We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little overrated hotel”
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Furama RiverFront
Ranked #93 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We spent one night in this hotel. I was coming from Bali, and the next day there was a connecting flight to Bangkok. The reception was not especially friendly. The clerk was very tired feeling, and the service was according to it. Wifi was free of charge. Room small and the bathroom as well. The breakfast was quite good, although the service there was very stiff. I appreciate the hotel for up to three-star worthy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seti55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,526 - 1,532 of 2,483 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2014

I used to stay at this hotel semi-regularly in the past and always found the staff very friendly and caring (particularly on one occasion when a family member seemed to be seriously ill and staff were extremely compassionate).

While I've been staying at other places in Singapore more recently, I saw a very good rate here and decided to book it. Service is still good although I felt like it has gone down a notch or two from what I remember.

Rooms are fairly average - not particularly spacious or exciting, but functional and clean and reasonable for the price.

The charge to use the Internet was rather extortionate, especially for a first-world place like Singapore... The daily rate was around 20% of the room rate itself.

Location of this hotel is a bit of a let-down too. I always think it is "near" various things but that typically means at least 10 minutes walk, e.g. to the great cafes along the river at Robertson Quay, or to the nearest MRT, or to Chinatown. 10 minutes can seem like a long way in the Singapore midday sun, so expect to either get hot and tired or to take a few taxis here and there (which are at least quite affordable in Singapore).

I don't expect to return to Furama again, probably not even if I see a very good room rate again. While the service was a bit less than I was expecting, the biggest turn-off was actually the Internet charge. Many cheaper Singapore hotels have free wifi now; and at most of the 5-star hotels I have status to get Internet included free (even if they normally have an extortionate charge for it). By the time you add in Internet costs and breakfast, this is no longer really such a bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterPugz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Have been staying here for over 3 times and has been consistantly good. Very attentive hotel staffs and great breakfast. Great for family with infant.

Down side is the location. The closest mall is around 15 mins walk away and hard to find food at night.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Clarissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We booked the executive room which came with evening access to drinks and snacks in the executive lounge. The greatest staff are there to make sure you make the most of it and their smiles will have you coming in every night. Breakfast is nice too. Really enjoyed it.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our stay here was part of my 21st birthday gift to my daughter Yusrah. We enjoyed our stay entirely. The staff was very friendly and when informed of the reason for our stay they organised a birthday gift signed by all the staff. We chose the executive package and were really treated with executive service. The breakfast was 5star.

Room Tip: Choose executive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shubby07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

I booked the courtyard club at Furama Riverfront after peaking at online pics for a short staycation. It was everything we expected and more. Check-in was fast and efficient. we were then escorted to our room which was incredible. the bathtub was nice and deep with a separate modern shower. the attached terrace was nice and big and a back door led to the pool area.
room service was efficint and we also received a plate of fresh fruits to the rm - compliments of the hotel...
We did not wanna leave out room at all... BUT since we booked the club room - we were invited to the executive lounge from 6-8pm for cocktails and delicious snacks. the ladies there were exceptionally service oriented and super friendly.
buffet bfast had a wide variety. overall - worth the money spent and we wud def be back again

Room Tip: choose the club rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Thasha1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Our stay here was great. The check-in staff were top class, very friendly and knowledgeable. Our room was well appointed, very clean and super quiet. The facilities at this hotel are excellent. The restaurant and bars were great, the gym was fantastic and the concierge and lobby staff outstanding. The only negatives was the lack of free internet (most hotels now provide this) and the complete lack of sitting space in the lobby (only one small area that seats about 6).
Overall, a great hotel, well priced and thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Dashman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama City Centre
#296 of 317 in Singapore
2,652 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Quays
Grand Copthorne Waterfront Hotel
The Quays
Novotel Singapore Clarke Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $108 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing