We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #20 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Service!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I used points to stay one night here. Our room was very clean and well-appointed. The bathroom was small but well organized. The hotel gave us a bottle of wine and berries/chocolate, along with a sweet card signed by three staff members, because it was our honeymoon. The Corner Cafe looked very good, but we didn't get a chance to check it out.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,249
    620
    176
    72
    56
See reviews for
450
507
160
784
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
1,147 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

If you're in Singapore for business, book well ahead to avoid the high prices and take advantage of the Executive lounge: pretty good all you can eat food and drinks (alcoholic & non) morning, afternoon and evening served buffet style. The rooms are ample in size and well equipped. If you like daylight, you'll love the wall-to-wall window. As noted by others, the square sinks are a bit impractical (what were they thinking?), but that's not a fatal flaw, and there are two of them.

Room Tip: Go for the Executive lounge option to save on food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaseaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Well located, nice room sizes and good service. The renovations around the hotel did not disturb us. The hotel is right in the heart of the city and is well connected. This is my first stay at the hotel and I definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapphire33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alassio, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

First time back after the end of a long renovation that affected lobby and rooms. Some subtle modernization took place. Some design solutions, like the small square sinks in the bathroom may be trendy but not all that practical. However, overall the room is nice, right sized and well equipped (now incl. iPhone/iPad stand, newer TVs etc), and the shower is excellent.
Service is same as usual... waiters generally attentive but a little 'mechanical' and follow-up to requests not always accurate (most experiences were in the breakfast room where some of more junior staff are employed). On the other hand, concierge and outdoors service at taxi dropoff are high standard.
On the whole, this hotel remains for me highly competitive among various options given location and equitable (corporate) rate. For example a little better than the nearby Hilton.

Room Tip: Ask for room far from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto_NW_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've been to this location a few times and during my last stay in October'12 I was somewhat dissapointed. Despite the great location on top of Orchard MRT (so you can come straight from the airport by MTR), hotel felt very crowded and was not cheap at all (400 SGD). For similar prices, you can stay at the Marina Bay area.

As a platinum member, I had access to the executive lounge and I was kind of disappointed. Because of the round layout of the hotel, lounge looked very cramped. Food variety was also limited both during breakfast and in the afternoon. Luckily, members can also have breakfast at the restaurant located in the lobby. This restaurant had a nice spread with a nice noddle station but lacked Japanese and dim sum options.

Room was a bit small but the bathroom was nice. No tub but with a rain shower. Some renovation and construction going on in and around the hotel, so be warned about some noise during your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've stayed here 3 times and each time the people were so helpful and very service oriented. If you want to find out what excellent service is all about you have to stay here. All employees smile and say hello and are eager to help make your experience special.
The location is right on Orchard Road and central to everything, with a subway (MRT) station access right under the hotel.
The breakfast buffet is awesome, there are sections for Asian, American, European style foods, you won't leave hungry.

Room Tip: We were on floor 7 and it was pretty quiet with very little street noise. They must have quiet wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKF808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The Singapore Marriott is an excellent hotel right in the middle of the action. The Orchard Road shopping district, with abundant department stores and many high-end boutiques are just a few steps from tho great property located at the corner of Scott's Rd. and Orchard Rd. I have stayed here on three occasions. I believe the service has gotten better here each time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldudesfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#43 of 315 in Singapore
3,074 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#66 of 315 in Singapore
2,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#26 of 315 in Singapore
2,112 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#31 of 315 in Singapore
2,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Property: Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#20 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brilliant experiences await visitors at the award-winning Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel. It begins with our superb location right on Orchard Road, one of the city's most vibrant shopping and entertainment hubs. While venturing out is a breeze, you'll also have no problem settling into one of our well-appointed, luxurious hotel rooms and suites, spending your days soaking in the sun at our newly redesigned pool or indulging in a therapeutic treatment at our spa. However, if you prefer to pass your time while in Singapore, look forward to our array of exciting restaurants and bars, which offer diners award-wining Cantonese cuisine, world-class Japanese, bespoke cocktails and lots more. Boasting more than 18,000 square feet of flexible venue space and 12 versatile meeting rooms, we're also the best choice for an event in Singapore. Whether it is for work, play or a little bit of both, we think you'll appreciate all that the Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing