 bathrooms, a living room, a dining area and a bedroom. It comes with complimentary mini bar with coffee maker Nespresso. Toiletries were well stocked, however coffee creamer was not refilled and we have to call for housekeeping to bring some for us.

Refreshments during non-meal hours, evening cocktails and morning breakfast were pretty good at the Meritus Club lounge.

Overall it's a great experience and I don't mind going back again :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena_Woo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is indeed gratifying knowing that we have delighted you during your recent stay!

Our Team will derive much delight from your kind words and we will continue to delight all our guests with our signature Asian Hospitality.

Thank you for choosing the Hotel as your preferred choice for your staycation, we look forward to be of service to you soon!

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a wedding in Singapore to attend and the wedding members decided to stay at the Marina Mandarina Hotel which we found to be very good. Rooms were serviced daily to high standard. The only problem we (Dad and partner) found was that the resturants are very costly. The young ones would go out of a night (no problem) so we had to dine out at the motel. Two coffees and 2 small cakes $34 singapore money. First and last coffee we had there. This is a place for people with money not pensioners. Overall being only a 4 night stay it was good to stay, but wouldn't advise for a holiday. One good thing is there a shopping center beside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touring1893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It gives us great pleasure knowing that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We have shared your kind words for our Housekeeping Team with them and we will continue to strive towards higher level of service delivery.

Also, we have taken note on the feedback on the menu prices. We will continue to monitor on the needs of our guests and ensure that our prices remain competitive.

We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to be of service to you soon.

Please extend our best wishes to the wedded couple!

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,877 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Fairmont Singapore
#16 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Conrad Centennial Singapore
Conrad Centennial Singapore
#23 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,167 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Mandarin Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Mandarin Singapore

Property: Marina Mandarin Singapore
Address: 6 Raffles Boulevard,Marina Square, Singapore 039594, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#25 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#44 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Business Hotel in Singapore
#48 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Mandarin Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An acclaimed award winning five star luxury hotel in the heart of the city, Marina Mandarin Singapore offers breathtaking views of of the Marina Bay and financial district, as well as convenient access to the Marina Square Shopping Mall, and is minutes away from Sands Expo & Convention Center and Suntec Convention & Exhibition Centre. Directly opposite The Esplanade, Singapore's performing arts centre, the hotel is also within walking distance to attractions such as Gardens by the Bay and the Singapore Flyer, and is perfectly situated right on the trackside of the annual Singapore Grand Prix Formula One race ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Mandarin Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Mandarin Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Singapore Mandarin
Marina Mandarin Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing