We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for short layover.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Ranked #64 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for short layover.....”
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Nice and basic room for short layover if you are not willing to spend big bucks at Crown Plaza. Shuttle to and fro hotel is a bonus. 1 way shuttle to Paya Lebar MRT is an added bonus but only in the morning. There's parkway parade shopping mall opposite the hotel which is good enough for us to get what we want - lots of hawkers stall around the area. Staff are basic and nice like the hotel...nothing extraordinary. For 1 night stay, I would choose this hotel, otherwise head to orchard hotels.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bibsterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    2,320
    780
    134
    59
See reviews for
1,555
1,320
437
918
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

Although I had emailed the hotel 2 months before my arrival in singapore to say I would be arriving landing at 06h00 and the hotel confirmed my free shuttle. 2 days before my arrival I was emailed to say that the shuttle only operates form 07h30. So we took a taxi to the hotel. We arrived at the hotel at about 06h30 and were allowed an early check-in at 09h00 which we really appreciated as we were very tired after an all night flight of 10 hours from South Africa. The breakfast and rooms were good. The location of the hotel is a bit far from everything. We had however received the free shuttle back to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imraan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 7, 2011

They took very good care of us. Highly recommend staying here. Don't forget they have complimetary shuttle service to and from the airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Although this stay was for only 1 night prior to a cruise from Singapore, the experience was disappointing.

The free airport shuttle was handy, although investment in a new bus might need to be considered as it seemed past its best - certainly in appearance anyway!

The reservation was for the executive floor and dedicated check in was swift.

The room was adequate in respect of space although the bathroom was small and the view from the room was not the best. Decor also seemed a little dated.

We used the lounge in the evening for 2 hours of 'free' food and cocktails and although the service was initially fine, when more people entered the lounge, things deteriorated rapidly. After sitting for 40 minutes without a drink, we just decided to leave.

Breakfast in the lounge was a nightmare. Parents allowed their kids to run riot. They were running all and left over the place, crawling under tables when people were eating, screaming and filling their bags with food to take out - I had a cup of coffee and left - awful experience.

On checking out, we also went to the lounge for dedicated check out, however, we were informed by another lounge staff member that no receptionist was available - I would have thought all lounge staff would be able to multi task - seemingly not - so we had to join the queue for checking out in the main lobby downstairs.

I appreciate that many reviewers on here have had a more positive experience with this hotel, however, I can only base my review on my experience - albeit for just one night, however, based on this stay, it would be very unlikely I would stay at the Mercure any time in the future.

You pay extra for lounge services - the least you expect is to receive them.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davyp777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Stayed there recently on two separate occasions. The hotel is located not far from the airport and in the residential area of East Coast. Found the room a bit outdated however well maintained and clean. The hotel is conveniently located across the road opposite the Parkway shopping centre which provides various dining options and affordable shopping. Located behind the hotel is the Pernakan Village which is renowned for their fomous Laksa and historical Pernakan buildings. Generally a couple of days stay would provide you with a good experince of the the East Coast area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Horse0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We have got the shuttle from airport to hotel although we arrived at the airport at 01.00 am. Room is very nice and clean. Staff is very good and helpful when asking for the route and bus. Nothing interesting around the hotel and a little bit far from MRT and place of interests.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#65 of 315 in Singapore
6,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Singapore Bugis
#102 of 315 in Singapore
593 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 315 in Singapore
1,231 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#12 of 315 in Singapore
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Property: Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Address: 50 East Coast Road Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#50 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy is an ideal hotel for a business trip or holiday in Singapore. A haven from the bustling city amidst the heritage charms of historic Katong, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city centre, Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo, the Marina Bay area and Orchard Road. Enjoy fantastic shopping at Parkway Parade on the doorsteps of the hotel or a great day out at East Coast Park with beaches, recreational facilities and renowned seafood restaurants. Only 10 minutes from Changi Airport with DAILY COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE SERVICE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel Singapore
Grand Accor Roxy Hotel
Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel Singapore
Mercure Singapore
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing