We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barely Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marina Mandarin Singapore
Ranked #45 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed in the Marina Mandarin when I was in Singapore in Nov. For a hotel that markets itself as a 5 star hotel, it was poor. The service was mediocre and the rooms were dated. The only thing in its favour is its location. There are far better hotels to stay in in the area.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the rooms on the 6th floor. Although it is marked as the function rooms level, there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YiiYng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We are concerned to learn that your recent experience was not up to your satisfaction and we regret for not meeting the expected.

We take all guests’ feedback seriously and will ensure that immediate actions are taken to ensure that our service standards are carried out diligently.

Please contact us directly at marina@meritushotels.com your future visits and we will ensure a memorable experience for you.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,510 - 4,516 of 6,397 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hotel accommodated last minute change of booking - necessary due to flight delay. As first time customers we were given a room on the 15th floor with a harbour view. Concierge was very helpful with trips and transfers. An all round excellent experience.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent visit.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your overall experience with us!

Our associates are committed to deliver service excellence displaying the art of Asian Hospitality to each and every guest, each time they stay with us. The Team will be motivated to delivered higher level of service standards through your feedback.

Looking forward to be of service to you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked this hotel on the morning of our stay for our 9th anniversary staycation. We booked it for its proximity to several malls and the decent price.

Location
The hotel is located next to the Marina Mandarin, unfortunately, getting to it involved either walking along the main road or climbing through flights of stairs. But overall if you would like access to shopping or food in the marina area, the location is great.

Rooms
This is where the hotel is badly in need of a refurbishment. The common areas aren't bad and look like they have been maintained. But the rooms had paint peeling off the sides, stains in the carpet and a general feeling that most of the fittings were dated. We stayed on the 14th floor and another reviwer is right. You can hear the singing from your room!

Service
We only stayed for a night and there really wasn't any service requirement. We made one request for our TV to be fixed (the sensor fell off and they needed to double sided tape it back!) but they arrived promptly despite it being 11pm.

I doubt that we would do another staycation in Marina Mandarin. The last staycation we had was in The Sentosa and that was heaps better. Especially when we paid approximately SGD 270 excluding discounts (rebate points) from Agoda for Marina Mandarin. The Sentosa on a corp rate was much better value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheChubbs9123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We regret to learn that your staycation was less than satisfactory and we apologise for not meeting up to your expectations.

At Marina Mandarin, we have put in place strict quality guidelines to ensure each of our guest enjoys a wonderful experience. We sincerely appreciate your feedback about the quality of the room and you may wish to know that our rooms are scheduled on routine maintenance to ensure that we remain competitive.

We invite you to contact us directly at marina@meritushotels.com for your future visits and we will personally ensure a memorable stay for you.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Spent a night in deluxe executive room at level 14.

- Magnificent harbour view from our room.
- Nice and cozy room but bed is too stiff and noisy aircon.
- We can hear the singing from the lounge even though we were staying at 14 floor (till 12 midnight)
- Below average breakfast which is disappointing for a 5 stars hotel.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor with harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piggyswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you have chosen the Marina Mandarin as your preferred hotel for the recent visit. Indeed the harbour view from the balcony of our room is one of the little known treat for many guests and we are glad that you have enjoyed the view.

We truly appreciate your feedback with regards to the music from our lounge and the breakfast. Please be assured that we constantly review our products and services to ensure that we remain competitive. Please accept our sincere apologies for not being able to live up to your expectations.

For your future stays, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at marina@meritushotels.com and we will ensure that you will have a memorable stay.

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our honeymoon and were really pleased we picked this hotel.

You go up to the 4th floor to check-in which was slow but we were greeted with an upgrade to a club room due to it being our honeymoon. With the club room we were on the 21st floor with amazing views of Marina Bay. We were told we had complimentary unlimited wifi access, laundry (2 pieces per day) breakfast and access to the club bar.

The room was really nice and spacious and what you would expect for a hotel like this.

Inside the hotel is really nice with a stunning atrium and a nice lounge area for guests to relax whilst a live pianist plays in the background.

The drinks at the bar were not too expensive however, the restaurants in the hotel were very expensive.

The pool was nice with lots of sun loungers.

Breakfast was average and to be honest with more local offerings than continental.

The only disappointing thing about this hotel is that when we checked out we had been charged for breakfast at $35 per person and for the laundry we had done. We told them that it was included in our upgrade and they refunded the laundry costs but not the breakfast which wasn't satisfactory.

My advice - don't eat breakfast here as it isn't worth it but do stay here as its in a great location and the hotel is very nice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatherineRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted that you have chosen the Marina Mandarin to celebrate the first night of your honeymoon and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your overall experience.

We are concerned to learn about the discrepancy to your final bill and we would like you to contact us directly at marina@meritushotels.com for us to review the discrepancy.

Once again, thank you for choosing us as the preferred hotel for your honeymoon and we wish you a blissful married life!

Looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I reserved a room at the Marina Mandarin just by chance. I was visiting Singapore after an absence of 60 plus years and found the City to be entirely different from the 1950's. My purpose for the visit was the 170th anniversary of the girls school I attended back then. The hotel was excellent for service, food, graciousness and friendliness. The Concierge service was excellent and I booked a number of tours through them, including a day trip to Malacca. My only small problem and I did not make an issue of it was that I was never quite able to get hot water from the shower or bath taps. Perhaps I was not using the taps correctly but during the entire stay the water was usually only tepid at best. Other than that small thing the rest of my almost two week stay was great.

Room Tip: I really do not have any tips for choosing a good room. As I said, I picked the Marina Mandarin pur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is gratifying to know that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us! Your inspiring feedback serves as a motivation for our associates to continue bringing up our service level to the next greater heights.

Looking forward to be of service to you soon.

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We where delighted with this hotel. The Atrium really is special viewed nicely from the glass lifts, at the time of our visit there was a fabulous Christmas Tree which looked really stunning. We had breakfast from the buffet and though probably more expensive than eating out of the hotel we found very very nice with plenty of choice. We also had two meals in the bar area which where very good and the girls who served us where dressed in typical Singaporean costume which where lovely and they where very pleasant and helpful. Even though we only had 2 nights here we enjoyed it very much and would love to return. There is also a door from the 4th floor which leads right into the mall which was very convienent. Also the swimming pool is lovely. Very good hotel.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a higher floor and where given one on the 14th floor, we where facing the Mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWELONNorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurt W, General Manager at Marina Mandarin Singapore, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is with great pleasure knowing that you have truly enjoyed your recent stay with us! Our Atrium, being one of the largest in Southeast Asia, has awed many guests as they enter the building for the first time.

We are glad that you have enjoyed the facilities and services of the Hotel. Through your inspiring feedback, we will continue to soar greater heights towards service excellence.

Looking forward to be of service to you soon!

Warm Regards
Kurt O. Wehinger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 319 in Singapore
8,155 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Marina Bay
Conrad Centennial Singapore
Conrad Centennial Singapore
#21 of 319 in Singapore
4,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 319 in Singapore
23,853 reviews
Fairmont Singapore
#17 of 319 in Singapore
6,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Mandarin Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Mandarin Singapore

Address: 6 Raffles Boulevard,Marina Square, Singapore 039594, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Marina Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#25 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#37 Family Hotel in Singapore
#45 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#46 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $207 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marina Mandarin Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 575
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An acclaimed award winning five star luxury hotel in the heart of the city, Marina Mandarin Singapore offers breathtaking views of of the Marina Bay and financial district, as well as convenient access to the Marina Square Shopping Mall, and is minutes away from Sands Expo & Convention Center and Suntec Convention & Exhibition Centre. Directly opposite The Esplanade, Singapore's performing arts centre, the hotel is also within walking distance to attractions such as Gardens by the Bay and the Singapore Flyer, and is perfectly situated right on the trackside of the annual Singapore Grand Prix Formula One race ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Marina Mandarin Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Mandarin Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Singapore Mandarin
Marina Mandarin Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing