We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a stopover”
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Furama RiverFront
Ranked #101 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just a stopover”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

On our way to Bali we had a stopover in Singapore.
We have to credit the Furama Hotel for there absolut super and perfect service.
We can' find fault with there staf and would give them all the credit for our perfect stat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieneke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Dieneke, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am delighted that you found your stay with us superb. Allow me once again to express my sincere gratitude and we wish you a fantastic holiday ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    948
    417
    109
    91
See reviews for
448
831
149
486
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our 3 day stay here and would stay again but only if we could get a deal including an executive room (at the minimum) and breakfast at a good rate. Not as good as we were expecting but mainly because of the standard of the rooms. Upon arrival we were told we were in a smoking room...when I said that wasn't acceptable, we were upgraded to an Executive room from a Superior room. The room was clean but a little tired and in need of a refurb...thank goodness we were 'upgraded' or I'm sure we would have been seriously disappointed. Food in the hotel was expensive so we only paid for breakfast for convenience...$29 per head...but had a very good selection to choose from. Drinks in the bar also expensive. As we were a family...the third bed was shoe horned in...left very little room to move around in or put suitcases. Staff were polite and very helpful.

Room Tip: Don't go for a basic 'superior' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Mr Tim, thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I read with dismay that we have fallen short of our promise to deliver. Let me reiterate that guest satisfaction is our top priority and as such, failing to meet your expectations is unacceptable. Please do allow me to extend my sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced. I have shared your concerns with the relevant departments and we are working on ironing out all the issues. I am glad to hear that you found that our breakfast selection very good. Once again, please do allow me to extend my sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced and my gratitude for your time in writing this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Singapore is really expensive, and this hotel was suggested as a good mid-range option. Stayed here for 1 night in September as an overnight stop on the trip to Europe, stayed 2 nights on the return journey in October.

Reception staff are helpful and professional, but seem burdened by excessive paperwork for any transaction. Housekeeping staff were very helpful.

WiFi only accessible in public areas such as the Lounge and by the pool, but not in rooms. Very limiting. Access is purchased in 1/2hr or 1hr blocks, and is expensive. For a hotel that promotes itself to business travellers, this is really not good enough in 2012.

Rooms - travelling as family of four, requested interconnecting or adjacent rooms when I booked 9 months prior. On arrival the first time, they claimed to have no knowledge of this request. Our room (15th floor) was very small, outdated, bed as hard as a rock, had one small window on which green slime was growing outside (ok, it's a tropical spot, but it clearly had not been cleaned for a very long time). The overall cleanliness left a lot to be desired. Our daughters' room had fungus growing in the shower, although the room overall was larger and had better natural light than ours. On the basis of this visit, we could not recommend this hotel to anyone.

On checking out, asked staff to verify that they had our request for interconnecting or adjacent rooms for our return visit. They could not identify a booking, let alone confirm they had our specific request. (Had to call our travel agent back in Oz to get that sorted!)

On our return, arrived in Singapore at 5.30am after flight from Rome. Had called the hotel while in Rome to see if they could provide early check-in. They said they would note it, but no guarantees (fair enough). When we arrived at hotel at about 6.30, they advised they might be able to give us access to our rooms by mid-morning. After falling asleep in their Lounge, finally was able to get into rooms at 10.30am, which we appreciated. These rooms on the 16th floor were significantly better than those provided on the previous visit, but the beds were still rock hard. Rooms were cleaner, which was appreciated.

Try to sleep during the day ... expect the hum of jackhammers to accompany you. Try to sleep before 2am, noise from the nightclub next door will keep you company.

This hotel claims to have won an award for best mid-range hotel in Singapore. If this is genuinely the case, then I dread the thought of the rest.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayCBendigo_Aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear KayCBendingo_Aust,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I read with dismay your review and apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Allow me to share that the safety and security are one of our top priorities, as such we abide by the “Chapter 127, Hotels Act” of the Singapore Government. With regards to our WiFi coverage, we have recently retrofitted the entire hotel with a new batch of access-points and have tested the system in every room to ensure a healthy WiFi connection. Having said this however, guest satisfaction is one of our core values that we are committed to. Should you have had any issues we would have been more than happy to render our assistance.

As for the issue of not being able to identify your booking and your request for interconnecting or adjacent rooms, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced. I have personally done an investigation, however there was no success in retrieving your booking. Perhaps, it is because your TripAdvisor username was not used when you made a booking with us. Having said this however allow me to share a little on how certain travel agents and hotel relationships work. When a travel agent receives a booking by a client for an airline package, they take in the booking and once they have attained a certain number of bookings, they then make a reservation for the total number of rooms with the hotel. This reservation is not in the name of the guest; instead it is in the name of the travel agent. The travel agent will then only send in the rooming list along with the special requests 2 days prior to the group’s arrival. This might explain the incident that we were not able to confirm your second booking with us.

Once again, please do accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

They wanted to give us a smoking room when we wanted a non-smoking room. They upgraded us to an Executive room which I was excited about but once we got in it was pretty disappointing. The walls were dirty and neon green (!), the spot lights were old and had pieces falling off onto the bed, the sink was right next to the bed so there was no privacy and the showers for lack of a better word was confusing with its taps. The bed was firm and comfortable the only positive. We had access to the Exec lounge where they were reluctant to give us wifi because we were upgraded and were not entitled to the service. They gave it to us after one of the girls gave it. Poor attitude. The swimming pool was noisy, renovation went through late hours, The room had broadband so you could connect on your laptop and it was ONLY when laptop use switched off that the same code could be used on our iPad. iPhones could not get connected. It is a 10 minute walk from the Robertson Quay where you can get a bite.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel, I would not go there even after it gets renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idurdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear idurdag,

Thank you for you invaluable feedback. Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies. I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments and have embarked on a thorough exercise to rectify and improve on the room condition. With regards to the use of our broadband internet, all passwords given are for singular devices. I have shared with our staff that many of our executive guests travel with more than one internet capable device, as such, they should highlight that each password is only good for one device and they should inquire as to how many passwords the guest requires for their stay. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and I sincerely hope we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was the hotel offered to me in a Stopover Holiday package.
Appears to be in an unremarkable area but helpful door staff directed me to riverfront and short walk to centre
Impressive on arrival the lobby is palacial,
Rest of the Hotel is very shabby doesn't feel clean as you would expect.Carpets stained and maybe it was the room that came with the deal a little shabby.
Any hotel that makes you pay for WI FI is not all it is trying to be

Room Tip: had to pay for breakfast in my deal, I ate elsewhere on principle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timtysonshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Timtysonshort,

I read with disappointment your review of our property. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience experienced. I have shared your concerns with the relevant departments and they have begun work on the areas you have pointed out. Rest assured that all efforts have been made to rectify the situation as such conditions are unacceptable by Furama RiverFront’s standard. Once again, I would like to thank you for your review and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 2nights on the way back to Australia from Europe. Perfect location for a stopover, the Staff were very helpful, hotel facilities were excellent and very very clean. It is easy to get around from here with the hop-on-hop-off buses stopping next door. Chinatown is close by and although you could walk the roads are busy so we took a cab.

We ate in Chinatown the first night and had planned on going out for dinner the second night but there was a huge storm so we stayed in and were very glad we did as the dinner buffet was excellent value and the range of food and the freshness could not be beaten - better value than the Chinatown restaurant we ate at the night before.

The Furama Riverfront is a good choice to stopover and explore Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGem010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear AussieGem010,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you for dinner on the night of the storm as it was a really bad one. Once again, thank you for this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A very tired, musty, raggedy hotel with a beautiful entry way, lobby, and dining area. Our room was small, musty, ragged dirty carpet. Hallway was dark, dirty and also musty. Really needs serious upgrade. No clock. Inconvenient location. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iquilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear iquilt,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced. We believe that all rooms should be clean and fresh-smelling. I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments and we have taken your room out of the inventory for servicing. Please rest assured that we doing our utmost to ensure that this does not happen again. Once again, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama City Centre
#265 of 312 in Singapore
2,586 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Property: Furama RiverFront
Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing