We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Ranked #74 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“just great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

A very well run hotel that just looked after all of our needs.the food and our room was just great ,lots of room in it and very clean.the staff were always on hand and very helpful,as we signed into the hotel we were told that they had given us an upgrade to the 30th floor which was amazing.

Room Tip: Take a room at the back of the hotel as there is a lot of building work going on at the front,very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickpitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear mickpitman,

Thank you for your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our team to be helpful and our rooms to be good.

I will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,161
    3,816
    1,513
    527
    293
See reviews for
3,121
1,881
453
2,905
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately I booked this hotel because the room photos and the location, when I arrived there the room was too dirty and the hotel staff was not helpful and they asked me to pay extra 200USD to change the room, I was selected a premier room with view and other complementary like coffee maker, waters, etc.. The room was empty and I took couple of pictures I'm gonna share with you..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramzan_Alnaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Ramzan_Alnaimi,

Thank you for your review of your most recent review, I am sorry to learn of your experience; a clean room should always be expected; I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. At all times we will ensure a solution to any issues, however if preferred, upgrades may be purchased to a higher category of room.

I do hope that despite your last experience, you will not hesitate in giving us another opportunity to serve you again.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was billeted in this hotel for business. It was very unfortunate that I stayed in a room beside noisy occupants. With the room's poor acoustics, I could hear the conversation of the occupants in the other room. Initially I let it pass as i was still busy with emails but came 12 midnight, I had to call the reception to seek for intervention. The hotel duty manager did not do any thing to rectify, until I was irked and commanded him to resolve it. He initially wanted to go inside my room, at 1230 am so he could hear from which room the noise was coming from. I told him, as duty manager, he should know how the rooms are designed, where the beds are facing. I told him he can not enter as I was all alone in my room and would not want anyone to barge in at such late hour. He offered transfer of room at 1230am as he said he didnt want to knock on other people's room!!!! Morning came, I asked for transfer. The front desk told me to pack quickly my things so they can just move my stuffs to the other room. I was in hurry for my meeting so quickly packed before rushing out for the meeting. When i arrived in the evening, lo and behold, I still didnt have a new room and they haven't moved my luggages. I waited for an hour before they moved my luggages to the new room! Paying such hefty rates, with such poor room acoustics and bad customer service...definitely not worth it!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bing19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Bing19,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mandarin Orchard Singapore. All feedback is very important to us and every comment is both read and noted. I was concerned and surprised to hear of your experiences. I would be grateful if you would email me at gmoffice.orchard@meritushotels.com with your reservation details so I may investigate this further.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

After telling the Reservation Officer I need a room for two adults two children, they offer me a club room or deluxe room. When I asked about differences between this room, answers were " late check out at 2pm and more spacious room". End up I chosen club room. After receiving the confirmation email then I found that's club benefit for club room which he did not mention AT ALL and worst part is kids below 18 are not allow to have enjoy club benefits like breakfast or tea at club lounge! !!
Paying the extra for club room and yet I still need to pay extra for my kids breakfast. For my advise, family with kids PLS DON'T STAY WITH THEM

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokyotokyolover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear tokyotokyolover,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

I am surprised to hear of your experience with our reservations team, and have requested refresher training to be implemented to avoid a repeat of any such occurrence. Our Meritus Club Lounge has always been known to offer exceedingly good value with benefits including complimentary access to our exclusive lounge with all day refreshments including a cocktail hour daily for all those over 18. Benefits also include free local calls and 2 pieces of laundry daily. I can only apologise if we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Children throughout the hotel are not included within room rates with an entitlement to breakfast. I can only apologise if this was not highlighted to you. I have most certainly noted your comments and will bring this subject to our next review meeting for consideration; thank you for helping us to continually improve.

Thank you again for your comments, I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Mandarin Orchard Singapore has a lot of rooms and a lot of guests. That is why I call it a "hotel machine". With the exception of the check-in which was slow caused by a seemingly confused staff, the rest of the stay was excellent. The room had everything we wanted, and the location of the hotel couldn't be better. The way that the staff informed of us how to behave because of the terrible smog conditions was rather touching.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mia T,

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad you found your stay to be excellent, despite the check-in experience. Our Asian hospitality of grace, warmth and care extends to our guests wherever they may be; inside or out.

Thank you again for your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

So you want an affordable hotel right in the heart of Orchard Road but some of these negative reviews worry you right? The location is unbeatable needless to say. We were nervous about booking this place as it seems to be a bit 'hit & miss'. However, our four night stay was very successful and comfortable. I would highly recommend that you email the hotel (as we did) prior to your visit with your specific requests such as a refurbished room, a high floor or a very quiet room or whatever. When you get the 'confirmed' reply that is suitable for you, print it & take it with you. It is worth keeping in mind that the owners & management are responsible for issues with the building itself not the staff at reception or concierge etc. You may need to send two or three emails until you are satisfied with the reply but trust me it is worth it as we did not experience any problems whatsoever. Some people have criticised the pool, admittedly it's not huge and is lacking atmosphere/ambience but it is very clean and refreshing after a big day out sightseeing or shopping. Locating reception upon arrival is quite confusing and could be better sign posted, we got confused even though we had read these reviews and were expecting it. After that though, it is not difficult to negotiate how the two buildings are joined together. Overall, we had a good stay and rated this as 'very good' based on the price compared to other properties in this exclusive location.

Room Tip: Send an email to the hotel with your specific room requests and print the (most satisfying) response...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EkinsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear EkinsGirl,

Thank you for your constructive review. We actively encourage all of our guests to inform us of their arrival details prior to arrival with whatever booking source they are from indicating this on all websites and when phoning the hotel. This really helps us to better manage your requests; thank you for highlighting this.

Thank you again for you great comments; I am delighted we reached your expectations ad look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Excellent hotel, stayed 2 nights and was great.

Location good if you want to shop on Orchard road and only SGD 5 to get a cab to clark quay etc if you want to get some nightlife

Restaurant does an amazing dinner buffet, friday and saturday is they focus on seafood with eat as much lobster, king crab etc. as you can. If that doesn't appeal you can have Kobi beef, curry, asian stirfry etc. etc. cooked fresh (from the buffet chefs). All this for just 75 SGD which given the quality of the food is amazing value!

Swimming pool is small but welcome to revive oneself in the humid air.

Only downside - breakfast finishes at 10am

Room Tip: Rooms in the Orchard wing have been refurbished recently
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmink76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Bigmink76,

Thank you for taking the time to review Mandarin Orchard Singapore, I am thrilled you enjoyed our restaurant and found it to b of good value. Our daily promotions add variety to each day of the week across all of our outlets and in our buffet restaurant; it really is a buffet that is made fresh in front of your eyes.

Thank you again for your commendations. I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,214 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#90 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,865 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#69 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,264 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Property: Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Address: 333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#67 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Orchard Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1077
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Mandarin Orchard Singapore is a veritable icon in the local hospitality industry, embodying rich Oriental charm. Its prominent location in the heart of the world-renowned shopping belt of Orchard Road makes it the preferred hotel of choice for many visitors. Boasting some 1,077 guest rooms, each a harmonious blend of comfort and contemporary elegance, they are equipped with broadband Internet access, comprehensive amenities and a panoramic view of the city from the higher floors. A smorgasbord of food and beverage offerings is available throughout the hotel. These include award-winning cuisines from Chatterbox, home of the Mandarin Chicken Rice; Shishen Hanten Sichuan Chinese Restaurant by Chef Kentaro; Triple Three, an international buffet restaurant; Coffee & Crust, a cafe serving tempting cakes, pastries and coffee; and Bar on 5, a chill-out bar five floors above Orchard Road. The hotel also offers expansive meeting and function facilities, making it the ideal choice for meetings, incentives, conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Hotel
Singapore Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing