We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shop,shop,shop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Ranked #71 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Shop,shop,shop”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

It's a great location if you want to shop till you drop. Rooms are beautifully furnished, service is polite and helpful. Even after some mix up with payment, reception remains helpful and offer their computer for me to double check my payment.

The price is a big negative, then again you pay for the best location on Orchard Road

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TramTranTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,247
    3,882
    1,523
    527
    296
See reviews for
3,166
1,922
455
2,970
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nice room, nothing special. Great views (31st floor). Onsite restaurants were outrageous... 2 coca cola lights for $20 SD. I think I am going to stay in the Regent next time. There are better hotels than these two but my company only allows for certain ones. You will not be dissapointed here nor overwhelmed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natural1der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated close to everything. The decor is pleasant and our room was just fine. Stayed for 3 nights whilst at a conference. We would certainly recommend it and will stay again next time we are in Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Located right in the middle of Singapore's shopping paradise - Orchard Road, this hotel from the Meritus chain offers an environment that shoppers and holiday makers would delight in. It is bang opposite the Takashimaya Shopping Centre and has quite a few shops located in and around its ground level. Approximately a 15 minute drive from Singapore Flyer and the Marina Bay area and 25 minutes from Universal Studios, the Hotel gives you several dining options around it to suit most budgets.
The rooms are large, though dull with inadequate lighting and service is nothing to write home about. Buffet breakfasts in the Coffee Shop / Mandarin Court have a distinctly Chinese spread, unlike other hotels in the vicinity which offer a more balanced continental & far-eastern spread. The Mandarin Gallery is a 4 storeyed shopping complex within the Hotel, which can provide comfort to some of the guests.
All in all, fairly expensive for what is on offer. The demand for the location though, probably explains the tariffs.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClubAstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

1 week stay for work in fall of 2011. As mentioned previously, location is superb and right in the center of Orchard road if shopping is part of your itinerary. Rarely ate at the hotel as there are number of more affordable and delicious alternatives nearby. The room was acceptable but the internet speed was poor. Service and hospitality was "A" for effort but "C-" for results.

Example: I had forgotten my adapter (I'm from U.S.) and merely asked if the front desk by chance had a spare. After multiple attempts and numerous trips between my room and the front desk, the 3 different adapters they gave me failed to work. So, I commend them for their effort, but execution resulted in wasting my time.

Generally a fair experience given the reasonable rates. Next time, I'll pay the extra money and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We do stock multi adoptors for the use of our guests, including guests from the USA. In this case, it is hard to ascertain why the adaptoprs did not work. I am aware that time is critical and I do apologize for the inconvenience caused, however, I do hope that you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards

Christoph Szymanski
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

this is my second stay loved more than the first one in 2008 - hotel is conveniently located in Orchard Rd. - great shopping and great restaurants all around - subway station is nearby just a few minutes walk - across the street from the hotel there is The Singapore Tourist Office where you can get brochures and information from kind staff.
We spent there two nights only but we enjoyed every single moment - rooms are clean and comfortable - and the quality of food at the buffet breakfast is superior - staff is very helpful and professional

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtwtraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JB
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on 26 December 2011 with 3 year old son and a pregnant wife. The check in was excellent and helpful. We came earlier that the standard check in time and the hotel let us to check in early at 12 pm.

The room is clean albeit small. The towels unfortunately have damp odour. We didnt bother to change it since we brought our own. However, find it funny for a 5 stars hotel providing smelly towels.

Heavily pregnant wife had difficulty in waiting during the check in and check out due to the non existence of chairs. Hotel should consider having special counter for family with children, senior citizen and of course pregnant ladies.

The hotels should also consider having swimming pool that are friendly kids since I noticed that there are many families with children decided to stay here.

Would have been better if the hotel is friendly to pregnant mothers and families with children.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nudams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_Orchard, General Manager at Mandarin Orchard Singapore, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Dear Nudams,

Thank you for your compliment on the service you received at check in. You have mentioned the absence of chairs in our Lobby; I apologize that my team members in the Lobby did not invite your wife to have a seat at Coffee & Crust whilst you checked in. I have provided my Laundry with your feedback that the towels had a damp smell. Presently, we do random checks to make sure that the towels smell fresh. Thank you for your feedback & we look forward to your return.

Best Regards,

Christoph Szymanski
Hotel Manager
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#87 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Orchard Road
Hotel Jen Orchardgateway Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,024 reviews
Orchard Road
Orchard Hotel Singapore
Orchard Hotel Singapore
#68 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,326 reviews
Orchard Road
Holiday Inn Singapore Orchard City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Orchard Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Orchard Singapore

Property: Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Address: 333 Orchard Road, Singapore 238867, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Business Hotel in Singapore
#54 Family Hotel in Singapore
#60 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#65 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Orchard Singapore 5*
Number of rooms: 1077
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1971, Mandarin Orchard Singapore is a veritable icon in the local hospitality industry, embodying rich Oriental charm. Its prominent location in the heart of the world-renowned shopping belt of Orchard Road makes it the preferred hotel of choice for many visitors. Boasting some 1,077 guest rooms, each a harmonious blend of comfort and contemporary elegance, they are equipped with broadband Internet access, comprehensive amenities and a panoramic view of the city from the higher floors. A smorgasbord of food and beverage offerings is available throughout the hotel. These include award-winning cuisines from Chatterbox, home of the Mandarin Chicken Rice; Shishen Hanten Sichuan Chinese Restaurant by Chef Kentaro; Triple Three, an international buffet restaurant; Coffee & Crust, a cafe serving tempting cakes, pastries and coffee; and Bar on 5, a chill-out bar five floors above Orchard Road. The hotel also offers expansive meeting and function facilities, making it the ideal choice for meetings, incentives, conventions and exhibitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mandarin Orchard Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Orchard Singapore Hotel Singapore
Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Singapore
Meritus Mandarin Hotel
Singapore Mandarin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing