We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly renovated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stay over for a night in the Marriott's refurbished room, updates the hotel nicely, making it seem relevant again

Pool wasn't really big and its one of those hotels where there is a dining / bar area near the pool.
They tend to have functions there so there is a distinct lack of privacy. Wasn't that relaxing and pools are always important to me.

Breakfast spread was very good (look for the real bacon)
Apparently guests in the know request the Chilli Crab omelet, you should do that too.
The cook who was preparing the eggs however could do with some hospitality training, saucy and insouciant, i witnessed him giving lip to another guest.

You can't really do better for location in Singapore unless you're staying at the integrated resort

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranvier1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,786 of 2,654 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2013

We recently dined at the Crossroads Café in the Marriott on Scotts Road. The food was excellent where I had Ho Fann. Very tasty. My friends being their first trip to the Far East also enjoyed local delicacies. The food was excellent and good value for money. The staff were efficient and friendly....good food, good evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

What a great hotel. Well worth the premium price. Location was excellent being across from Ion Mall. Fantastic foods was to be found at that mall. Staff at hotel was top of the line. Everyone we encountered from bellman, front desk and executive lounge went above and beyond. They even remembered our names! Will stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbocpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

if you like shopping, nearby is havean. if you like quiet, they have a quiet swimming pool for you. If you like to eat, the excellent breakfast in the morning, even ice cream. The room is good, lounge is small, always crowded. The hotel price is quite expensive, if not for biz, many other choices waiting for you. Basically the hotel is in the center of Singapore, so everything is good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Big hotel, well-located to Orchard Road shopping, close to Botanic Gardens, adjacent to Orchard MRT station, several banks & cash stations. Well-staffed. Food choices at hotel and nearby are plentiful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I have to be harsh in my review simply because it's very unexpected for a Marriott name. All aspects of my stay were a disappointment; from the design of the room totally lacking in taking a guest's POV to the terrible wi-fi system. Design of the room- an awkward ledge below the shower head meant having to arch one's back to shower; tea making facilities placed at a kid's level, the plug for the electric kettle on the right side with no table space to place the kettle (clearly selling their minibar items takes priority). I was also placed in a room so close to the next one we would bump into each other if we were outside the door at the same time. You could hear every slam of the door as if the guest next door was in my room.

On the wi-fi, seriously guys don't outsource if you can't organise your vendor! I received calls at 11.30pm from the vendor! trying to fix my wi-fi. Supposed to have it complimentary but everytime, I had to log in from a page which showed chargeable plans. Was told don't worry they would take it off the bill but viola, as suspected, had my my bill slotted under the door with every login charge indicated and had to call them again to sort it out.

Overall, for the price one of the worst hotel stays ever.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank MamaC2I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Staying at hotels like these includes the standard price gouging like $9.50 for a glass of milk for my 2-year-old kid. That comes with the territory and happens everywhere. The decor was pleasant enough.

The tipping point for this review was two fold.

1. The staff member delivering a bottle opener to our room but refusing to leave it in the room — like., what, we’re going to steal a $0.50 bottle opener with an ugly Marriott logo on it? They obviously trust their customers …

2. After asking for a blanket for our 10-month-old, discovering that they only hand them over once you’ve signed a legal waiver. I’m not sure if that meant they didn’t think their blankets were kid safe or not but I took the chance!

No doubt they pride themselves on customer service but they’re blind to how seemingly insignificant things like these result in people not returning.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank Richard-Kristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 317 in Singapore
5,196 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
8,018 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 317 in Singapore
23,506 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,267 reviews
Marina Bay
The Ritz-Carlton, Millenia Singapore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#29 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $233 - $436 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brilliant experiences await visitors at the award-winning Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel. It begins with our superb location right on Orchard Road, one of the city's most vibrant shopping and entertainment hubs. While venturing out is a breeze, you'll also have no problem settling into one of our well-appointed, luxurious hotel rooms and suites, spending your days soaking in the sun at our newly redesigned pool or indulging in a therapeutic treatment at our spa. However, if you prefer to pass your time while in Singapore, look forward to our array of exciting restaurants and bars, which offer diners award-wining Cantonese cuisine, world-class Japanese, bespoke cocktails and lots more. Boasting more than 18,000 square feet of flexible venue space and 12 versatile meeting rooms, we're also the best choice for an event in Singapore. Whether it is for work, play or a little bit of both, we think you'll appreciate all that the Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing