We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is under renovation- noise, dust and struggling atmosphere”
Review of Furama RiverFront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Furama RiverFront
Ranked #99 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It is under renovation- noise, dust and struggling atmosphere”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

They wanted to give us a smoking room when we wanted a non-smoking room. They upgraded us to an Executive room which I was excited about but once we got in it was pretty disappointing. The walls were dirty and neon green (!), the spot lights were old and had pieces falling off onto the bed, the sink was right next to the bed so there was no privacy and the showers for lack of a better word was confusing with its taps. The bed was firm and comfortable the only positive. We had access to the Exec lounge where they were reluctant to give us wifi because we were upgraded and were not entitled to the service. They gave it to us after one of the girls gave it. Poor attitude. The swimming pool was noisy, renovation went through late hours, The room had broadband so you could connect on your laptop and it was ONLY when laptop use switched off that the same code could be used on our iPad. iPhones could not get connected. It is a 10 minute walk from the Robertson Quay where you can get a bite.

Room Tip: Do not choose this hotel, I would not go there even after it gets renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idurdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear idurdag,

Thank you for you invaluable feedback. Please allow me to extend my sincere apologies. I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments and have embarked on a thorough exercise to rectify and improve on the room condition. With regards to the use of our broadband internet, all passwords given are for singular devices. I have shared with our staff that many of our executive guests travel with more than one internet capable device, as such, they should highlight that each password is only good for one device and they should inquire as to how many passwords the guest requires for their stay. Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused and I sincerely hope we would have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    958
    418
    114
    92
See reviews for
460
839
149
493
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was the hotel offered to me in a Stopover Holiday package.
Appears to be in an unremarkable area but helpful door staff directed me to riverfront and short walk to centre
Impressive on arrival the lobby is palacial,
Rest of the Hotel is very shabby doesn't feel clean as you would expect.Carpets stained and maybe it was the room that came with the deal a little shabby.
Any hotel that makes you pay for WI FI is not all it is trying to be

Room Tip: had to pay for breakfast in my deal, I ate elsewhere on principle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timtysonshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Timtysonshort,

I read with disappointment your review of our property. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience experienced. I have shared your concerns with the relevant departments and they have begun work on the areas you have pointed out. Rest assured that all efforts have been made to rectify the situation as such conditions are unacceptable by Furama RiverFront’s standard. Once again, I would like to thank you for your review and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed for 2nights on the way back to Australia from Europe. Perfect location for a stopover, the Staff were very helpful, hotel facilities were excellent and very very clean. It is easy to get around from here with the hop-on-hop-off buses stopping next door. Chinatown is close by and although you could walk the roads are busy so we took a cab.

We ate in Chinatown the first night and had planned on going out for dinner the second night but there was a huge storm so we stayed in and were very glad we did as the dinner buffet was excellent value and the range of food and the freshness could not be beaten - better value than the Chinatown restaurant we ate at the night before.

The Furama Riverfront is a good choice to stopover and explore Singapore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieGem010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear AussieGem010,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are elated to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to host you for dinner on the night of the storm as it was a really bad one. Once again, thank you for this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A very tired, musty, raggedy hotel with a beautiful entry way, lobby, and dining area. Our room was small, musty, ragged dirty carpet. Hallway was dark, dirty and also musty. Really needs serious upgrade. No clock. Inconvenient location. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iquilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear iquilt,

We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced. We believe that all rooms should be clean and fresh-smelling. I have shared your feedback with the relevant departments and we have taken your room out of the inventory for servicing. Please rest assured that we doing our utmost to ensure that this does not happen again. Once again, I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The staff, accommodation, meals and service have been consistently good at this medium-priced hotel in stays lasting from 10 to 14 days in May and June 2011 and August and September 2012.

The hotel is conveniently located near Clark Quay and has everything one needs.

Fussy folk will find that the rooms are a little shabby, room decor is not inviting, and plumbing and tiling could do with an overhaul - but it is all perfectly OK.

Be prepared to change your outgoing SMTP settings if you want to use Outlook, and brace yourself for it to be more of a production than usual. There is GOOD onsite IT support 24/7. Kudos to David Tan and his colleagues.

Overall, this is value for money. I was there to present workshops and the convention/seminar facilities and support are unsurpassed.

Room Tip: Try for the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speech_woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Speech-Woman,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review for us. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to present your workshops without any hassles. Yes, David and his team do a fantastic job at providing 24/7 IT Support and we would be totally lost without them.
Once again, thank you very much for the review and we look forward to welcoming you back with
us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,Pa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

A very tired hotel in need of renovations. Some of those renovations were underway during our stay in early October 2012. Had we know about the ongoing construction we would have moved to another hotel? Check before you book to make sure no construction is underway.
Service was poor. Lots of staff standing around. In general not very helpful. Breakfast buffet was poor quality at best. Limited choices and no make to order eggs or omelets. Even the staff here was not very attentive.
Rooms were in need of some care and general maintenance. I would recommend finding another hotel that this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1696York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I read your review with disappointment. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience experienced. I have noted your feedback that you found many of our staff standing around and in general not being very helpful. With regards to the made to order eggs station, that is the highlight I look forward to at every breakfast buffet I frequent. Rest assured that I will pass on your feedback to the relevant departments for their necessary action. Once again, allow me to extend my sincerest apologies and I look forward to welcoming you back once our refurbishments are over and our new executive rooms and pavilion are available for use.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights over the Grand Prix weekend and it was a very great choice. We weren't sure what to expect of this hotel since it was certainly amongst the cheaper options for this particular weekend but we weren't disappointed.

We'd emailed ahead to say that we were on an early landing flight and when we arrived at the hotel around 9am our room was ready for us. We couldn't have been happier after approximately 20 hours of travel.

We were on the 19th (top) floor in one of the executive rooms. The room was a good size and the bathroom certainly provided a few chuckles when we first arrived since the walls are floor to ceiling glass. There is a blind which can be pulled down but I'd still say that you'd probably want to know your roommate reasonably well to go for this type of room! We didn't really make use of all the extras you get with these rooms but I can say that breakfast in the executive lounge was lovely and not the noisy/busy breakfast buffet affair you find in most hotels. They were also happy to give you as many wifi access codes as you required.

All the staff were very friendly and efficient and gave the impression that nothing was too much trouble.

Location wise I wouldn't say the hotel was as central as many others, it's in a quieter part of town but to be honest that suited us perfectly since Singapore was pretty busy with Grand Prix supporters so it was nice to escape back to our quiet hotel away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xKABx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Furama_Hotels, Guest Relations Manager at Furama RiverFront, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear xKAB, thank you for your lovely comments! We do try to make your stay with us as delightful as possible! Do think of us when you drop by Singapore again.
Oh, did we mention, you have to try out our Pillow Buffet too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama City Centre
#263 of 312 in Singapore
2,622 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furama RiverFront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furama RiverFront

Property: Furama RiverFront
Address: 405 Havelock Road, Singapore 169633, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Furama RiverFront 4*
Number of rooms: 615
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Furama RiverFront. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the Singapore skyline, lush greenery or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furama RiverFront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furama Riverfront Hotel Singapore
Furama Riverfront Singapore
Furama Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing