We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worderful stay at Singapore Marriott hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #31 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Mandaue, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worderful stay at Singapore Marriott hotel”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Our 4-day stay in this hotel was so wonderful. I have nothing but good words for the staff and their service. The breakfast was delicious. Our room was well maintained though it was a bit small considering that it was on the executive floor. Overall my family and I were very satisfied. Thank you Lizette and Vic from the Marriott Cafe for being so nice and accommodating to us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c2maecab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    600
    172
    70
    52
See reviews for
384
482
154
726
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

This 5 star hotel has perfect location as you live straigh on the main street in Singapore - Orchard Road. There are a lot of shopping malls around like ION, Paragon, Takashimaya. We lived on 23 floor so we had a nice view on the city. On 5 floor there is a pool. Big enough. Staff was very friendly and careful. Room was spacious and comfortable. We didn't take breakfast as it was expensive but it is not a problem in Singapore to have it outside the hotel. Just one negative thing was the internet rate. It was quite expensive. It is strange as in Europe usually it is for free.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anturix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel, definitely a 5 Star luxury hotel locating im center of Singapore and reasonably priced. Room are fabulous ,spacious and modern bathroom with all the latest technology and great amenities. All people at the hotel from the guard to the people waiting tables really knew and acknowledge that how to treat customers to get the to feel at home and willing to come back.

Room Tip: Suite room was incredibly modern and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovedRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

An easy ride on the MRT from the airport was the first sign of an easy stay. This property is a place to go and do whatever you want. Being on the MRT line, it was easy to get all around the city. The pool was an oasis in the middle of a bustling metropolis. The gym, albeit small, suits my needs. I will return. For you late night resellers, the bar in the lobby area is an eyeful. The executive lounge was crowded but it had everything a frequent traveler could ever want, the food was great. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks on a business/leisure trip. The location of this hotel couldn't be better. Right in the middle of Orchard Road with great links to the MRT which can be so useful when it rains as the traffic seems to stop in Singapore for some reason. No idea why? Also it is only a 5 minute cab ride to Newton Circus for some local food and people watching. The staff in this hotel were very efficient and courteous and nothing was too much trouble for them. The concierges were very helpful and even arranged lunch and dinner appointments for me. Gave me some useful tips about where to go sight-seeing and what not to bother with so saved me quite a bit of time going to see things that weren't finished.

Yes, the internet charges are costly but free if you are a rewards member and if you are not one then sign up at reception and it is then free. Already being a member I didn't have to pay for the chrages and as noted by a previous comment that the charges were on the bill, yes so were mine but when I pointed it out upon check out they removed it immediately so no problem there.

The rooms are very spacious and yes the separate dressing area is definitely a plus. The workstation was fully equipped and very handy for those of us who had to work while in this beautiful city. Though I did go down and work by the pool on some days when I finished before 5pm and what a lovely place to write reports in. The poolside staff were very attentive and pleasant and catered to my every need like bringing me a salad and ice tea while I 'slaved' over my reports.

I didn't eat breakfast there but we did eat in the Crossroads cafe on quite a few occasions as this is just the perfect place to people watch with great food. Do try the local dishes if you ever get to eat there as I would highly recommend the crayfish laksa as being the best I have ever tasted and I should know as it is my favourite dish.

All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for the location, the efficient staff and the good food. I will certainly be staying there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Do request a room facing Orchard/Scotts Road and on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fastidious05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was the last 3 nights of my honeymoon. After leaving Australia for the 2nd time which was just as difficult as the first, I was pleased to arrive in the Singapore Marriot. This hotel is good and has a very welcoming reception area and is in a great location next to all the expensive shops which was great for my wallet on honeymoon!! Room was very spacious and the wife was very pleased with the dressing room area so she could get ready while I closed the door of the bathroom and got myself ready. Executive lounge was great and we attended every evening and could basically eat a meal every evening before you went out. Great choice of food!! Breakfast here was also top notch!!! Now the pool area - this is cool, sunbeds and just relaxing while you can hear and feel the heat of the city below. Watch out for the short sharp showers (or monsoons!!!). Grand Prix was on while I was here and one tip, if this is on again or even if not go to Altitude Bar one evening...we did and you could see the whole racetrack while practice was happening. This hotel has a great location and if I am ever in Singapore again I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisWhiting77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

All in all still lot of improvements possible. One issue was the service: I called them asking about the internet connection on the night of my arrival and I was told that it was totally free if I am the Marriott Rewards Members. I told the officer that I am the Marriott Rewards Member and she told me that I can select any of the internet package and the charges will be waived. However, on the last night of my stay I received a bill charging me for the internet connection as well as the room recovery charges as a result of smoking in the room according to the housekeeper (which in fact I didn't smoke a single cigarette in the room). I try to explain to them to void the charges, but in fact they can only refer me here and there to the other officer. I was my worst experience staying in 5 star hotel. In addition, in my opinion I take them as opportunist to get this little money in reference to the internet connection case. Any customer who stayed under company expenses would not bother with this situation and would pay Marriott this internet charges. What a lousy hotel it is...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annikala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#39 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#20 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#28 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#65 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
Orchard Road
Grand Park Orchard
Grand Park Orchard
#87 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Property: Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#31 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Orchard Road hotel's green-roof pagoda is a well-known landmark located at the junction of Scotts Road and Orchard Road, in Singapore. Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel is ideally situated on Orchard Road, in the heart of Singapore’s bustling shopping and entertainment hub. We are a 5-star hotel linked to at least 4 main shopping complexes by an underpass and we are directly above the Orchard Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) station, which means the rest of the island is simply a train ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing