We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sidewalk Enjoyment” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #30 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Sidewalk Enjoyment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We recently dined at the Crossroads Café in the Marriott on Scotts Road. The food was excellent where I had Ho Fann. Very tasty. My friends being their first trip to the Far East also enjoyed local delicacies. The food was excellent and good value for money. The staff were efficient and friendly....good food, good evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rennie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    989
    562
    161
    66
    48
See reviews for
357
432
145
674
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

What a great hotel. Well worth the premium price. Location was excellent being across from Ion Mall. Fantastic foods was to be found at that mall. Staff at hotel was top of the line. Everyone we encountered from bellman, front desk and executive lounge went above and beyond. They even remembered our names! Will stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbocpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

if you like shopping, nearby is havean. if you like quiet, they have a quiet swimming pool for you. If you like to eat, the excellent breakfast in the morning, even ice cream. The room is good, lounge is small, always crowded. The hotel price is quite expensive, if not for biz, many other choices waiting for you. Basically the hotel is in the center of Singapore, so everything is good.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Big hotel, well-located to Orchard Road shopping, close to Botanic Gardens, adjacent to Orchard MRT station, several banks & cash stations. Well-staffed. Food choices at hotel and nearby are plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I have to be harsh in my review simply because it's very unexpected for a Marriott name. All aspects of my stay were a disappointment; from the design of the room totally lacking in taking a guest's POV to the terrible wi-fi system. Design of the room- an awkward ledge below the shower head meant having to arch one's back to shower; tea making facilities placed at a kid's level, the plug for the electric kettle on the right side with no table space to place the kettle (clearly selling their minibar items takes priority). I was also placed in a room so close to the next one we would bump into each other if we were outside the door at the same time. You could hear every slam of the door as if the guest next door was in my room.

On the wi-fi, seriously guys don't outsource if you can't organise your vendor! I received calls at 11.30pm from the vendor! trying to fix my wi-fi. Supposed to have it complimentary but everytime, I had to log in from a page which showed chargeable plans. Was told don't worry they would take it off the bill but viola, as suspected, had my my bill slotted under the door with every login charge indicated and had to call them again to sort it out.

Overall, for the price one of the worst hotel stays ever.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SGinTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Staying at hotels like these includes the standard price gouging like $9.50 for a glass of milk for my 2-year-old kid. That comes with the territory and happens everywhere. The decor was pleasant enough.

The tipping point for this review was two fold.

1. The staff member delivering a bottle opener to our room but refusing to leave it in the room — like., what, we’re going to steal a $0.50 bottle opener with an ugly Marriott logo on it? They obviously trust their customers …

2. After asking for a blanket for our 10-month-old, discovering that they only hand them over once you’ve signed a legal waiver. I’m not sure if that meant they didn’t think their blankets were kid safe or not but I took the chance!

No doubt they pride themselves on customer service but they’re blind to how seemingly insignificant things like these result in people not returning.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Had a good stay here in Singapore. Hotel is just fine and chose it for the proximity to lots of shopping arcades and places to eat. No shortage of good restaurants. You can ask the hotel staff for their advice as they are most helpful. The rooms décor and amenities are good too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodlestoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#38 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,616 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#22 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#62 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,338 reviews
Orchard Road
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
Mandarin Orchard Singapore
#72 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Property: Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Address: 320 Orchard Road Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#30 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The green-roof pagoda is a well-known landmark located at the junction of Scotts Road and Orchard Road. Ideally situated in the heart of Singapore’s bustling shopping and entertainment hub, the five-star hotel is linked to at least four main shopping complexes by an underpass and is directly above the Orchard Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station, which means the rest of the island is but a train-ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing