We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother staying here”
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Furama RiverFront
Ranked #93 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2007

Having travelled extensively around South East Asia for many years, this hotel rates as one of the worst hotels we have experienced.

Upon checking in my wife and I were advised by the reception staff that all of our credit cards had been rejected, only to find out after leaving Singapore that the card details for all cards had been entered incorrectly by the hotel staff. Upon entering our room, which was of an average standard, we discovered that there was no mini bar. Also, there was a constant sound of a jack hammer coming into our room from the renovations occuring in another part of the hotel. This noise continued for lengthy periods throughout our four day stay at the hotel.

As there was nothing to drink in our room we departed for the lobby bar, which had happy hour from 5 pm to 8 pm every day, however, this only applied to beer and mocktails. The staff working in this bar were most unpleasant and walked around with a scowl on their faces for most of the time. To order a drink was difficult, as the staff in this area were too busy or could not care less if you had a drink or not. On one occasion I attempted to order a drink and I gave up after 15 minutes without success.

When we looked around the hotel to purchase water and other items we discovered that the shops in the hotel were not open on weekends, which was inconvienent having stayed over a weekend and given the hotel is located in an isolated area.

Each time we ventured from the hotel we had difficulty getting a taxi to return to the right hotel and on two occasions we were delivered to the Furama City, located near Clarke Quay. We discovered that the hotel had been renamed from the Apollo Hotel to the Furama, which obviously has confused the local taxi fraternity.

When checking out of the hotel we again attempted to have our credit cards accepted, to no avail. Therefore, we had to cash in our Australian dollars to settle the account. When the conversion to Singapore dollars was completed we were disgusted to find that the conversion was at a $1.08 Singapore for each Australian dollar. We had not received anything under a $1.20 anywhere else during our stay in Singapore. Amongst the frustration now being experienced and after settling the account, the cashier now advised us that the final amount was incorrect as they had overcharged us for breakfast (already paid for when booking our travel).

If you are considering staying at this hotel, please do yourself a favour and look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mason05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,100 - 2,106 of 2,450 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2007

We stayed at this hotel one night in April. The standard room was comfortable and quiet roomy. Its location is not within walking distance to any MRT station. We needed to catch taxi in and out. A few restaurants by the riverfront are however within the walking distance. A night club is next door. Though it's not for me, it does not disturb my stay.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ECAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2007

This hotel was superb, stopped off for a 2 night break enroute to Melbourne with our 2 daughters who are 12 and 4, the concierge were fantastic with the kids.

Hotel really was sparkling clean inside, had booked 2 seperate rooms but the staff when they saw we had a young child changed our rooms to interconnecting rooms, rooms were very spacious and extremley clean.

The hotel is a taxi ride away from Orchard Road but the taxis are so cheap. Entertainment was in place in the bar area the evenings we were there. Staff were wonderful with us and the children, would definetley go back to this hotel, would say it was more a 5 star than 4 star. Top marks from us!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank jhaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sunnyhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2007

The rooms here are very small in the family suite (even number rooms). We were put in a horrible smoking room on the 9th floor to start with - even after I had phoned the hotel to make sure that we had a Non-smoking room. After we complained they moved us to a room on the 13th floor (1315,1317) These rooms were quite nice except the airconditioning unit is outside the window and makes a very loud noise.

We then had a nice stay and the pool area at the hotel is one of the best I have seen is Singapore - pool is huge and nice spa attached.

Service was great and the foyer staff excellant.

We then returned 10 days later and once again given horrible little rooms (1202 1204) for 6 people. These even number rooms are just way to small for a family of 6 compared to the odd number rooms.They state in the brouchure Family suite in Tower wing.... well all it is, is two rooms adjoining and that is it....

I loved the pool here and would tell families to stay just for the pool area, but make sure you get odd number rooms in the tower wing on the non-smoking floors otherwise you will be very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank beaverwillows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

Room was well used, but very clean, bathroom was a good size, staff were wonderful. The restaurants provided very good food at a reasonable price. The hotel is situated a few minutes walk from the River, and it was a lovely walk at night, with all the bars restaurants, trinket shops, and the lovely lightis. Taxis are very very cheap, so it doesn't matter that the Hotel is'nt situted nearer town, we didn't find this a problem. On the whole I would certainly recommend this Hotel as it was clean, staff friendly, and reasonably priced. The rooms also had ironing facilities,

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank patsyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank bncf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama City Centre
#298 of 319 in Singapore
2,630 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#16 of 319 in Singapore
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $115 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing