We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Busy Busy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Ranked #71 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Busy Busy Busy”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here for three nights during a recent business trip and thought it was a decent property. The rooms, breakfast and service are all good. But the swimming pool area is small, bland and off the lobby while the gym is some 30 floors away at the top one of the two towers. It feels like an afterthought.

And because this is a very large property - something like 1000 rooms - the public areas are busy all the time. There were always lengthy queues at reception and breakfast was packed every day.

That said, staff are very nice and always do their best to manage every situation. I'd stay here again if the price was right but prefer other parts of town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear TruMarc,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore, all feedback is very important to us and is used for us to continually improve.

Due to the large size of the hotel and the relatively small public areas, we encourage our guests to avoid the queues and use our express check-out facility where your account balance may be viewed and settled within the comfort of your guest room. Alternatively you may settle your account the night prior to departure when the reception is quieter.

I am pleased to say, we operate two restaurant outlets for breakfast, giving our guests the freedom to choose where they dine and to be more comfortable within their surroundings.

I am delighted to hear you found our staff to be friendly. We always aim to deliver our Asian hospitality with grace, warmth and care.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,268
    3,895
    1,527
    528
    297
See reviews for
3,173
1,931
456
2,981
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Mandarin Orchard Singapore locates in the middle of the shopping area, also locates in between MRT Orchard and Somerset stations. It is right on the top of luxury shopping mall Mandarin Gallery. I would say this hotel suits you if shopping is your main objective and you want to relax after shopping and continue shopping again after that.

The room I stayed was clean, spacious, and peaceful even the window is faced to the street. Bathroom is also large and furnished with both a shower stall and a bathtub. Amenities were full set and useful. However, according to my several stays in Singapore, I didn't feel any extraordinary compared to other same level of hotels.

Breakfast was also good and various. You could access to a paid wifi in your room as well as a lan line. Travel by public transportation is very convenient and just only a short walk from nearby transportation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anucha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Anucha T,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore.

I am pleased to hear you found our hotel to be peaceful and clean and the breakfast good with much variety.

We are committed to delivering quality at all times; I know your comments will help us to improve and further enhance our service offering.

I look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

stayed at this hotel during a family trip. we loved the location of the hotel especially since the weather in singapore at that time was very hot.we could easily get out of the hotel and right across are all the shopping malls you need. h & m was just around the corner and if you want cheap food, you can go to 313 sommerset and have a bite at their foodcourt located at the 5th floor. the hotel is near 2 mrt stations and the bus stop is just across the hotel. the service was good except for the checking in system which took a long time. all the staff was really helpful and there was free wifi in the lobby.
overall, we had a great time at this hotel. definitely staying here again when i go back to singapore

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowenalim82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear rowenalim82,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Mandarin Orchard Singapore. It is always a delight to hear when our guests have enjoyed their stay.

I will look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed there for 5-day conference held there in their Mandarin ballrooms. Check-in was smooth (in the evening). Got myself a room at the 13th floor, clean and spacious. Well-equipped as 4-5-star hotel room should. The bed was comfy and the pillows are long like bolsters. Wi-fi was complimentary but had to renew access daily.

Staff were very courteous and friendly.

The room was facing the main road, lined with high street boutiques. But sound of heavy construction nearby could seep thru the windows.

Extensive menu provided for breakfasts and lunches at triple-three. There was no specific halal food so I only took vegetarian/Indian dishes (quite nice), seafood and fruits.

Very good location. Around 15-20 mins away from Changi airport (non peak times). Some 2 blocks away from Takashimaya and other malls. There's a mid-end mall just to its right (Grange road) that houses a 7-11 and a cinema on top floors.

Room rate was high (personally speaking) and I could only stay there for business.

The ballrooms were well-suited for our conference; with effective visual and audio facilities. The tea breaks had great & adequate selection.

Wanted to try the fitness centre but it's located at the main tower, have to pass through the reception lobby to get there from my room.

Overall a pleasant and memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 9dr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear 9dr7,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore. All feedback is read and most certainly noted.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, especially finding our team friendly and courtesy; it is ur aim at all times to serve our guests with grace, warmth and care.

I am pleased you enjoyed our buffet food within Triple Three and the breakfast was nice.

Our Meeting facilities have an AV specialist on site at times to assist whenever required, I do hope you made full use of them during your meetings.

Thank you again for choosing Mandarin Orchard Singapore, I hope we will see you again for business or pleasure again soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong,
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Mandarin has been renovated and is a good mid-level hotel but you need to negotiate - for example, wifi access was $32 per night - totally unacceptable - they made it free. Make sure that breakfast is included in your price. Breakfaxt buffet was extensive - about 4 different international cuisines - and enough food to last you to your evening meal. Outstanding service from every member of staff.

Room Tip: Lot of construction going on in the neighborhood- if there is when you stay there, get a room as far...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ray94903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Ray94903,

Thank you for your comments on you last stay with us. You are right in that we have made our internet Wi-Fi access free within the lobby area thanks to direct feedback from people like you. Although our in-room access is still chargeable, it remains in line with other hotels in Singapore.

I am delighted to hear breakfast was of a good variety and our staff service was outstanding we are committed to delivering Asian hospitality with grace, warmth and care at all times, I am pleased this was something you experienced firsthand.

I will look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Jawa Timur, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very clean n well maintained hotel with superb location for shopper and people who want to get check up at mount e hospital and. Glenagles
Room is clean and spacious
Breakfast is diverse and fresh
Good one!!

Room Tip: Pick the premier room, the double bed is queen instead of regular room which is single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear George H,

Thank you for your comments I am pleased to hear you found Mandarin Orchard Singapore to be clean and well maintained and our breakfast to be wide in variety. I do hope you tried our legendary Chicken Rice in Chatterbox during your stay.

Thank you again for your comments.

I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was my second time to Singapore within the last 6 weeks. Last time I stayed at the Pan PAcfic (Amazing) however this time my friend wanted to stay closer to Orchard Road. This hotel has a great location however is not really value for money.

Room was clean, good size and had great amenities. Our room didnt come with wifi (which it didnt say that through the website that I booked). Our toilet started leaking which they promptly came and fixed. We then told the front desk what had happened and asked if we could have free wifi as a result of this and they willing obligied.

Service in Bar 5 was terrible. We constantly had to follow up orders and they were really slow to bring our check. When we ordered the spring rolls off the menu when they finally arrived there was no sauce when the menu said that it came with soy and chilli sauce. When we asked for it they were surprised that we wanted it.

Room Service was really efficient and super yummy!! If you want to eat in then i highly recommend it.

As we flight arrived late we didnt get to the hotel until about 1:30AM. We told the hotel that we were going to be late and they were provided with the flight details. They obviously read the instructions as they debited my credit card. However when we arrived at the hotel there was no one to great us at the ground floor or to take our bags to reception on the 5th floor. Late check-out is only until 1pm.

Very easy to get a taxi regardless of the time.

Room Tip: Not level 18 as that floor stunk in the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sarah C,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Singapore which is very important to us. It is only through feedback like yours that we can consistently improve; thank you for your time.

I have forwarded your comments with regards to our Bar on 5 to our Food and Beverage Manager who I know will ensure our team is briefed on the importance of attentiveness and further training is given on food service and menu knowledge.

I can only apologise for the toilet leaking, at times glitches do occur; we therefore have engineers for maintenance at hand 24 hours a day to help wherever possible; I am pleased they attended to you quickly.

Whilst our Wi-Fi is chargeable within our guest rooms, as a direct result of guest feedback, our Wi-Fi is now available free of charge within the lobby area, and our in-room access remains at the same rate which is in-line with other hotels in Singapore. I will however bring this as a topic of review during our next meeting.

Thank you again for your comments.

I do hope, that despite your last experiences, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Danny Wong
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#29 of 312 in Singapore
2,353 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#89 of 312 in Singapore
1,800 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#69 of 312 in Singapore
3,366 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Property: Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Address: 333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Orchard Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1077
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Mandarin Orchard Singapore is a veritable icon in the local hospitality industry, embodying rich Oriental charm. Its prominent location in the heart of the world-renowned shopping belt of Orchard Road makes it the preferred hotel of choice for many visitors. Boasting some 1,077 guest rooms, each a harmonious blend of comfort and contemporary elegance, they are equipped with broadband Internet access, comprehensive amenities and a panoramic view of the city from the higher floors. A smorgasbord of food and beverage offerings is available throughout the hotel. These include award-winning cuisines from Chatterbox, home of the Mandarin Chicken Rice; Shishen Hanten Sichuan Chinese Restaurant by Chef Kentaro; Triple Three, an international buffet restaurant; Coffee & Crust, a cafe serving tempting cakes, pastries and coffee; and Bar on 5, a chill-out bar five floors above Orchard Road. The hotel also offers expansive meeting and function facilities, making it the ideal choice for meetings, incentives, conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Hotel
Singapore Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing