We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Business Travelers, Not a Good Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Marlow
Ranked #272 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel in October 2013, and I was eager to try it out. I had driven by it many times on other visits, and from the street it is a very handsome facility. I had great expectations, especially since the location truly cannot be beaten for the price. However, once I actually stayed at the hotel I was a little disappointed. Here are some details:

First, the taxi driver did not know the hotel, which I thought was odd. I showed him where it was using Google Maps. It was a S$20 ride from the airport, about 20 minutes.

Once in the hotel, I learned the other reviewers are correct; the rooms are tight on space, but fully functional and certainly clean enough. I also saw evidence the hotel was trying to update and refresh the property -- notice in the photos the new "desk" and the flat-screen TV, so they are making an effort. The lobby is handsome and check-in was fast. Parking is easy. Taxis are plentiful, and the staff makes an effort to be friendly and helpful. I had some laundry done, it was returned clean, quickly and at a reasonably price.

There is a bar on the ground floor, with outdoor seating for smokers (very good). The bar also has a filipina band every night, and they work hard at entertaining the crowds. I also appreciated that the bar had a good selection of single-malt scotch whiskey, which is very unusual for an Asian hotel. So far, so good.

But also on the ground floor is the buffet restaurant, and it needs some work. The food was mediocre; the space VERY crowded with tourists wolfing down their meals, and the culinary choices were uninspired and unattractive. At breakfast -- don't try to get a fresh omelet -- it takes forever. The cook works from a tippy table in the bar, and does them one at a time. Also, the coffee is wretched. Most days I walked two blocks up to the Wampoa Hawker Stand and had a great breakfast without the hassles. (Lastly, there is a vegan restaurant on the second floor but I never went there.)

A couple of complaints --

The door to my room did not close automatically; the carpets had just been replaced in the room and they were so thick as to stop the door from closing. So I had to remember to shut it, tight. This was a minor but important security and convenience issue.

Most mornings, the shower never got very hot. It was warm, but not that sharp and refreshing zing you get from a truly hot shower.

The TV is pretty weak -- maybe 20 channels, total, and the BBC and the Asian News Network were the only English choices. No golf, no US sports; no CNN, no FOX, etc. In addition, the hotel had not invested in true hi-def services, so the images on the flat screen TVs were coarse and hard to watch.

Now, about the noise. This hotel is full of tourists, noisy ones. There were school groups staying in the hotel and there were kids racing up and down the hallway until 2 or 3 am. It also is hard to get a quiet breakfast because of the throngs dining before jumping on their tour busses. The lobby at morning and night is ALWAYS jammed with people, milling about, waiting for their groups. I found this challenging, after a hard day of meetings.

The wifi is very 19th century. It seems to only allow one unit to be logged on at each time, and I carry three digital tools. So every time I used my cell phone it logged my PC off the wifi network. I logged it back on, and it would kick the iPad off. What's up with this? It drove me nuts. Also, hang on to the card they give you with the wifi codes -- you lose it (I did) they want to charge you for a different card.

One bright spot is absolutely worth mentioning -- there is a young waitress in the bar, by the name of "Ember" who was polite, helpful, and unfailingly delivered excellent service. She served me one morning when I was trying breakfast in the hotel, and also worked in the bar every night. She stood out among the staff as being highly customer-oriented. Promote her, somebody!

In summary, this is a little weaker than it needs to be. But just to be clear -- this is NOT a bad hotel. It just has a little work to do to be useful for the modern business traveler.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PilotMike2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the review.

We are sorry regarding the unsatisfying experience you had encountered in Quality Café during the breakfast buffet. Our café can be rather packed during the morning hours. To avoid the morning crowd, the Piano Lounge serves executive breakfast daily with additional charges.

Quality Hotel Marlow is located in a centralized district. Guests can reach different parts of Singapore readily. Novena, Lavender, Botanical Gardens, Boon Keng and Farrer Park MRT stations are 15 minutes away from the hotel.

Our room rates are structured based on the service and amenities provided in the hotel. We are priced competitively with other hotels within the same range.

We are proud to announce that as of 23rd June 2014, we have upgraded our internet services with broader bandwidth.

We value your feedback and would like to take this opportunity to inform you of the attractive rates we offer online for advance bookings.

We look forward to welcome you the next time you visit Singapore again.

Faith Chen
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 311 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel looks ok from the outside but feom the moment you press thw button for the elevator and wait ot givea you a taster of things to come
I was working and had to eat dinnee in the hotel. They seem to be all about the buffet I wanted something quick and a la carte
So into the dark bar. A very small selection and uninspired ia kind.
The hotel is located about 15 min walk away from the MRT station when I asked at the desk he described it as a 20+ walk.
But as basic as the rooms are it is quiet and I slept well.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank MissElainey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The room are small, a very typically Singapore hotel, and old too. But they have quite large bathroom, and tv. It's better for travellers, that not spending so much time in hotel. The wifi is free for 1 device per room. The good thing about the hotel is the price, the breakfast ( another hotel with same price, no breakfast included), and live band on weekend (or every night?).
The nearest mrt station is Novena (10-15 minute walking), but you can take the 124 bus route at opposite balestier tower bus stop , and stop in front of Newton mrt station (5 minute) to take the train to the city area.

Tips: A lot of large group of tourist in this hotel, the breakfast time can be so crowded, better take breakfast before 7.45 a.m or after 9.30 am. The best way to get to hotel (if you carrying luggage) from airport is take the mrt and stop in Lavender, and take the cab, that cost you arround $5 (in the afternoon), or just take the cab from airport, it cost you arround $19

Room Tip: Rooms that facing the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bissaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We very much appreciate your feedback and insights from your recent stay.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Quality Hotel Marlow is within close proximity to United Square, Novena shopping Mall, Orchard Road, Singapore Expo and the Changi Airport. The nearest MRT stations are Novena, Boon Keng(being the nearest of all, but may not be the most convenient for travelers arriving from the airport), Lavender and Botanic Gardens.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Rooms are very small, and does not look well maintained. Rooms facilities are poor. Internet is expensive. The price is relatively good to Singapore standards. Hotel bar is nice and I had a live singers show at nights. I think the hotel is better for travellers and less for businessmen.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank boazsharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are proud to announce that as of 23rd June 2014, we have upgraded our internet services. The system now allows two people to login to WIFI simultaneously.

We look forward to serve you the next time you visit Singapore.

Warmest Regards,
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive
Quality Hotel Marlow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I always stay at this hotel. Near to the city and very convinien. Room also nice and clean. Price still acceptable. Many group checkin from others country. don't forget to bring along your room key. Otherways you can not going up using lift. Or you can ask the hotel staff to bring you up. Life music at night time. I enjoyed the music with some drink before goin to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haryadi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It gives us great pleasure knowing that you have enjoyed your recent stay!

Indeed, location is one of the main criteria for both business and leisure travelers and our hotel has one of the ideal locations. Quality Hotel Marlow is within close proximity to United Square, Novena shopping Mall, Orchard Road, Singapore Expo and the Changi Airport.

For security reasons, guests are only allowed to access the floor which their room is located with their access card. We are glad that you have enjoyed the entertainment provided at the lounge. Our crew strive to provide a wonderful experience to everyone in the audience. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotels in Singapore are expensive so finding a place that is available, affordable and accessible is really tough. We had to spend 5 nights so I was afraid of what lay ahead for us when we booked this hotel. But we had an event-less experience, which is what I basically expect from any hotel. We didn't have to ask for anything, or wait or argue for anything.

The room was small. Really small. But I guess that is very common in the island city. However, it was clean and the beds were comfortable. Perhaps the furniture was a bit more than necessary, but it was ok. The bathroom was ok too.

The front-desk staff are indifferent - neither friendly nor rude. That was my experience throughout our stay. The breakfast was one weakness of the place. You will find it alright if you eat there only once, or twice. But if you have to eat the same (and I repeat - the same) spread every day of 5, it can get very boring! Internet can be accessed from only one device, even if there are two guests in the room, which was strange. There is a bus-stop right outside the hotel with good connectivity into the city. Taxis are pretty cheap too so access is not an issue.

But overall, we had a pleasant stay. I can recommend this place if you are looking for a budget place with average expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arpitab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We very much appreciate your feedback and insights from your recent stay.
We are pleased to let you know that the

Quality Hotel Marlow is within close proximity to United Square, Novena shopping Mall, Orchard Road, Singapore Expo and the Changi Airport.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

OK, I wasn't expecting much but this hotel hasn't even met my low expectations. First off, when I arrived, they couldn't find my reservation, then the room was dirty and the bed hard as stone. Then, even though my rate included free internet, they charged me for it. The pool is like a kids pool and the gym is 5 ft x 10 ft with a treadmill and some very very light weights. The people are all dropouts from the local hospitality college and just look at you and say "Sorry, sir" rather than actually fixing anything. DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richo878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality_Hotel_SG, Marcom Executive at Quality Hotel Marlow, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

We very much appreciate your feedback and insights from your recent stay.

I apologize that our front-desk service was far from your expectations. We are in the process of looking into a more integrated booking system to ensure a smoother process for room bookings. As for the internet service, please provide us with more information so that we can look into it. We have also purchased new equipments for the gym to improve our facilities.

I am concerned to learn about your experience. Do write in to marcom@qualityhotelmarlow.com.sg to provide us with more information on how we can further improve our facilities. My team is looking forward to make progressive improvements.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the future.

Warm Regards
Faith Chen Fengyi
Marcom Executive "

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Singapore
Hotel Royal Singapore
#245 of 317 in Singapore
726 reviews
2.0 mi away
ibis Styles Singapore on Macpherson
0.7 mi away
ibis Singapore Novena
ibis Singapore Novena
#99 of 317 in Singapore
1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Hotel Singapore At Zhongshan Park
0.4 mi away
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#118 of 317 in Singapore
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Value Hotel Balestier
Value Hotel Balestier
#179 of 317 in Singapore
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Marlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Marlow

Address: 201 Balestier Road, Singapore 329926, Singapore
Phone Number:
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #272 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: $89 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel Marlow 3.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Quality Hotel Marlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Singapore
Singapore Quality Inn
Quality Hotel Singapore
Quality Hotel Marlow Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing