We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travellers better increase your holiday budget by $2000 when staying here.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Ranked #65 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Travellers better increase your holiday budget by $2000 when staying here.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days during the last leg of our Singapore/Malaysia trip. Wanting to give our daughter a treat at the Universal Studios Singapore. We chose Roxy because of the close proximity to our relatives' homes and the to the city centre.
We reserved our rooms online. 2 rooms in total for 3 nights. Followed all requirments and gave our credit card details. However at the check in we were made to block off $2000.00 from our credit card. Not a good enough explaination was given as to why by the front desk lady named Precious.
I have stayed at the Hilton, Pan Pacific, Intercontinental and Rydges Hotels and none of these hotels ask for such a large block on customer's credit cards. A credit card imprint is taken yes and perhaps $100, but never have I come across a $2000 block, if it were not for my father who was travelling with us to loan us that $2000 we would not have any spending money for our holiday.
Next time we will be staying at other hotel brands other than the Grand Mercure.
I would however like to thank Mohammed in concierge and the the porters they were very friendly and knowledgable.
The rating would be higher if they didn't stuff it up at check in.

Room Tip: The lower floors are newer as renovations are still in progress on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Avs2,

Thank you for providing us with more information on your room booking.

Please allow me to explain that it is an international standard practice for hotels to block the full amount of the room charges including taxes, and an additional SGD$50.00 per day for each room for incidental charges on the guest’s credit card. At the time of departure, this blocked amount will be released. The un-blocking period is then dependant on the credit card company’s speed of processing, which is usually very fast but may take up to three weeks for some companies.

I hope you will not remain on this experience and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again soon at Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Yours Sincerely,

Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,253
    2,239
    762
    130
    55
See reviews for
1,501
1,242
420
866
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (538)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was in the best possible location for getting a feel for the real Singapore as apposed to the tourist Singapore. We stayed 3 nights and also had a day room on our return from a cruise. Easy access to public transport and shopping. Also the historic area of Katong on the door step.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_ironside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear ann_ironside,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us, and is satisfied with our location.

Our hotel is, indeed, conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

Getting around Singapore from the hotel is not an issue, as there are public transportations readily available in front of our hotel. Most of our guests have found our complimentary shuttle services useful.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you and sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time and found the hotel to be average for its price ( which is expensive for a 3 * /4 * hotel). i was fortunate enough to stay in a newly refurbished room which was clean, new carpets and fully equipped. there was no gratis bottle of water but this wasnt a bother as one can quite easily get bottled water from the supermarket on the top floor of the shopping mall across the road, Parkway parade. the buffet lunch and dinner at one of the restaurants is quite good and can be recommended. And if you are brave enough , across the road is a 'hawker center ' to titillate your tastebuds at ridiculously cheap prices.
I found the location to be ideal, easy enough to get to the city for meetings, the local shopping center is across the road, and it s fairly close to the airport. The hotel does have a shuttle bus going to the ariport which is rare among hotels in Singapore. ( i guess they do it because the aiport is so close , 10 mins drive)
the pictures are a bit deceptive about the beaches. Its a hefty 20min walk or nearly 1km away. but once you get there, you are in a different world . Quiet, sandly beaches, coconut trees - and yet so near an urban center.

Room Tip: Refurbishments are still going on, avoid the floor directly below the floor being refurbished. it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fly_a_lot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear fly_a_lot888,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your business stay with us, and is satisfied with our location and newly refurbished room.

Our hotel is conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

Getting around Singapore from the hotel is not an issue, as there are public transportations readily available in front of our hotel. Most of our guests have found our complimentary shuttle services useful.

We have well noted your comments on the absence of complementary bottled drinking water in the rooms. In light of our commitment towards being environmental friendly, we encourage our guest to drink from the tap that runs safe drinking water guaranteed by the Singapore Government. Alternatively, guests may consume the bottled mineral water from the mini-bar at a minimal charge. We also provided a boiling kettle for guests who prefer to boil their water.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you and sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr Loughborough
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week on business and found it to be a good location. Noticed that the hotel was also heavily used by various air crews, probably a good recommendation in itself. Had a room on 7th floor which had recently been refurbished - clean, spacious and comfortable. Staff at the hotel were always friendly, helpful and efficient.
We had the use of a conference room for meetings for 3 days and again had no real problems, with someone always on hand if assistance was needed. On conference days we had lunch in the hotel and food was always good. Plenty of choice for places to eat.
Although the hotel is not central, I did not think it was far from anywhere. There was efficient public transport right outside the hotel and taxis did not seem too expensive.
Would recommend for anyone on business. Would probably investigate further before booking for a holiday as not sure how prices compare to other tourist hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazanchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandMercureRoxy_GM, General Manager at Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore.

It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your business stay with us, and is satisfied with our newly refurbished room, conference facilities, meals options, and services rendered by our team.

Our hotel is conveniently located within close proximity to the Changi Airport, East Coast Park, town, places of interest, fantastic eateries, shopping centres and many more; yet offers some serenity as compared to the hustles in the city area. When it comes to shopping, eating and cultural experience, this area definitely has one of the best options in Singapore.

Getting around Singapore from the hotel is not an issue, as there are public transportations readily available in front of our hotel. Most of our guests have found our complimentary shuttle services useful.

At the Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel, we strongly believe that it is our duty to provide all our guests with a warm and high level of hospitality service throughout their stay. Thank you for recommending us and sharing your experience so that we can review and improve our processes to provide a better service experience for our guests. We really look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Singapore.

Kind regards,
Dominique A. Albero
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
#60 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#13 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
The Quays
Four Points by Sheraton Singapore, Riverview
Joo Chiat
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Katong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Property: Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy
Address: 50 East Coast Road Roxy Square, Singapore 428769, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Singapore
#46 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#50 Business Hotel in Singapore
#59 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy 4*
Number of rooms: 576
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Mercure Roxy is an ideal hotel for a business trip or holiday in Singapore. A haven from the bustling city amidst the heritage charms of historic Katong, the hotel enjoys easy access to the city centre, Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo, the Marina Bay area and Orchard Road. Enjoy fantastic shopping at Parkway Parade on the doorsteps of the hotel or a great day out at East Coast Park with beaches, recreational facilities and renowned seafood restaurants. Only 10 minutes from Changi Airport with COMPLIMENTARY SHUTTLE SERVICE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Roxy Singapore Hotel Singapore
Grand Accor Roxy Hotel
Grand Mercure Roxy Hotel Singapore
Mercure Singapore
Grand Mercure Singapore Roxy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing