We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Furama RiverFront
Ranked #111 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Despite the so-so reviews, I took my chances and booked it through Asia Rooms.I specifically asked for a non smoking room with a king sized bed, and true enough, they did put my requests into account.We stayed in the 17th floor and it turns out this was one of the rooms newly renovated.
The Good:
1- Despite the old facade, the rooms are quite good.We mostly stay in boutique and small hotels and the renovated rooms are up to par with the boutique ones.

2-Mid-priced range hotel

3-Location is excellent as Great World City is just a few minutes walk.Just be sure to slap on some mosquito lotion if you're prone to mosquito bites as the road is lined with shrubbery and quite moist especially after rains.

4-they offer child minding services as long as you book 6 hours advance and book for at least 3 hours.

5-in room dining was quite good.the nasi goreng was a bit too spicy for me.Most are generously sized portions for those days or nights you simply can't be bothered to eat out.

6-Toiletry is Crabtree and Evelyn.Better than Molton Brown which most hotels use nowadays.They even provide new ones once they see a bottle is halfway empty.

Needs improvement:
1-the carpeting in the room isn't impressive.it's the same carpeting in the hallways and it always look damp and moist.They renovated all right but they need to do the same with their flooring.

2-The laundry self service is quite expensive! It's irritating as well that it only takes 1 SGD coins.You have to have a lot of coins as the machine costs 8 SGD per load and another 8 SGD for the dryer (believe me, you will need this, especially if you travel with a toddler and / or pack light).Maybe a token that would take bills and dispense change beside it would be good.The only thing they don't charge is detergent use. Still, cheaper than if you have it done by them.

Room Tip: They are quite attentive to requests to be put into a smoking/non smoking rooms but if it is importa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineDalo3a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Ms NadineDalo3a,

We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for sharing with us your feedback on our performance and as it is important to us, we have shared it with our relevant departments.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with us at Furama RiverFront in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    904
    399
    104
    85
See reviews for
406
776
143
468
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on 2 business trips and rate it as above average. The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable with good size beds, bathroom are clean and well serviced. Generally I like coming to the hotel as it is relaxing and not too far from the shopping areas. Restaurant food and room service is good and well presented.

Two very minor niggles (but I'm getting old so it's just me) At busy breakfast periods do not expect to get served tea or coffee as it is a very busy restaurant. I tended to go to the waiter station and help myself rather than wait. Mind you on my 10th and final day I did get served at the table. The piped music is a little annoying, I really find endless panpipe renditions of the thorn birds very annoying - call me Victor Meldrew if you want!. Other than that I would recommend the hotel for the wonderful welcome - well done the Furama Riverfront, you deserve the awards you continually receive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SingaporeMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear SingaporeMagoo,

Thank you for sharing with us that you feel we are your home away from home. We have shared your comments with our relevant departments and apologise for the inconvenience experienced.

Once again, we thank you for sharing with us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Hotel was very clean & well presented. It was very central to the Shopping in Singapore as well as all the attration. Great World City Shopping Plaza is just 2 minutes from the hotel - this is a small but has everything shopping centre. We had the refurbished Exective rooms with a stand up shower. That is one thing I don't like in many hotes in Singapore - is that you have to climb into the bath for a shower!

Room Tip: If you are wanting a stand up shower - you need to request this
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Joanne R,

Thank you for sharing with us your feedback. We are elated to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in our Executive Club.

Once again we would like to express our gratitude and we look forward to welcoming you back with us again in the near future.

Ps. Some Singaporean advice, visit Singapore’s shopping mecca, Orchard Road, just 5 minutes from Furama RiverFront for a truly awesome shopping experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I have just returned from a 7 night stay, with colleagues delivering some training elsewhere in Singapore. We had Executive rooms. Mine was on the City side and I watched the sunrise over the city through my 19th floor window.
A massive room, with a bed about 8 feet wide! Slightly odd at first to find the bathroom/shower/toilet in a glass room, then I found the privacy blinds - no problem when alone, but there are some things I really don't want to be watching my wife doing! The shower was outstanding, one of those rainforest drench thingies with plenty of hot water; the bath was never used.
Well equipped room but the thing that made the difference was access to the Executive Lounge throughout the day. Less busy for breakfast, and although the range is adequate it is not as wide as in the restaurant and so they will bring anything that you want from the main restaurant. A meeting room that we took advantage of one day for a planning session. The highlight is free drinks from 6 'til 8 - well worth it in SG where alcohol is expensive - accompanied by more sushi and dim sum than you can eat (we even missed dinner one night deciding that sushi, dim sum, fruit, mini-desserts and cheese in the lounge was enough. The staff were outstanding, as they were throughout the hotel. You get free 24hr internet (wired and wifi) for your executive rate as well. Our deal even had 3 pieces of washing per day f.o.c!

All in all an excellent stay and a thoroughly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms ovdrlooking the city have the best view, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeoffR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mr GeoffR,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and it was certainly our pleasure to have you with us. Once again, we would like to express our gratitude for sharing with us your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

It's an O.K. hotel, but it is kind of annoying that they wanted to charge me $25 to access the Internet. Seriously? I moved out automatically since the floor carpet seemed to have a life of it's own. If that happens to you go to the hotel right next to it, they were super friendly and gave me unlimited access to their wifi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank locodelacolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear locodelacolina,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your review. We are disheartened to hear to your experience with us and we hope it has not marred your impression of our brand. Once again, we thank you for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Yes.Furama Riverfront is about the location.Down the main road,you have your bustops and cab picks.So,you wanna go around,the location is indeed nice.
I agree with few other reviewers.It ain't a hop-skip-jump to Clarke Quay or China Town.It looks near,but not when you get to walking.
The reception and our check-in was smooth and clean.
The service wasn't impressive.
The rooms were strictly ok.They were small.I could see dust ingress on the aircon vents,the bathroom fittings weren't impressive.You put up the shower and you would have the entire bathroom floor flooded.The bathtubs,were old,the drain ports were out.
They do not have much vegetarian options( ONly 3 on the menu).Service was slow.Had ordered a sandwich and it took forever to come,w/o any dips.
When we ordered the same sandwich in the restaurant,we were refused.Saying,we can't make a veg sandwich.When we informed,that you guys did deliver in the room,she went off to the kitchen and then said they can do it.So much for a sandwich,w/o meat.Didn't understand the high degree of customisation it takes on it.
In any case,the breakfast buffet was ok,but again,there weren't much veg options.All I can say is they had a good variety.
The wi-fi was bad.When we called the operator,she said,she will get the reception to handle and transferred.I held on to the phone forever.Again I called,again she transferred,but to no reply.When I finally got to speak to the reception,she gave an extension no. and asked me to speak to the IT !!!.. Now,that wasn't cool.You don't ask a guest to call up the IT and work on it.!!

We had to leave on an emergency,a day before.I was charged with the next day.Well,that's their policy,so can't say much.But,I would have liked some flexibility,since the hotel wasn't full.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy_Gates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Sandy_Gates,

Thank you for sharing with us your comments on our performance. We are disheartened to read of your experiences and we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences. Please rest assured that we have taken corrective measures to ensure these incidents do not recur. We have also shared your feedback with our team to look into the issues that were raised.

We hope these incidences do not mar your impression of our brand. Once again, we would like to express our gratitude for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Arrives to a cacophany of sound and excitement with Happy Hour in full swing. Room large and comfortable and service excellent. Great buffet dinner with sashimi, shellfish and salads. Delicious!
Downside is they charge $25 per day for internet in the room. Crazy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mr Simon H,

Thank you for sharing with us your review of our property. We are overjoyed to hear you have enjoyed our buffet and we have shared your comments with our relevant departments.

Once again, please let us express our gratitude for your feedback and we certainly look forward to having you back with us at Furama RiverFront.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama City Centre
#45 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
The Quays
Studio M Hotel
Studio M Hotel
#121 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Property: Furama RiverFront
Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing