We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Ranked #72 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Great location, clean rooms, comfortable beds, but.....mediocre service. Internet unstable and very slow. Several channels on the TV freeze every 15-20 minutes. Despite three visits by the electrician the lighting console by the bed did not work properly. Long queues for breakfast and even longer queues to check out. Price in the bar for a beer ridiculous. No real areas for working with colleagues.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rcm49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear rcm49,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. Please accept my apologies for the TV freezing, which has been intermittent a select few number of channels. This is being looked at by engineers so it may be rectified. Whilst the bar prices are very competitive in Singapore, especially with the happy hour promotions, I have noted your comments and will bring this for review.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,115
    3,787
    1,505
    523
    291
See reviews for
3,079
1,869
452
2,881
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Haddon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

Well where can I start, poor slow service from the time we arrived. We waited in queue at 2am, for at least 20 minutes, which after a long inter nation flight was poor to say the least, no excises given.
Then when we attempted to obtain our 'tour of Singapore' only to be told to come back at 12 noon, as there were no tickets availabale. Then when we did return, we had to wait another 35 minutes only to be told there were still no tickets available.
the door men would not open the door for you, nor load your bags into the back of the cab.
5 star???? i think not.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Graham D,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am really sorry to hear your expectations were not met during your most recent stay. What you experienced is most certainly not what should be expected and I am sorry for the inconvenience caused. I have give your feedback to the Front Office Manager who will ensure improvements are made so this does not happen again.

Thank you for helping the hotel to improve.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

We visited Singapore for sightseeing.Mandarin Orchard Singapore had wonderful location and it was convenient for us to go anywhere.
I think that there should just have been a pillow also slight hardness a little.
Next, also when visiting, I wish to stay.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Toru A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Toru A,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will choose the hotel again. On your next visit please do contact housekeeping 24 hours a day to assist with any requests for items such as softer pillows.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The front desk executive on 30th April 2014 was clueless about the "guaranteed check in by 9am package" purchased by me on the Hotel Website and had to be told about the same. I had booked two rooms under this package and was told that only one room reflected the package. The other room was given to me only at 13.00 Hrs. I would like the management to clarify on this.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vikramsingh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Vikramsingh C,

Thank you taking the time to give your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the Front Desk Staff had little knowledge of this service. Whilst it is something new to the hotel, there is no excuse not to have known. I have given your feedback to the Front Office Manager to ensure this lapse does not happen again.

After having checked your booking from the details you have provided, there was only one room that was guaranteed for an early arrival. I thank you for your understanding.

I do hope that despite this occurrence, there will be an opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
川崎
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I used it in a trip of Singapore for the first time. This hotel has the convenience that is very good for transportation. Rooms were always beautiful and were comfortable. Because I was able to sleep well, I lost the fatigue of the trip. When I come to Singapore, I want to stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mappy0729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear mappy0729,

Thank you for your review; I am happy to hear Mandarin Orchard Singapore is your hotel of choice and would love to come back again; please do return and I will look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The accomodation of food and beverage must be improved. The service of coffee shop on 5th floor was terrible and atomospher was so confusing. Also room was rather old and sometimes it disappoint us frankly.


  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Makoto T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Makoto T,

Thank you for your review. Whilst I am delighted your favourite hotel to stay at is Mandarin Orchard Singapore, I am sorry to hear your expectations were not met with regards to the restaurant. Your feedback has been passed to the Director of F&B who I know will takes step to improve.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our 2nd time to stay in this hotel. Convenient online booking, fast check-in, helpful staff, and comfortable rooms. Starbucks, Mcdonald's and 7Eleven are just at the back of the hotel so it was easy to get breakfast and snacks when needed. Its location along Orchard road made it very easy to shop. Although we had problems with our room key on our first two nights, we still had a great time in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Enril M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Enril M,

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am sorry to hear you had an issue with your room keys; I am happy to hear this was resolved quickly and amicably.

Thank you for choosing to stay at at Mandarin Orchard Singapore and I look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,136 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#86 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,712 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#66 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Property: Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Address: 333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Orchard Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1077
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Mandarin Orchard Singapore is a veritable icon in the local hospitality industry, embodying rich Oriental charm. Its prominent location in the heart of the world-renowned shopping belt of Orchard Road makes it the preferred hotel of choice for many visitors. Boasting some 1,077 guest rooms, each a harmonious blend of comfort and contemporary elegance, they are equipped with broadband Internet access, comprehensive amenities and a panoramic view of the city from the higher floors. A smorgasbord of food and beverage offerings is available throughout the hotel. These include award-winning cuisines from Chatterbox, home of the Mandarin Chicken Rice; Shishen Hanten Sichuan Chinese Restaurant by Chef Kentaro; Triple Three, an international buffet restaurant; Coffee & Crust, a cafe serving tempting cakes, pastries and coffee; and Bar on 5, a chill-out bar five floors above Orchard Road. The hotel also offers expansive meeting and function facilities, making it the ideal choice for meetings, incentives, conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mandarin Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Hotel
Singapore Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing