We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but non-existent concierge service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Ranked #74 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location but non-existent concierge service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location on Orchard Road. Shopping at your doorstep. Our hallway constantly had vacuum cleaners and trolleys at all times of the day. Not really an issue but a bit distracting. The gym is okay - if you can find it! We stayed on the Club Meritus floor and the gym was miles away. I didn't like having to pass the lobby, service lifts and the fire escape to access the gym. The gym had no attendant. Also no floor mats. We wanted to see a show and tried calling the Concierge twice to assist us. There was no answer both times and the duty manager/operator seemed rather non-plussed that a Concierge was unavailable. Not acceptable for a hotel that is meant to be 5 star. As for our room, my pillow case had a gaping hole in it and our bar fridge had a small bug inside. The bathroom only had one towel rack. Nowhere to put your hand towels and other towels. Given the number of other hotels on Orchard Road, we are unlikely to stay here again.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank YLH01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear YLH01,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore. All feedback is important to us; I appreciate your time.

Despite our gym facility being unmanned, a member of staff may be reached for service at any time by using the telephone provided. I have noted your remarks about the yoga mats, and will ensure these are made more visible.

I can only apologise our Concierge was unable to answer your call. I have spoken to our telephone operators and instructed them to ensure a message is taken to ensure a call is returned during our peak periods for your convenience.

I have also ensured our Director of Housekeeping instructs her team on the importance of fully inspecting each room before they are released.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,152
    3,813
    1,512
    526
    293
See reviews for
3,114
1,880
453
2,900
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (626)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Top location for Orchard Road Shopping, basically right in the middle. Room size for Room 2537 was generous and the view was pleasant but not spectacular. Unfortunately the smell of mouldy carpet in the level 25 foyer was a constant reminder that this old girl was ready for a face lift. It was also a bit disappointing to see a vacuum cleaner left in the hallway all day, every day. Obviously the cleaning staff were too lazy to put in away.
We had the expensive buffet in the Triple Three restaurant which I would give a 9 out 10, however I was surprised that the waiter did not know what a "lemon, lime and bitters" was. After waiting at least half an hour for my drink the waiter returned and asked me change my drink order as they could not make my drink.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RustyStainless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear RustyStainless,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your most recent stay. I am sorry to hear about the carpet; I have asked our Housekeeping staff to be more vigilant when checking not only guest rooms, however public areas also to ensure these are well maintained.

I am thrilled you enjoyed our Triple Three restaurant; I have since briefed our Bars Manager on training our team within all F&B outlets.

Thank you again for your review.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business for 5 nights.

Good location. Right smack in the middle of Orchard road beside Takashimaya.

Rooms are typical Mandarin standards.

Breakfast was okay. Gets boring after a week.

Small pool and okay gym.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Bam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Bam M,

Thank you for your comments,

Our breakfast dishes do change frequently and we find we have plenty of choice for our guests, however please do not hesitate to ask if there is something particular you would like and we will do our best to accommodate you.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've just spent 5 nights in a club room. Well worth the upgrade. The hotel is in an excellent location right on Orchard road and near the malls and MRT. The club room entitles you to breakfast, internet, drinks at cocktail hour and the use of the club lounge. It also includes two pieces of laundry per day. For the additional cost this was a no brainer - saved heaps in Internet alone! The service was exceptional in the club - particularly Amin and Stephanie. Would highly recommend the service and the hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the upgrade to the club rooms. Worth every cent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazzie1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Kazzie1409,

Thank you for your great review. I am delighted you enjoyed our Meritus Club rooms and lounge and found it worthwhile and value for money; the exclusive environment enable us to ensure everyone is looked after at all times. Your comments certainly will serve as encouragement to the team to continue their good work.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulladulla, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were more than happy with our stay at this hotel, our room was clean and spacious, the staff were warm and friendly and helped us without our having to ask. Yes the Decor is a little dated but still nice and had a 5 star feel. This is the only hotel in 44 nights away that the air conditioning actually worked well.the staff and there are plenty of them were always ready to ask if they could help. We arrived from an overnight flight at 7:30 am and were able to get to use our room straight away. For the price we paid $230 au a night for a deluxe room, I think it was decent value. We'd stay again and would be happy to recommend it to others.

I had read a couple of the dissatisfied reviews prior and was hoping we'd done the right thing by booking this hotel and we were more than happy and felt that the hotel tied hard to make our stay pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Eric C,

Thank you taking the time to write your review. I am happy to hear you found our team to be friendly and helpful and we were able to ensure your stay was an enjoyable one; we always aim to please with our Asian hospitality.

I look forward to your return visit.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We recently went on a family trip and stayed at this hotel.

Location wise it is smack in the middle of Orchard road and the hotel is attached to a mall. There are a few entrance into the hotel but the main entrance if you are driving is a side road to the main Orchard road. The arrival is on the ground floor and does not have much as the actual lobby is located on the 5th floor. The rooms are located in either of the 2 towers and most common areas lobby, pool (surprisingly small) and restaurants are located on the 5th floor.

On our arrival day there was quite a queue at the check-in desk which might have been due to the school holidays. We had booked the Club rooms so we had the privilege of checking in on the 31st floor, where the club services are located.

Our party had 7 adults and we booked 3 rooms. However we could not be on the same floor as each floor only has one room of this type. The rooms are quite spacious and clean. However I would imagine in 2 years or so the rooms would require some refurbishment. There is a couch and work desk area in the room. The bathroom is spacious as well with a separate bathtub and shower area. For the club rooms there is a DVD player and dock provided for iPod. However the DVD player in our room did not seem to be in a working condition.

The breakfast is served in 2 restaurants on the 5th floor which are actually connected. We were surprised that despite the crowd during the breakfast there was ample space provided for the breakfast. The breakfast buffet was a wide spread and included many Asian and Western dishes. The waiters were helpful and worked efficiently to accommodate the requests of guests.

Since we had the Club rooms we sampled their offerings during tea (3-5 pm) and evening cocktail (6-8 pm). If you had to choose from the 2 I would recommend going for the evening cocktail as the food spread is more and included items like salmon, fresh oysters, satay and pastries. However the Club area is strictly for those above 18 years so be aware of this if you are travelling with kids.

The hotel has a rather early check-out time which is 11am and upon request can be extended to 12pm. However to be fair this may be the reason usually one can check-in before 2pm (subject to availability).

Overall it was a comfortable stay and quite a good hotel. However there is a feel that the hotel is a bit disjointed and this may be due to the hotel being attached to a shopping mall and the different amenities spread across different floors.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveNLetLive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear LiveNLetLive,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore. I have most certainly noted your comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay within the Meritus Club rooms. Our breakfast is also served on the 31st floor for our Meritus Club guests to enjoy.

Thank you again for your comments. I will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong.
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The location is great if you want to shop.
The rooms in the main tower are in need of a good refurbishment . It's a bit shabby for a five star hotel.
We have stayed before but will look else where next time.
Five hundred dollars are taken as a charge from your credit card on check in. ( what for I don't know ) ,On check out told by head receptionist that the $500.00 charge will be refunded but only in about 4 to 5 days.
We had paid fully in advance so why the charge.

Hotel should be only a 4 star max.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear David1z,

Thank you for your review; feedback is always very important to us; I appreciate your time taken to write your comments. As a standard international practise, we take a pre-authorisation to enable you to use the hotel’s facilities whilst you are with us. This may take several days by your bank to cancel despite the hotel cancelling it on the day of departure if not used. I can only apologise if this was not explained to you clearly.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,207 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#86 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,857 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#68 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,256 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Property: Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Address: 333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#67 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Orchard Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1077
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Mandarin Orchard Singapore is a veritable icon in the local hospitality industry, embodying rich Oriental charm. Its prominent location in the heart of the world-renowned shopping belt of Orchard Road makes it the preferred hotel of choice for many visitors. Boasting some 1,077 guest rooms, each a harmonious blend of comfort and contemporary elegance, they are equipped with broadband Internet access, comprehensive amenities and a panoramic view of the city from the higher floors. A smorgasbord of food and beverage offerings is available throughout the hotel. These include award-winning cuisines from Chatterbox, home of the Mandarin Chicken Rice; Shishen Hanten Sichuan Chinese Restaurant by Chef Kentaro; Triple Three, an international buffet restaurant; Coffee & Crust, a cafe serving tempting cakes, pastries and coffee; and Bar on 5, a chill-out bar five floors above Orchard Road. The hotel also offers expansive meeting and function facilities, making it the ideal choice for meetings, incentives, conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Hotel
Singapore Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing