We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Ranked #64 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Balikpapan
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We used shuttle bus from Changi airport to Roxy hotel. We arrived at the hotel in the noon and the check in process was quick. The room is big enough for two person and the bed is very comfortable. If you want to explore Singapore you need going to Paya Lebar MRT Station or take a taxi. Overall we enjoyed our stay in Roxy Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgusW734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear AgusW734,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you and your partner have enjoyed your stay with us; and you are satisfied with our rooms and the services rendered by our team. We are also very delighted to know that you have found our complimentary shuttle services useful.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    2,320
    780
    134
    59
See reviews for
1,555
1,320
437
918
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My parents came to Singapore during the holidays. I booked them in this hotel since this is one of the hotels that is close to my place that I thought was going to be perfect for the 6 day accommodation. They were here from Feb7-13, and I have booked this since November. The check in process was unbelievably pointless. It's like give me your credit card, here's your key and leave. I mean, for guests staying in your hotel for 6 days, I would be thinking that you could at least provide us with information about your facilities and all. And that your price is not like those cheap nor average hotels, it is considered pricey that's why I was thinking they will be providing good service.
During the stay, I don't understand why is it that your housekeeping would make up rooms for stay overs at 10-11 am. Isn't it common sense that people are preparing during those times like if they are going out or getting ready to check out. So inappropriate! And it happened for the whole stay!!!
You know that those people checked in that time are there for the holidays, we were not even informed about the shuttles and everything.
And it's funny enough that the management would be replying to those nice reviews only. I wouldn't recommend this to any of my friends, and to think we even have a corporate account on this hotel. No good at all.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnMES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear AnnSG212,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

I am very concerned by the elements of your TripAdvisor review. Please accept my most sincere apology as the level of service rendered during your parents’ stay did not meet with your expectation.

I have immediately reviewed all the elements of your review in details with our Front Office Manager and Executive Housekeeper for immediate improvement.

In order for us to understand your experience further, we will be sending you a private message to obtain more details from you as for us to better address the issues of your review. I would be very grateful if you could provide me the details of your stay, such as the name used during the booking, arrival and departure dates, as the username “AnnSG212” is not allowing me to recover these information. Upon receiving these information, I will be able to review and understand the elements which have created such an unsatisfactory experience for you and your parents.

I hope you will not remain on this experience and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is nice and comfortable. The problem lies with the location . The hotel is too far away from the downtown. The minimum fare that you need to shell out during non peak hours is anything between 12 to 14 SGD. The bus connectivity is there to various location but with a small baby, its stroller and shopping bags can get one irritated to do the bus ride often. As being an Indian, we did not go to the restaurant on the first floor as it had nothing on the menu for us. People with Indian taste of gourmet should stay away, as Little India is really far away. There is an Indian restaurant near by which delivers food on order to the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vedruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Vedruchi,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us; and you are satisfied with our location, rooms, newly renovated swimming pool and complimentary shuttle services.

Our hotel is, in fact, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great hotel with exceptionally friendly staff. Nice and helpful greeters in front of hotel, receptionist etc. I have problem with my laptop, the IT lady was very nice and helpful. We got an extra bed without request. The pillows are just nice, and the same with the beds. Spacious rooms. Breakfast is good, tasty, lots to choose.

Only one setback which is the location. Not really in the south / central where all the happenings are. But with taxi, it will cost you from 10 to 15 SGD to most attractions. The hotel offers also free shuttle to marina, orchard, etc on public holidays and weekend. And daily shuttle to Paya Lebar MRT station, from there you can explore Singapore with MRT.

In front and around the hotel also there is a shopping mall. Parkway Parade Mall. Roxy square is adjacent to mall, where you can find places to eat / shop.

Room Tip: Higher floor to get a better view of Singapore skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alvin_grp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear alvin_grp,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us; and you are satisfied with our rooms, amenities, breakfast buffet selection, and services rendered by our team.

Our hotel is, in fact, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

Getting around Singapore from the hotel is not an issue, as there are public transportations readily available in front of our hotel. We are glad that you, like most of our guests, have found our complimentary shuttle services useful.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Highly recommend the Grand Roxy Mercure for its cozy, friendly environment and great laid back East Coast location. We stay there whenever we return to Singapore for a holiday. It is linked to the ACCOR card which allows you to redeem free nights - very useful since we have done that in Italy and France in the last two years. Just came back from a 10 day stay from 6 to 17 Feb 2013. Our only wish is that they would upgrade us the next time we stay as we spend at least 20 nights here each year. Its a nice way to appreciate and reward regulars.

WHY WE LIKE THE ROXY:
- This is not a city hotel but access is easy enough as there are free bus shuttles running to and from the nearest MRT station and to the Marina Bay area. Also a bus stop across the road where bus # 36 brings you straight into the CITY in about 35 mins.
- Right across from 2 excellent malls - Parkway Parade and 112 Katong Mall - great shopping, restaurants.
- Also is part of Roxy Square which has cheap and good foot massage places, nail and hair salons and two awesome foodcourts - best Roxy Katong Laksa and wanton mee in SG.
- Right across from the Marine Parade food court and hub
- Walking distance to East Coast Beach where there is sun, sea and lots of recreational activities and seafood restaurants
- Has free airport shuttle bus from each terminal - to and from hotel so you save taxi fares
- Newly refurbished rooms (up to the 10th floor last time we visited)
- Guests get a discount at hotel restaurants - FEAST buffet restaurant serves good quality and value local Singapore fare.
- 24 hour GYM (new equipment and well maintained)
- Phone reservations at hotel and ACCOR phone reservations are both efficient and helpful and English speaking
- MOST IMPORTANT for us: FREE WIFI!!! GREAT JOB ON THIS ROXY!!! This would be the key reason I would stay on.

THINGS THAT THE HOTEL CAN IMPROVE ON:
- A loyalty or upgrade programme that rewards and recognises regular/repeat and long staying guests (esp if your stay is more than a week long)
- More training for their concierge team - bellboys are lovely in terms of service attitude but not knowledgeable at all the way you would expect of a professional concierge team. The actual Concierge is seldom stationed at the Concierge desk which is mainly manned by the bellboys. Beyond handling baggage and airport transfers via shuttle and hailing cabs, I found no one able to recommend places of interest, give proper driving or bus or general transport directions to these places and few who even knew how and what google maps was - let alone how to access and print it off till I suggested it and showed them.
- Front desk is friendly but way TOO many trainees operating the desk - from China and Korea. Polite, english-speaking but very clueless but good if you are coming from PRC to stay in this hotel (I guess) altho I wuld not put out trainees to serve guests without supervision.
- Whilst service is generally warm and gracious - the level of professionalism is most certainly 3 star and could use a bit of training boost esp at the guest services level
- Bar and lounge / Western restaurant on 4th floor is way overpriced for what it is. in terms of food and drink! S$88 per person for a Valentines Day meal with one glass of wine?? Other restaurants esp FEAST and Lobby Cafe & Wine Bar are reasonably priced.

Great job on the recent refurbishments Roxy! We definitely LIKE you and will not hesitate to recommend you based on the great value, convenient location and free wifi. Hopefully all our other comments are viewed as positive and things to work on.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear gddeal,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, and highly recommending us as the preferred choice of accommodation in Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us; and you are satisfied with our location, newly renovated rooms, newly renovated gym, breakfast buffet selection, complimentary internet access, and complimentary shuttle services.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

We have well noted your desire for us to improve the level of service. You can rest assured we have shared your elements of review in details with our Front Office Manager and Concierge Manager for continuous training and immediate improvement.

In addition, we have also shared your review on the Valentine’s Day promotion at in our breez.bistro.bar with our Food & Beverage Director for review and consideration for future promotions.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#65 of 315 in Singapore
6,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mercure Singapore Bugis
#102 of 315 in Singapore
593 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 315 in Singapore
1,231 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#12 of 315 in Singapore
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Property: Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Address: 50 East Coast Road Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#50 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy is an ideal hotel for a business trip or holiday in Singapore. A haven from the bustling city amidst the heritage charms of historic Katong, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city centre, Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo, the Marina Bay area and Orchard Road. Enjoy fantastic shopping at Parkway Parade on the doorsteps of the hotel or a great day out at East Coast Park with beaches, recreational facilities and renowned seafood restaurants. Only 10 minutes from Changi Airport with DAILY COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE SERVICE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel Singapore
Grand Accor Roxy Hotel
Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel Singapore
Mercure Singapore
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing