We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Ranked #62 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Home away from home”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

Have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. The staff are always friendly, helpful and efficient. If you need anything, all you have to do is ask. The free shuttle bus from airport to hotel and vice versa is a great bonus. Nice swimming pool with lots of deckchairs and a good-size gym. Good shopping mall, hawkers centre and restaurants are very close by. A little bit away from the CBD but public transport (by bus) and cheap taxi negates the distance from town.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,350
    2,311
    776
    132
    59
See reviews for
1,550
1,301
435
911
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (563)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2010

We stayed at the Grand Mercure Roxy for 2 nights during our honeymoon. We spent a total of 5 nights in Singapore - 3 at the Marina Mandarin and 2 at the Grand Mercure Roxy - before leaving for Langkawi. We chose GMR because of its proximity to the airport and the fact that they had hourly airport transfers to and from the hotel.

However, during our stay in Singapore, we had decided to only use the MRT to get around, which is really the best way to get around in Singapore. I have stayed at 4 other hotels in Singapore on my 2 trips there and all except GMR were within walking distance of the closest MRT station. The closest MRT to GMR is Eunos and it is a good 10 mins from the hotel by bus which was very inconvenient.

Also, the hotel is in a very modest part of Singapore far away from any of the reputed shopping / nightspots / restaurants etc. Thus, though the hotel is very competitively priced, its location really a dampener.

Overall, I don't think we would be staying here again. However, I must say that the hotel by itself was quite good and, in case one is willing to compromise on the location, this could very well be a good place to stay for someone on a short trip (also the free airport transfer is an extra).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Well priced hotel with nice rooms, airport shuttle is a bonus. Close to a large shopping centre and an easy walk to the coast.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank PJ-Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I visited Singapore along with my wife for a leisure trip. I did a lot of research work in tripadvisor and finally found this gem of a hotel which was well into my budget. The first good thing about this hotel is that they provide a free shuttle from airport to the hotel. Dont forget to mention in the airport terminal reception and they will arrange for the van immediately to pick you up. They have the service every half an hour. Once you reach the hotel, the check in is quiet easy. They get the credit card details just to block the money but they don’t charge at that point of time. We actually paid around Rs. 19500 for 5 nights. It was under a master card offer provided by the accord hotels which I should say is really heap for the quality provided. Check out for other such offers now and then in their website. We had requested for a early check in and the room was ready for us. We had gone for a premium room. It was a very spacious one with a queen size bed. The bathroom was also very neat and clean. We can adjust the ac settings to our requirement. The towels and bathrobes were also very tidy. The room was facing the swimming pool beneath and has an excellent view during the night with well lit lights. We just had breakfast in the restaurant which was really good with nice varieties. There is a nice little veg and Non veg Indian restaurant nearby (10 mins walk) to the hotel which is also really good for the Indian people. You have cabs waiting just outside the hotel door to take you to places. Just opposite to the hotel, there is a medium sized mall with some good food shops. The bus stop is also just next to the hotel with a 2 min walk. The only disadvantage for the hotel is that there is no railway station near to the hotel. You have to catch a bus or cab to get to the MRTS which will take around 15 mins travel. The east coast park along the beach is also nearby ( 20 mins walk) to the hotel. We had a nice evening walk there. The staffs in the hotel are real helpful and also have a smiling face. The travel advisor was also very patient enough to give us all the details of trains / buses and the route to reach the tourist destinations. The service was very quick and excellent. Our locker got stuck on one of the days. We just gave a call and they were there in no time to help us and unlocked the locker. I would really suggest this hotel for all the leisure travelers. It is 100 % worth with no doubt and to my knowledge, I can definitely say that it is the best in Singapore for a nominal budget.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shanu_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We stayed here 5 years ago,and established a friendship with the director of food and beverage Mr Robert Tan.On this visit he spoilt us with things such as a fabulous fruit basket and a bottle of wine delivered to our room.Also gave us other presents as momentos of our stay.We will definitely be going back.Thank you so much Robert, your professionalism shines like a beacon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyGuestMay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Stayed at this hotel in late April.
The free courtesy bus worked for us, only having to wait about 15 minutes. Hotel itself is a little dated, but all the fittings and furnishings were in good condition. The pool area was good, and relatively quiet, with only a few people in the pool. The location may not work for everyone, being halfway between the city and the Airport, but we liked the change of pace from being in the "heart" of the city, Yes, you will need to factor in the costs of Taxis, as the buses do take quite a long time. If you do stay here, I would reccomend upgrading to the executive floors. OK, it costs a little more, and the rooms arent all that much better BUT, take advantage of the pre dinner drinks and snacks.
What was supposed to be a free beer/wine, turned into half a dozen drinks each, and enough finger food that we ended up not going out for dinner. It semed that a number of other guests had the same idea, spending an hour or so enjoying the view, food, and drink. You also have your breakfast on this level as well, and it is much more quiet and easier than the normal breakfast area, Front desk/concierge staff very good and friendly. Understand what this hotel offers, and the benefits, and you will be more than happy with the choice.
If you are looking for refined quality and the city location, look for another hotel. If you are after something relatively cheap, and of good quality, and can live with the position, then go crazy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

It's a great hotel from every asepct except for location (i.e. I will give it five stars when I am in good mood). Fortunately in Singapore taxi is cheap and traffic is not so bad. If you want to use public tranportation you can take a bus to nearest subway station but don't try to walk. I am an Accor club member, maybe next time I will end up paying a little more to stay in the Novotel at Clark Quay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank junglyhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#64 of 312 in Singapore
6,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Singapore Bugis
#101 of 312 in Singapore
563 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#11 of 312 in Singapore
331 reviews
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#14 of 312 in Singapore
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Property: Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Address: 50 East Coast Road Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#50 Business Hotel in Singapore
#57 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy is an ideal hotel for a business trip or holiday in Singapore. A haven from the bustling city amidst the heritage charms of historic Katong, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city centre, Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo, the Marina Bay area and Orchard Road. Enjoy fantastic shopping at Parkway Parade on the doorsteps of the hotel or a great day out at East Coast Park with beaches, recreational facilities and renowned seafood restaurants. Only 10 minutes from Changi Airport with DAILY COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE SERVICE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel Singapore
Grand Accor Roxy Hotel
Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel Singapore
Mercure Singapore
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing