We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money Hotel in Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Marlow
Ranked #277 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed June 28, 2014

A friend and I stayed 4 nights in this hotel situated about 15 minutes from Orchard Rd by cab. The hotel is on the main bus route and it is easy to get about Singapore using public transport. Our room in this hotel was small but comfortable. Unfortunately even though we requested a non smoking room it was not provided so the room had the unmistakeable smell of cigarette smoke, not successfully masked by room sprays. The pillows were too hard and were replaced with softer ones on request. The water did not run from the sink in the bathroom freely and this was fixed on request. The bathrooms had showers in the bath which was a little difficult for my friend and I but everything was clean. The staff were delightful - courteous, friendly - they helped us arrange tours, called cabs for us and seemed to genuinely want us to enjoy our holiday. Our very reasonable rate included buffet breakfast which catered to a variety of tastes. My friend ordered an omelette each morning and they were delicious. Fried eggs and scrambled eggs were also available, plus turkey bacon, fruit, cereals, croissants and pastries, toast, baked beans and an assortment of Singaporean dishes. The room was not soundproof and we were wakened early each morning by children in the corridor. We used the pool twice and it was clean without reeking of chlorine. The ladder into the pool needs to be replaced. While the hotel could probably do with a bit of a spruce up in the bedrooms and bathrooms, in terms of value for money, it was very good overall.

Room Tip: I guess if you are a non smoker you should insist on a non smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillDV8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are sorry about the room provided. We have forwarded your comments to the front office.

We will look into the replacing of the ladders in the swimming pool when it comes to our next round of upgrading.

We are glad that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again.

Warmest Regards
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (320)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 320 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is an oddity in the location it is in as practically the whole of Balestiar Road are packed with budget hotels. I suppose it tries to be a mid range hotel but as I have stayed in both the budget hotels and at the Quality Hotel, I can compare the difference.

The rooms are ok and so is the service for this mid range hotel but the other parts of the hotel don't really matches up.

The breakfast buffet is a let down. It is practically factory manufactured mass produced fast food, You can tell by the packaging when the service staff tops up the food. Because the hotel booking system mostly includes breakfast, like in my case I couldn't book a room without breakfast so I am force to avail myself to the buffet breakfast each morning. Hence the place during the morning is pure pandemonium with so many guest trying to find seats and it spills over to the adjacent bar lounge. You don't get shown to your table, you have to fight for one. And the food quickly finishes and the staff cannot top up fast enough. I suggest the hotel offer room rates without breakfast to solve this issue.

Secondly, there is a popular public restaurant on the first floor, so during lunch and dinner and especially weekends hotel guest would be fighting with that restaurant patrons for lifts, car parks, elbow room in the lobby etc.

And thirdly this hotel appears to cater to a mass market Thai, Chinese, Vietnamese tourist, so there are always hundreds of tourist in the morning (breakfast) and certain times of day when they check in and out. I have no issue with this but the lobby is not big enough to cater to so many and when it clashes with that public restaurant. The carpark lift comes straight to the lobby too.

It is not near to any MRT but if you know the bus system you will be fine.

I find the published room rates on the hotel booking sites on the high side, 50% higher than the budget hotels. I think it should only be 25% higher. The wifi is also weak and is worse than the budget hotels, so business travelers or even backpackers beware. I can't even watch youtube

Hence, I do not suggest business travelers to use this hotel. But is ok for tourist who wants free buffet and there is a bus to take them around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scfho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Quality Hotel Marlow.

I am disappointed to learn that you were not satisfied with with you stay in this hotel.

We have upgraded the internet service from 23rd June 2014. Guests may now enjoy free WIFI with higher bandwidth for up to two devices anywhere in the hotel.

On days when the occupancy is high, the cafe can be very crowded. I have forwarded you concerns regarding the breakfast buffet to the F&B department.

We take all feedback seriously, we are constantly trying to improve ourselves.

Warmest Regards
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

部屋は1ベッドで悪くはなかったです。コーヒー紅茶無料でポットあり。シンク、バスタブが高いので背の小さい人には使いにくい。シャワーの水が外に流れ、床は水浸し。ハウスキーパーのおばちゃんが超怖い。タオルをくれと言ったら、部屋にあるだろ!と怒鳴られた。ないからくれと言ったと言ったら、うるさい!と。。。フロントもチャイニーズのスタッフは不愛想。小ばかにした感じ、インド、スリランカ系は穏やか。朝食はまずい。何食べてもまずい。ネットは有料。
よかったのは、オーチャードからの帰りは免税店前から#124のバスで一本。10分~15分でホテル前に到着。便利。タクシーなら10分、12ドルくらい。ノビナ駅まで15分弱。日中は歩きたくない距離。ホテル周辺はホーカーズ、コンビニなどあり、駅にはフードコートとスーパーあり。

the house keeper wasnot good,front staffs were also not good. the room is not bad,but itis depend on the floor. breakfast was soooooooooooo bad! wifi is charged. near the hotel,there are foodcourt and supermarket at the Novena sta,convenience store is located 1block.
from Orchard,take the bus about 15mins,to go orchard is not good,take more mins.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tomato38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for allowing Quality Hotel Marlow to be your host during your current visit to Singapore. Your feedback is much appreciated and is very valuable to us. I am very disappointed to hear that your visit is not going as successfully as we would hope. The housekeeping and F&B department have been informed of your feedback. We are constantly improving ourselves so as to provide better services to customers with varying needs. You may contact me to let me know the details. The staff from the Front Office have also been reminded to uphold the service standards at all times.

It is our sincere hope that you will give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations on a future visit.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel for 4 nights and the Hotel has really good rooms with good facilities and a very helpful staff. The rooms are very well made up and have a premium feel. We reached a bit earlier than the check in time and the Hotel staff was courteous enough to give us the room earlier as it was available. The room was with a good view of the street.

The location of the Hotel is about a km away from the nearest MRT station (Novena/ Farrer Park). The area around the hotel is good with many shops for provisions and chinese eating joints along the road.

However for Indians,espescially vegetarians, there are few options in food. Only vegetarian option in breakfast would be bread and bland fried rice or corn flakes. Vegetarians looking for a heavy breakfast may want to avoid this hotel as even the hotel menu does not have any vegetarian options and it is difficult to find vegetatian food around the Hotel along Balestier Road. However there is a good Indian restaurant along Balestier road at Balestier Plaza known as Tandoori Corner, but you need to walk for about 2 bus stops to reach that place. Vegetarian Indian food witha variety of options would be available only at Little India which is around 2 kms from this place. Wifi is available on a paid basis and has good connectivity. TV has 10-12 channels. Hotel has a small swimming pool but we did not use it. However kids in other groups found it good.

Overall stay was very pleasant as the staff is very helpful and polite and rooms are very good with good facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

To cater to the needs of Indian vegetarians, we have included dishes suitable for Indian vegetarians.

We have improved our WIFI connectivity and now guests connect two devices at the same time.

We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Singapore.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First of all the service is terrible, the staff at the check in counter does not even look at your eye when talking to you, not to mention a single smile. No eye contact at all for the whole check in and check out process. Cant speak English well, suspect from Mainland China
Noted fungus stain the blanket! this is unacceptable
Up to you if you still want to stay in this hotel...I had said my words

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keenhoe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Dear Keen Hoe,

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have investigated the matter and spoken to our staff regarding the right service attitude.

The housekeeping department have also been informed of your feedback. They have taken the necessary action.

Warmest Regard
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Considered the price we paid (S$ 100 per night) we had good value for money.

It is an adequate and fairly comfortable hotel. Space was suffucient for Singapore standards. Shower was perfect, but bathroom could use some more towels.

Soundproofing is quite good. Breakfast has limited choice but enough for a good breakfast to start the day.

Closest metro station is appr 15-20 walk. Taxi to/from downtown is appr. S$ 10.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Thank Kai W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings to Quality Hotel Marlow. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are pleased to know that you found our services to be valued for money.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Quality Hotel Marlow soon.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Comfortable room, great staff, pretty popular among tourists from Vietnam and China. Breakfast could certainly be improved...it's also a bit of walk to get to the nearest Metro, however the bus stop is next door and have buses to the closest Metro station, Farrer park

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the ground floor can hear the loud music coming from the Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjeev0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel.

We have informed the F&B department regarding your feedback.

Your feedback is very important to us as we continue our focus to improve our accommodation and services. We appreciate your business.

I hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Singapore.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#145 of 319 in Singapore
299 reviews
Joo Chiat
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
#117 of 319 in Singapore
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#124 of 319 in Singapore
1,044 reviews
The Quays
Robertson Quay Hotel
Robertson Quay Hotel
#255 of 319 in Singapore
934 reviews
Hotel Royal Singapore
#273 of 319 in Singapore
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Marlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Marlow

Address: 201 Balestier Road, Singapore 329926, Singapore
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $88 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Marlow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Marlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Singapore
Singapore Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Singapore
Quality Hotel Marlow Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing