We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Was impressed by the front desk team's efficiency with the queue. Overall a truly fuss free process.

Concierge dealt with luggage as soon as I secured room as staff anticipated I had to attend to arriving colleagues at the lobby. Registration was all done within 5 minutes!

Only grouse is the breakfast buffet- needs a bit more variety. Not enough showcasing of local dishes.

Location is a huge plus.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank TT_Aziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,665 - 1,671 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

A truly first class hotel for the outstanding service offered by all of the very friendly, courteous and well trained professional staff.
The hotel is what you would expect from a top Marriott Hotel with a good dining selection, wonderful buffet daily at The Crossroads Cafe and a lovely infinity swimming pool and good quality gym.
However there is no question that what truly makes this Marriott special are the people.
From the moment we entered the foyer on check in until we left three days later for Changi airport the staff could not do enough to help us.
A stay to remember.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I usually don't like to give bad scores, and always try to find something positive in each place visited. Well, this time it was impossible !

To be fair, I have to highlight that this review concern the "Crossroad" restaurant, and not the rest of the hotel.

From the moment we arrived, it was a disaster.

Long time to be seated, even if there were plenty of tables available but nobody to welcome and escort us.

After asking 3 times the drinks, I left the table and went at the bar counter to pick it up myself... The food (or better to say a part of it) was already on the table.
Yes, because my wife was served first, and I had to wait until she finished her meal to receive my dish.

When I asked to speak with a manager, I was told that "he was not around"...

At the end of lunch, same issue : had to ask 3 times for a coffee and for the bill.

To make a long story short : lunch was a nightmare !
Bad service and average food, would never recommend this restaurant in my life, except for my worst enemy...

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank G974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A simply wonderful hotel , totally luxurious , worth spending the money , the staff were the best so far on our trip , so helpful and polite , no trouble with a late checkout . The room was really 6 star , beautifully set up with a superb bathroom . The restaurants in the hotel were great , we had one dinner . The breakfast was stunning , a huge selection , would stay again .

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights on 12/30-1/1. Used my Marriott rewards points for stay; otherwise quite an expensive hotel. I did not think that this hotel was a 5 star hotel or a Marriott category 7. I guess, it was because of the location on Orchard Road. Plus, I had stayed at The Fullerton the night before, which is a much superior hotel. Anyhow, location is the key here as this hotel is smack in the middle of all kinds of malls and shopping. Our room was nice; nothing special. The lobby area was crowded but it was also around New Year's. Did not eat at the hotel but looked like the Crossroads cafe was a popular spot. Good for people watching. We did sample some desserts from the bakery and they were good. The swimming pool area was nice too. Very convenient to the Ion Orchard Mall, where we spent quite a bit of time and hung out in their food court area. Room service was a no-show all day till we called and complained and the room was kind of refreshed after that. The staff overall was quite courteous and helpful. I would give this property a 3.5. I expect more for the kind of room rates this hotel has.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kst1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

With so much of process and standardisation, the personal touch is lost in other Hotels.
The Marriott Singapore is different, they followed up as a our booking date came up, asked us our arrival time, room preferences, responded to our queries, shared information about the hotel and attractions near the Hotel. This aspect is unique about the Marriott Singapore and clearly stood out.

The rest is great too - well appointed lobby, grand room, facilities, excellent service, informative staff, all what you would expect from a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajeev_Shroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Excellent location along Orchard Rd for shopper and the MRT station is conveniently located just right below the hotel. Very comfortable room with amazing bed, and the outside view over looking the busy streets and traffic of Singapore.

Highly recommended breakfast on the ground floor and swimming pool / spa facilities at the balcony

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eugene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#11 of 317 in Singapore
5,122 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,879 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#40 of 317 in Singapore
23,162 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,198 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $248 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brilliant experiences await visitors at the award-winning Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel. It begins with our superb location right on Orchard Road, one of the city's most vibrant shopping and entertainment hubs. While venturing out is a breeze, you'll also have no problem settling into one of our well-appointed, luxurious hotel rooms and suites, spending your days soaking in the sun at our newly redesigned pool or indulging in a therapeutic treatment at our spa. However, if you prefer to pass your time while in Singapore, look forward to our array of exciting restaurants and bars, which offer diners award-wining Cantonese cuisine, world-class Japanese, bespoke cocktails and lots more. Boasting more than 18,000 square feet of flexible venue space and 12 versatile meeting rooms, we're also the best choice for an event in Singapore. Whether it is for work, play or a little bit of both, we think you'll appreciate all that the Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing