We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference at the Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
Ranked #17 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2011

I was attending a conference at the Marriott. First thing I can say about the hotel ...very old hotel. They really need to do something about the fittings in the men's room. The ballroom that we were in had some trouble with the air conditioning, again huge issue.

Lunch one of the afternoons ...the restaurant didn't have enough space to accommodate the guests. There was a big line outside the restaurant and it just wasn't right. The next day, it was a little bit better but several tables had to be set up in the lobby (the restaurant - Marriott Cafe - was next the the lobby).

Good things, service was decent - but its Marriott so thats a given!! The lobby was nice because it had a glass ceiling which allowed a lot of light in during the day and I thought that was great. Nice pool bar, but would have been better with some moisture fans. Food again, was pretty good. Lot of choices at the buffet at the Marriott Cafe.

Final comments, it may not the best place to have your meetings. But its might be a good place to stay given the location and service.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
Thank fhuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,254)
There are newer reviews for Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,842 - 1,848 of 2,254 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2011

Stayed at the hotel for business for a few days. It was a convenient location, although the accommodation was uninspiring. Room was small and dated. Carpet was on the verge of being worn. Breakfast was very good though. Had problems connecting to the internet in my room, but it may be that it was my laptop's fault. Note that you have to pay for internet access unless you sign up for a Marriott rewards card.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AusBusinessTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This is by far the best hotel I have stayed in, and I have stayed in many flagship hotels around the world. The service here was as good as it gets, and perhaps a little better.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

My family stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last March. I have been going back and forth to Singapore but this is the first time I stayed in this hotel. If you intend to shop in Singapore this is the hotel to be. The location is right at the heart of Orchard. Below the hotel is Tang's and on the other side is Ion Orchard, Takashimaya, Isetann, etc. The MTR station is right outside the hotel.

We went to sentosa and there is a bus that picks up customers right at the back of the hotel. Very convenient especially if you have kids with you. The buffet was really good, lots of choices and kids are free =)

I only noticed that the hotel lobby is somewhat lacking but the rooms are quite good. Clean and comfortable. We went out after we checked in to grab some lunch when we're back there is a welcome cookie and a stuff toy that my kid really liked.

Hotels can be very expensive in Singapore, we chose Marriott because of its location. Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janey_bei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I've stayed at the Marriott Hotel Singapore a couple of times, and the experiences consistently met the high expectations I have for Marriott properties in Asia. The staff are excellent, and the facilities first rate.

Getting to and from the airport is straight forward by taxi. English is the first language of Singapore, so for English speakers taxis are easy throughout the city. Also, there's an MRT station right next to the hotel for the more adventurous, or cost conscious, traveler.

Shopping abounds in the Orchard Road area, and the clientele in the hotel suggests that many visit Singapore and Orchard Road expressly for that purpose. However, make the most of a visit to Singapore by getting out to the hawker markets, the new marina and Sands complex, China town, museums, etc...

The Marriott's bars appear to be popular gathering spots late at night, as well.

The executive lounge is first-rate, but the fitness center is below average. It is hot, and cramped. There is, however, a small basketball court next to the fitness center, and there is a pool.

In summary, a quality property with excellent staff and a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtlantaRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The room spacious rooms, comfortable beds quiet and clean. With your Marriott Reward member, you will be free wi-fi , most important if you are business traveler.
Buffet breakfast was great with good selection of food and fresh organic drinks.
The most part I love about this hotel is location. Surrounded with many shopping malls with very tight schedule, I could sneak out for very last minute shopping during my business trip.

Overall, good hotel, good service, great breakfast, spacious room in great location.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Jidabhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

Great place to stay where MRT was just min. away. We have 2 children with us, and the hotel main shutter to Sentosa was just right beside of Marriott hotel. We don't even have to use the MRT to reach Sentosa, after all we just hop into the bus and they will bring us there, of course you have to pay the fare of the bus.
The reception was friendly. Thanks a lot for the useful information provided by them

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celinetsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Grand Hyatt Singapore
#43 of 316 in Singapore
3,133 reviews
Orchard Road
Four Seasons Hotel Singapore
Orchard Road
Hilton Singapore
Hilton Singapore
#69 of 316 in Singapore
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Orchard Road
The St. Regis Singapore
The St. Regis Singapore
#27 of 316 in Singapore
2,146 reviews
Orchard Road
Pan Pacific Orchard
Pan Pacific Orchard
#36 of 316 in Singapore
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Address: 320 Orchard Road, Singapore 238865, Singapore (Formerly Singapore Marriott Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore > Orchard Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#17 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#19 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#26 Business Hotel in Singapore
#33 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: $255 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brilliant experiences await visitors at the award-winning Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel. It begins with our superb location right on Orchard Road, one of the city's most vibrant shopping and entertainment hubs. While venturing out is a breeze, you'll also have no problem settling into one of our well-appointed, luxurious hotel rooms and suites, spending your days soaking in the sun at our newly redesigned pool or indulging in a therapeutic treatment at our spa. However, if you prefer to pass your time while in Singapore, look forward to our array of exciting restaurants and bars, which offer diners award-wining Cantonese cuisine, world-class Japanese, bespoke cocktails and lots more. Boasting more than 18,000 square feet of flexible venue space and 12 versatile meeting rooms, we're also the best choice for an event in Singapore. Whether it is for work, play or a little bit of both, we think you'll appreciate all that the Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Singapore
Singapore Marriott Tang Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing