We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #31 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Clean, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Reached the hotel earlier than allowed check-in time, we were already thinking to leave our luggage there while we would go around exploring the town, but the hotel reception allowed us to check in and within 5 minutes, we were already up in the room on 9th floor.

Booked the premier room via the special club marriott rate, which makes the rate to be one of the more affordable among all the hotel in/nearby Orchard area. Furthermore this hotel is one of the nearest to the Orchard MRT, even though a bit of walking is still required, but the walkway is covered.

The room is squeaky-clean, and most of the furniture seems new. The channel available on the TV is a bit limited, and the quality of the shows/movies for the HD capable LED TV is just too bad. The noise from the street is barely audible from 9th floor and I guess there is some kind of minor renovation on-going as we can hear drilling sound on weekends. The lift is not protected by any kind of key card mechanism, and the evening turn down is not consistent, i.e. present on some days and not done at all during some days. However the room service i.e. cleaning is good. Everything is cleaned and tidied up. Only 2 bottles of water given daily which is not really enough for a couple, hopefully there is a convenience shop nearby.

Plenty of food is available around the vicinity of the hotel during day time, worse case, there are 7-11 and McDonalds nearby as well. Almost all the major malls would have some kind of food court, ION Orchard, Takashimaya, Lucky Plaza (be careful of scammers), and more. The Orchard MRT station could be packed on weekends because lots of immigrants would gather there to shop around the malls there. Quite difficult to find food around there during late night time/midnight, but we did not really check with the concierge as we wanted to explore a bit ourselves.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kons168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,071
    595
    170
    68
    52
See reviews for
379
473
150
722
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have stayed here twice now and for the location alone it is unbeatable, inside an oasis of calm and order, step through the glass doors into full on madness of Singapore. Orchard Road is a major cross roads for both traffic and the MTR, from here you can go everywhere, the hotel may not be the biggest or most modern but I just love the layout, decor and the staff. Breakfasts in this hotel have to be the best in the world, there is everything conceivable from every Eastern country, and why shouldn't you have an Indian Curry with rice and a waffle and maple syrup for after. We ate most evenings in the executive lounge as it was included in the package, great selection of meals with free drinks all with a great view down Orchard Road. For an evening great I have to recommend going up to the pool, it's beautifully illuminated after dark and looking up and around at the night skyline is treat for the eyes. It will always be one of the iconic hotels of Singapore, and if you like shopping there can be no better place to start.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkMac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel has the best location in Singapore . It is convenient to shopping,underground,etc.The pool here is incredible. The rooms are incredible.They are elegant and yet so comfortable. This is the cleanest hotel that I have ever encountered. The staff is the most professional that I have encountered as well. Strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is my second stay at the Marriott - paid for with Marriott points. The generally available rates for this hotel are pretty high, even for Singapore, and there is probably better value to be had elsewhere.

However, the location of this hotel, just above Orchard MTR station, and adjacent to some of the best shopping malls in Singapore, is unbeatable. Absolutely everything you could possibly want is within about 5 minutes walk, and most can be reached via underground (and air-conditioned) tunnels, which is a blessing when you want to stay out of the heat.

The rooms are of a very good size, with excellent modern bathroom, very good amenities, and all is spotlessly clean - housekeeping in this hotel really is very good.

The pool, on the 5th floor, is an oasis in the city - you could almost forget that you are right in the middle of one of the World's premier shopping areas. The pool is of a very good size, with plenty of lounger space. There is a paddling pool, but those with slightly older children who are not strong swimmers should note that the main part of the pool is of a uniform 1.20 meter depth.

Did not take breakfast in the hotel - this is Orchard road, and there are hundreds of very good and cheaper alternatives very close by. We have (previously) eaten at Wan Hao, the Cantonese restaurant on the premises, and it is very good indeed - one of the stand-outs in Singapore for Beijing Duck.

Provided that you are OK with the rate, this is a really excellent hotel, offering very good service indeed, and you could not be better placed for the sights of Singapore. It's probably slightly better suited to business travel than families, but we loved it as a family, too.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have a great view. Rooms on the 5th floor have direct access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Marriott on Orchard is a great location and very convenient to many attractions and shopping. The room was good and spacious, the bed was comfortable and the food was good and reasonable. I would recommend it due to location to Orchard road.

Room Tip: Buy a cup of coffee at the coffee shop adjacent to the restaurant if you're not getting the buff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location right on the Orchard Road. Just above Tangs and linked with MRT station. Excellent choice to stay, no need to worry cos many choices to eat nearby.
Stayed at twin bedded room with my bday mom, I sent email to ask the Guest Relation Agents prepare a bday greeting card to surprise my mom. And I was also surprised when we checked in, not only a card was set inside the room, but also three slices of assorted cake was put next to the card. It was a really nice experience to have such lovely surprise. Thank you Marriott Singapore for creating memorable bday experience for my mom

Helpful?
Thank SannyLim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Arrived at hotel in the early hours of the morning. I had booked the hotel through a discount hotel website and clearly the rooms had gotten mixed up. The staff though did not have the decency to inform us about this. Travelling with children mean you have a budget for the holiday. After talking to staff for close to an hour they finally told us of the mix up and showed us the room. Our chosen room had space for only a double bed and they said they would place two single beds either side of the main bed. It was a very tight squeeze! We were all so tired that we decided to keep that room for the night and would discuss with the manager in the morning. When we finally got to speak to the rooms manager he put the blame on us! Clearly the hotel has poor communication between itself and other websites! Never will I be staying here again! Rude and arrogant staff, poor room quality! Ruined my stay in Singapore!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhianna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#42 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,877 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#21 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#20 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,210 reviews
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#65 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,549 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#86 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Property: Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#31 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Orchard Road hotel's green-roof pagoda is a well-known landmark located at the junction of Scotts Road and Orchard Road, in Singapore. Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel is ideally situated on Orchard Road, in the heart of Singapore’s bustling shopping and entertainment hub. We are a 5-star hotel linked to at least 4 main shopping complexes by an underpass and we are directly above the Orchard Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station, which means the rest of the island is simply a train ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing