We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm without sophistication”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Ranked #72 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charm without sophistication”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Sometimes when booking larger hotels you get a sense that the charm might get forgotten. Pleasantly escorted to reception desk by front service who warmly attended to our inquiries. Although the luster of newness has worn off of the facilities a bit, the accommodations where appointed adequately and the extension of complimentary WIFI was appreciated. Since the booking was made by travel agent and not by the brand's booking engine, the declination of awarding loyalty points for the stay was a bit unique, but alright.....a budget for rewarding loyalty points when booked by others might be a bit short sighted. Cocktails were pleasantly delivered, although the nest of bar servers shielded from the patrons was a bit disheartening since management did make frequent rounds through the outlet. Seems like overstaffing over failure to assign side duties. Certainly not my call. Perhaps using those payroll dollars to award loyalty might be a better use of resouces. The downtown location is ideal for those that want the tinseltown drama of a dynamic cosmopolitan city. Breakfast pricing for this American traveller was prohibitive.

Room Tip: It's a large hotel with a labyrinth of corridors...so requesting a room nearer to elevators migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freezeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Freezeone,

Thank you for your review. We are leased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the Wi-fi - this is a direct result of feedback from people like you; thank you for helping us to improve.

We hope we will see you again on your next visit to Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,272
    3,899
    1,528
    528
    297
See reviews for
3,177
1,933
457
2,983
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Te Puke
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very well presented and maintained hotel in the.CBD of Singapore. Staff top notch with great service from welcome to bus boy. Buffet meal expensive but very nice snack bar adjacent. There are exits leading to good shopping malls. Just over the road are a number of good food outlets and the underground station is a short walk from the hotel. We used Trip Advisor to make this selection and and it proved invaluable? Most hotels in Singapore are expensive but on a value for money basis this was a good choice.

Room Tip: Choose a room well up in the hotel with a view over Singapore. Just brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBee1TePuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear BeeBee1TePuke,

Thanks you for your wonderful review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and found all of our staff across the entire hotel to provide good service. We always try to please and your encouraging feedback will help to inspire us all to continue.

We will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This is perhaps the worst hotel experience I've ever had. I check in at 12, was asked to go back by 2. Was given a wrong room and again was asked to go back by 4pm. I am here past 4pm AND STILL NO ROOM!! I am tired from travelling and just want to rest. There's a reason why this hotel is not top rated. Best to stick to the great ones here in SG.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aileeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear aileeny,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. As stated on all of our booking sources, all special requests are subject to availability. A room was available for you at the designated check-in time of 2pm, however after being offered this room the decision to wait was made. We thank you for your patience whilst we prepared this request for you and are grateful this was immediately resolved to your satisfaction. We really appreciated your kind words of thanks to our team members on the day of your arrival.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

If you decide to stay in this hotel, be prepared to pay for the cleanliness and convenience. The location and comfort is superb. Yet, there were some major flaws.

Service was quite average. On the first day, the Chatterbox waitress was so lazy to find us a baby chair during breakfast. On the second day the other waitress turned out very helpful with our baby. The reception staff named Judy was cold as ice, and what was that $100 deposit per night per room thingy? Most hotels would just ask for a credit card. And what? They will refund it in 1 or 2 weeks after? Geez. Surprisingly during check out, we were helped by the friendliest staff ever. Room service staff was often sounded flat and not friendly at all. So you know, when you're lucky you'd get the good service and when you're not, just prepare yourself to be patient!

Our room was in the Orchard Wing. An old room with a city view--more like GENSET view to be exact. The room was rather old and felt outdated. But it was very clean and convenient, though.

Okay food. Average service. Very clean, and convenient if you want to shop. Nonetheless, nothing special.

It was quite a pleasant stay though with this kind of price, I'd rather stay in somewhere like Hilton next time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radenprisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear radenprisya,

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear of your experiences and the inconsistency of our services. At all times we strive to offer our Asian grace, warmth and care to all; we are sorry this did not shine through on this occasion. Your comments have been shared with the team and will be used to improve on what we do.

We do hope that despite this last stay, you will not hesitate to try us again.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Mandarin Orchard four or five times before this, and it has never disappointed me. In fact, it has become my go-to hotel whenever I stay in Singapore. This was, however, my first visit to the Top of the M Club lounge, newly opened on the 2nd November, replacing the previous club lounge located on level 31.

From the moment you step into the lobby, the service is faultless. We were quickly directed to the desk to check in, and when identified as holding a Club room booking, escorted to the new lounge on level 38 to complete check in.

The service in the club lounge is fantastic. We were fortunate to have time to partake of both afternoon tea and the evening cocktail service, and on both occasions the food was exquisite, catering to all palates. The view is simply spectacular. The lounge amenities are comprehensive, and the lounge is sufficiently quiet to enable one to relax.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10minute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear 10minute,

Thank you for your wonderful review, and we love how you call it on top of the world! We really love our new Meritus Club and have kept the new location as a closely guarded secret until now. We know this new facility will enhance our Club guests' experience where they may enjoy all day complimentary refreshments.

We will look forward to your next return visit.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed at the Mandarin Orchard for 4 days and 3 nights. We liked the overall service of the hotel from the Front desk, Concierge and housekeeping staff as they try their best to make you feel at home. Reception area could be a bit busy when checking out especially when there are big groups who are there at the same time. Location of the hotel was superb as it's very convenient for shopping and eating. I would recommend this hotel for its proximity to shopping. It's also easy to hail a cab at this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have less noise from people coming out of their rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCEaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear MCEaux.

Thank you for your comments; we are really pleased you felt at home here during your stay. It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back again when you next visit Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed in the 27th floor. We got really good sleep. The hotel was so convenient, really good for shopping. The rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable, the Internet connection was very good, and the staff were friendly as well.

Room Tip: Get a room that's spacious... You'll feel really comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWTSTheWanted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear ArianatorMixer18,

Thanks for the review, we are delighted you had a good sleep and found our rooms to be comfortable. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again on your next visit to Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#30 of 312 in Singapore
2,359 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
7,136 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#89 of 312 in Singapore
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#70 of 312 in Singapore
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Property: Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Address: 333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#66 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Orchard Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1077
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Mandarin Orchard Singapore is a veritable icon in the local hospitality industry, embodying rich Oriental charm. Its prominent location in the heart of the world-renowned shopping belt of Orchard Road makes it the preferred hotel of choice for many visitors. Boasting some 1,077 guest rooms, each a harmonious blend of comfort and contemporary elegance, they are equipped with broadband Internet access, comprehensive amenities and a panoramic view of the city from the higher floors. A smorgasbord of food and beverage offerings is available throughout the hotel. These include award-winning cuisines from Chatterbox, home of the Mandarin Chicken Rice; Shishen Hanten Sichuan Chinese Restaurant by Chef Kentaro; Triple Three, an international buffet restaurant; Coffee & Crust, a cafe serving tempting cakes, pastries and coffee; and Bar on 5, a chill-out bar five floors above Orchard Road. The hotel also offers expansive meeting and function facilities, making it the ideal choice for meetings, incentives, conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mandarin Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Hotel
Singapore Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing