We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Ranked #71 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
451 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“expensive but good location”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Stayed here for a week at a business convention. Overall the hotel was OK - nothing particularly special about it - just an average business hotel.

I did find the breakfast pretty good but expensive. The bar was one of the more expensive places in Singapore, but didn't seem out of line with the other hotels some of my party were with.

Would I go back there on another trip - I'd probably try somewhere else first.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefrequenttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear thefrequenttraveller,

Thank you for your feedback, which is very important to us. I am glad you found our breakfast to be of good quality. Our bar, whilst as you mention is in line with others within Singapore, does offer happy hour prices each day of the week with other occasional promotions where drinks may be enjoyed within the comfort of the hotel. I do hope you were able to enjoy these promotional rates during your visit.

Thefrequenttraveller, thank you again for your comments, I hope we may welcome you again soon on your next business trip in Singapore.

Best regards,

Danny Wong,
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,271
    3,896
    1,527
    528
    297
See reviews for
3,174
1,932
457
2,982
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The only thing his Hotel has going for it is location, its in the center of shopping Orchard Road, but there are better choice hotels on the strip that can offer a more pleasant experience. Feels like a train station, very crowded, and need to queue for everything for service from check-in front office, room service, and concierge lobby. Ladies standing around are supposed to be helpful, but they don't know anything. Concierge got my bags mixed up. had to wait even longer.... I agree with the other reviews; impersonal, not great service, staff confusion, not knowledgeable. Stay somewhere else for the same amount.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurnW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear TurnW,

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your latest stay at Mandarin Orchard Singapore; all feedback is always read and most certainly noted; thank you.

During our peak times, the hotel can become busy; however we attempt to keep queue times to a minimum at all times. Our Meritus Ambassadors stationed with the lobby are willing to help with any queries; I can only apologise if this did not happen on this occasion and I will certainly be informing our Front Office Manager to reiterate the need to be attentive at all times.

Thank you again for your feedback. I do hope that despite your experiences, you will give us a chance to show you the Asian hospitality that we are fondly known for.

Best regards,

Danny Wong,
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location but a mediocre hotel. We were on the club floor, the service was OK but the food was bland and uninspired.The rooms were adequate but not great value for money, WiFi connection was good and free. There are much better choices in Singapore for the same money, or less.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank melndeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear melndeb,

Thank you for the review.

I am sorry to hear we were not up to your expectations on this occasion. I have noted your comments with regards to our food options and highlighted this to our chef, who I know will look into this matter.

Despite your last experience within our Club rooms, I do hope that you will not hesitate in giving Mandarin Orchard Singapore another try, where you will be most welcome.

Best regards,

Danny Wong,
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a weekend stay at Mandarin Orchard from 16th Feb to 18th Feb 2013. I was put in the Main Tower (not the renovated tower) and I was still impressed by the furnishings and bedding. Only weird thing was the placing of the TV. It was placed on the far left of the room which means my friend sleeping on the right twin bed could not watch the TV straight. Room space was good and beds are comfortable. Didnt really like the soft pillows. Amenities are well provided.

I had won a free Premier room stay for the first night from a company event and had bought an extension in a Deluxe room for the second night. Upon check-in, the hotel gave me a complimentary upgrade to Premier Room for the second night to save us the hassle of moving rooms. My friend and I greatly appreciated the offer. This shows the generosity of the hotel. Price wise: I spent $253.17 for the Deluxe Room night which I got upgrade. :D

Special thanks to Mr Ian Soh from the front counter for helping us on our breakfast arrangements. :) Breakfast spread is great! From international, chinese, dim sum to indian varieties, they've got almost everyone's appetite covered. Staff are prompt with coffee/tea servings and seating.

I had trouble with the TV and remote control around 6am in the morning. When I called for help, technician arrived within 5 minutes.

Generally, this hotel is good, efficient and helpful. I recommend staying there and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Try the Orchard Wing as they are the newly renovated ones. For slightly bigger room space, go for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann_T87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Joann_T87,

Thank you for your review of the hotel and congratulations on your prize! I am pleased you found our rooms to be comfortable. Our Housekeeping department is available 24 hours a day to assist with any requests you may have, including changing pillows if required. I do hope you were able to make use of this service whilst you were with us.

I have given your comments to Ian’s manager who I know will give him the recognition for his efforts; thank you for highlighting his work.

Joann_T87, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again and you choose to stay at Mandarin Orchard Singapore again in the near future; we would love to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Danny Wong,
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013


The most impressive aspect of my stay at Mandarin Orchard was the service. Two people were especially helpful. Ms Faridah was very helpful in arranging accommodation changes and helping me in the club lounge. Another very helpful employee was Mr Stephen Ong in the engineering maintenance department.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geralgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear geralgreer,

Thank you for your feedback, it is lovely to hear when a member of our team has done well. I will certainly share your comments to encourage both Faridah and Stephen and the rest of the team to continue offering the Asian hospitality our guests have come to know at Mandarin Orchard Singapore.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Danny Wong,
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
96 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel before but this time my experience was much better as I was put in a renovated room. My room had better lighting, new furniture and fixture, improved work area and bathroom. I think I paid almost the same last time and so be sure to ask for an ungraded room. The breakfast buffet has improved but the service was still very rush. I was really impressed by the room service which was very fast (delivered to me in less than 30 minutes every time) and delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgraded room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leydeebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Everywheretraveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences; which are always very useful.

I am delighted you have seen an improvement in our food and beverage operations, including breakfast. We actively listen to what our guests want to help create a better experience for all; thank you for adding your comments also.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong,
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed Feb 14 to 17, 2013. The hotel location is excellent as it is in the middle of the shopping area of Singapore. Restaurants are also within a stone throw away. Nice free breakfast, free wifi internet, free shuttle to Universal Studios (Resorts World Sentosa) for tourist only (just present your passport and borading pass), Just read your billing carefully as we had a double billing. Worth coming back!

Room Tip: Rooms are good in size though bed in twin rooms is really two small beds (single size).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoDeGuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear JojoDeGuia,

Thank you for your review of Mandarin Orchard Hotel. I am pleased to hear you will be returning – it is always nice to see the same face again and again.

Our breakfast caters for all tastes, with cuisines from around the world; I am happy you enjoyed it.

Whilst our wifi is already faster than the world wide average, we are currently undergoing some renovation work to improve stability to enhance our product offering.

Thank you again for your feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Danny Wong,
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#29 of 312 in Singapore
2,354 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#88 of 312 in Singapore
1,801 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 312 in Singapore
7,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#70 of 312 in Singapore
3,367 reviews
Marina Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Property: Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Address: 333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Orchard Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1077
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Mandarin Orchard Singapore is a veritable icon in the local hospitality industry, embodying rich Oriental charm. Its prominent location in the heart of the world-renowned shopping belt of Orchard Road makes it the preferred hotel of choice for many visitors. Boasting some 1,077 guest rooms, each a harmonious blend of comfort and contemporary elegance, they are equipped with broadband Internet access, comprehensive amenities and a panoramic view of the city from the higher floors. A smorgasbord of food and beverage offerings is available throughout the hotel. These include award-winning cuisines from Chatterbox, home of the Mandarin Chicken Rice; Shishen Hanten Sichuan Chinese Restaurant by Chef Kentaro; Triple Three, an international buffet restaurant; Coffee & Crust, a cafe serving tempting cakes, pastries and coffee; and Bar on 5, a chill-out bar five floors above Orchard Road. The hotel also offers expansive meeting and function facilities, making it the ideal choice for meetings, incentives, conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Hotel
Singapore Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing