We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff needs more training”
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Furama RiverFront
Ranked #102 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Staff needs more training”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Met a friend there today and felt that the staff definitely need more training.

In the dining room, a bus boy came by at the end of breakfast service, to clear plates. He was overzealous not just once, but thrice -- (1) he attempted to remove a plate when we were clearly still eating as we were holding on to our fork and knives above the plate, (2) removing a full glass of juice that was placed squarely in front of a guest of an already-cleared table, (3) removing a half-drunk glass of juice of a guest, in mid-conversation of the guest.

Also saw a manager in the lobby admonish a guest, who was checking out, for leaving a suitcase in the middle of a corridor. It was blocking the corridor and the manager attempted to move it, but the guest didn't realize it and ask that the manager leave the suitcase. This was when the manager admonished the guest loudly -- I walked past and could hear the irritation in the manager's voice and see the embarrassment on the guest's face. I thought that wasn't right -- he should have moved the suitcase for the guest with a smile, and then explain politely to the guest.

Just some observations and feedback for the management.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ttmjdew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Ttmjdew,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review. We are appalled to hear of your experiences. We do not condone such behavior of our staff and have since counseled those involved. Additionally, we have also reiterated to our team the importance of our soft skills as well as always placing our guests first.

Once again, we thank you for your sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    949
    417
    109
    91
See reviews for
449
831
149
487
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We have booked the executive room after reading the reviews here about standard room being not so great. The executive room is well maintained and has all the amenities you need. Since we booked through hotel website we got the internet free of charge. Tge good thing about executive room is the fact that you will have cocktails and drinks every evening with some cheese and finger foods.
the location wise it is pretty close to the river but does not have a view. so if you walk pass the street to the river you can easily walk along the river where there are many restaurants located with varieties of food abd drinks. You can also take a boat taxi to marina bay sands easily jus look for the stations along the river.
The

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlirezaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Mr AlirezaSG,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your Furama Experience. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Executive Club was certainly the right choice, with its complimentary broadband internet access and cocktail hour at the Executive Lounge every evening.

Once again, we thank you for your kind words and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wuhan, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

From the moment I arrived the same doorman greeted me and remembered my face from 4 years ago. Swift and professional check in. A spacious room with all facilities. Service staff are well trained.
The bread products on breakfast buffet could be better, but I guess its hard to find good bakers these days. Hehe. Still they have a good spread of other items to enjoy. I personally dislike seeing the service stations bulked up before being sent to the kitchen and have to remark that the restaurant appeared a little understaffed to handle the tea and coffee service efficiently.
Overall i enjoyed my stay and will come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zhuang888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Zhuang888,

Happy Lunar New Year and Gong Xi Fa Cai!
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your Furama experience. We are delighted to have welcomed you back with us and we have noted your constructive comments.

Once again, we wish you prosperity in this year of the horse and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

There are cheaper places around but if you have the money, you will love it here. Everything is great but unless you select a combo deal, you end up paying up to 25 Singapore $$ for 24 hours! Same goes for breakfast, don't assume it comes with room always. Best is to look at their website directly and go through their current offers. Food and drinks are expensive here. The room can cost around $ (Sing) 185 per night! I'm glad I was part of a conference here and didn't actually pay for it myself.
The location is great. Loads of places for food, shopping and fun around, including the 10 minute walk away Chinatown.

Room Tip: Choose your room sensibly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sohamsnakefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Sohamsnakefreak,

Thank you for taking the time to share your Furama experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we totally agree that our website is the best place to find out more information about us.

Once again, we thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for 7 nights and while initially we thought the room was not great (signs of wear} it was clean. What really impressed us was the executive club, the benefits of upgrading are worth every bit. Happy hour at the club, peaceful breakfast, internet access and outstanding service from the executive club hostesses. They remembered out names and even what our order was from the previous evening when we arrived for drinks. In fact all staff service was 5 star.

Helpful?
2 Thank SailGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear SailGoldCoast,

Thank you for taking the time to share with your fellow travellers your Furama experience. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once more, thank you for the awesome review and we look forward to welcoming you back with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Overall is good, room clean,big even little bit old.. the staff is friendly and helpful.. breakfast also good,many variety of food..they even have indonesian food..good for traveller from indonesia. One think is if you need to go to mrt station, you need walk around 10 -15 minutes to the nearest station call outerm park station.. beside this hotel they are ktv for karaoke that i think always full and crowded in the weekend.. this hotel recommend for bussines traveller i think

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Bagus S,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We have taken note of your constructive comments and are working to improve ourselves.

Once more, we thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We booked two rooms for a 5 day family holiday. One room for myself my wife and our grandson, travelling from UK. The second room for my son his wife and their son travelling from Australia. What an absolute con, both rooms were on the 8'th floor, ours had a double bed and a single bed, with one bedside light for us all. The room was tiny, grubby with mould on the bathroom tiles. The carpet was tacky and marked. My sons room had three single beds in it almost like a barrack block. He touched one of the cupboard doors and it fell off. I went to the reception to complain, and was told I could fill in a complaint form. I demanded to see the on call manager. After much discussion , and me complaining quite loudly about the quality of the rooms, and the price we had paid for them. The manager reluctantly agreed to upgrade us, to rooms that were up to the expected standard.

Room Tip: Do NOT book a superior room on the 8'th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John5202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Mr John5202,

Thank you for your taking the time to share with us your constructive comments. We apologise for the inconvenience experienced and have looked into your issues raised.

Once again, thank you for your constructive feedback and we hope this singular experience does not mar your impression of our brand. We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back with us soon for a true Furama Experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama City Centre
#264 of 312 in Singapore
2,592 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Property: Furama RiverFront
Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing