We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always great service...unlike another hotel I could mention in Sg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Ranked #55 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Always great service...unlike another hotel I could mention in Sg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The third night of a business trip to/conference in Singapore was booked here by my local hosts after the "official" conference hotel messed up my booking. I'd booked the Rendezvous for some post-conference vacation and I was lucky they got me in a day early so I wouldn't haven't to move hotel twice. I've stayed here multiple times and always had excellent service. I usually book a club room, which is worth the extra money. The Yum Cha (Dim Sum) appetisers in the lounge in the evenings are great (and you can have free drinks with them should you wish for that). Always impeccable service, very well maintained rooms.

There are little things that are pluses and minuses. A plus is the directional mirror for shaving - I hate hotels which have such big hand basins that us short-sighted (and contact lens impaired) people can't see our face well to shave! So the face/shaving mirror in the bathroom here is appreciated. Lots of towels - also appreciated. I only have one minor minus point - Rendezvous have joined so many other hotels in limiting the number of devices per broadband account. I doubt there are many people who'd abuse the system if there were no such restriction and there are ways round it anyway - so I'd suggest a compromise that I've seen at other hotels near the Rendezvous, namely a maximum of 5 devices per account/room? I travel with my Australian phone, a phone for roaming in whatever country I'm in, a laptop and tablet. As a (frequently) business traveller I'm not unusual in having four devices.

However, overall this is one of the best hotels in Singapore to stay in - for a club room you get pretty much the same standards/facilities as some of the "big name" hotels near Marina Square but it's better located, more intimate and personal. I also find the clientele here generally nicer and worth talking to, unlike those hotels!

Room Tip: Club rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    1,200
    309
    83
    36
See reviews for
426
1,043
218
540
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have only good words to say: the Rendezvous Grand Hotel Singapore is a hotel that serves you in any possible way without imposing anything on you. It is comfortable with no extra extravagant art, it is extremely well located and the staff is always ready to help. really recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liora293983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for eight nights in early October as our honeymoon.

We arrived at 7am and as expected, a room wasn't available. But we could have a shower in the pool area which was much appreciated.

After a few hours of sightseeing, we returned to the hotel around 2pm and a room was available. Although I had asked for a room away from the construction, we didn't get it (not that it mattered in the end. My husband is a sound sleeper and I wore earplugs if we had an afternoon nap). We got an upgrade to a Premier room which we were ecstatic with! It was huge!! There was also a basket of fruit waiting for us. Thanks very much!

The bed was super comfy (better than the one at MBS a week later) and we had no problems with any other facilities in the room, or in the hotel for the most part. I have to say that the toilet seat is a bit hard and thin, although only a minor detail.

The pool area was nice, although the water a bit cold because it's mostly in the shade all day. Not many people out there using it when we were there, which was good! We didn't use the jacuzzi because the water looked a bit dirty. I don't know if it actually was though, as we saw some other people using it.

The cleaners were friendly and seemed to do their job well. Everything was neat and tidy when we returned to the room each day. The only slightly dirty part in the room was the grout in the shower.

The staff outside were friendly and helped us with our baggage on arrival and departure. They also helped us catch taxis easily.

We didn't eat in the hotel so I can't comment on that. We ate out at restaurants, or at the nearby Kopitiam. We also used the nearby 7/11 everyday to buy snacks and drinks. The service there was subpar though!!

Anyway, I would stay at this hotel again and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Tell them if it's a special occasion. Maybe you will get a free upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funkychicken76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed as part of a large group of MBA students just over a week ago and the Rendezvous was a great location for us. It provided a welcome retreat from the heat of Singapore and the facilities were fantastic. I had a room looking out onto the pool, which was great and made use of the facilities in the morning. The conference rooms were also well appointed. It's a pity that there was a charge for the wifi, as this should be included in the room rates I think, specially when used as a business hotel for the majority of travellers. Other than that, I can only compliment them on their service, their breakfasts and lunches were amazing and with huge variety and I had a great three nights there.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank woodee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here twice on our spot overs to and from Europe.

All that can be said is the hotel is in a great location and the rooms are clean.

Don't expect friendly helpful staff because you might be disappointed, we were.

If you enjoy satay make sure you get a taxi to Lau Pa Sat after dark and have a jug or two of Tiger beer with them, its a great night out.

Room Tip: Get a room 6th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dufftown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Concierge and all staff are stars. Loved the simple, light, white design. Master switch in the bedroom really kills all the lights. F & B (breakfast) marvelous. Very good central location and super value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The hotel is in a very central location and the room was comfortable enough, except for a badly fitted toilet seat which made a racket when we sat on it! The windows were double glazed which was necessary as Bras Baseh is a very busy road and there was heavy construction on a side street. However the service was well below what you would expect from a 4-star property. Except for one receptionist (Vivien) and a bellhop, services were non-existent. Room attendants were rather inconsistent and surly and when I rang for un-replaced towels, it took half an hour and a second call before they arrived. I used up the only 'newspaper request' card for the local newspapers on one day and since the request card was not replaced, I was not able to get any newspapers for the rest of my stay (5 days)! Restaurant is very, very expensive - even by Singapore's standards. A cup of coffee is S$7.50 plus 10% service, plus 7% GST! A sign on the window of the coffee shop advertised it was only $5 a cup and when I protested, they told me the $5 price was meant for the courtyard cafe and not the coffee shop. And when I went to check in the Courtyard cafe, they told me the $5 tag was for coffee from the coffee shop! I walked away in disgust. As a result of this, we had all our meals outside the hotel.

It was not very practical to have messages put in the TV. We missed a couple of messages simply because we did not switch on the TV! Isn't it simplier to have a 'message waiting' button on the phone?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Furama City Centre
#70 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
Carlton Hotel Singapore
#50 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,700 reviews
The Quays
Park Regis Singapore
Park Regis Singapore
#46 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Park City Hall
#44 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,428 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#11 of 306 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality

Property: Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality
Address: 9 Bras Basah Road, Singapore 189559, Singapore (Formerly Rendezvous Grand Hotel Singapore)
Location: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#40 Family Hotel in Singapore
#44 Business Hotel in Singapore
#53 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a restored colonial building located in the heart of Singapore’s Arts District, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore is inspired by its locale’s vibrant energy and character.As an art-inspired hotel, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore brings together stylish elements reminiscent of its heritage to complement modern masterpieces and create a unique aesthetic style. It is a brand that appreciates creativity and is proud to show it.Primed to be a meeting point where art and creative ideas grow, Rendezvous Hotel Singapore aspires to support the arts and culture through collaborations and initiatives with both students and artists from Singapore and around the world. This is Rendezvous Hotel Singapore, placing you at the art of it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Singapore by Far East Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Singapore
Singapore Clarion Collection
Clarion Singapore
Rendezvous Hotel Singapore By Far East Hospitality

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing