We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view.......but modest, value food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Chiso Zanmai - CLOSED

Chiso Zanmai
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Quays
Description: This restaurant is located on first floor of the big mall "The Central". Tel. (065) 6221-3177
London
Level Contributor
89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice view.......but modest, value food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great location with a view of the Singapore river and enough space to seat a party of 30 albeit on a Monday night. Sgd25 a head for the buffet is good value (eg cf sgd50 in great world city) but inevitably corners are cut. Replenishing of sashimi and sushi stations is not great

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clive063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    10
    13
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“worst buffet ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We came here for the lunch buffet about an hour before the lunch buffet was supposed to end. The restaurant had already stopped refilling many of the dishes in the buffet and the food selection was very slim and the taste was average at best. We spent a lot of time waiting for the buffet selections to be refilled. When the waiter asked us how our food was, we mentionned there was no food selection and that many of the dishes had stopped being made a whole hour before the buffet was supposed to end. The waiter didn't have much to say in response. Paid a lot for barely any food or selection. Worst meal I had in Singapore while vacationing there and I would never go again. Complete waste of money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Natasha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money and very good deal for this japanese spread”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Yesterday 2/7/13 Tuesday I went with 3 friends ,as its was on aTuesday ,the place was pretty quiet compared to last Friday as it was a school holiday,
For the kind of price I was surprised to find it was pretty good , Sashimi was ok and they had a pretty good spread...as AN J say would love a wider variety of other sashimi though. for 1.99 extra the drinks came good , so many kinds of coffees and soft drinks.i will certainly go again and given old folks like me 12.99 for a weekday lunch is simply not to be miss.
We went early and had a table near the window overlooking the river .
Try to go on a weekday lunch.

Bon apetite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swimwithsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Valued for money Japanese buffet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was my second time to the restaurant and I could see some improvement. There were more choice. We were offered a plate of snow crab as part of the restaurant promotion (they did not offer first time we came). I would recommend this place for location (right at Clark Quay), price and variety of dishes. Taste and quality are acceptable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tuantang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagudpud, Philippines
Level Contributor
176 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Never Again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Decided to visit last night, have been to some great Japanese buffets in the past, but not in Singapore. Disappointing to say the least, poor selection of sushi, and sashimi not much better. The appeared to hack off chunks of tuna, no finesse at all. Many of the buffet selections were waiting on being refilled, and quality wasnt there. The price is reasonable I guess for an all you can eat but it wasnt worth the effort it's not worth eating. BUT the worst part was the bad diarrhea next morning, so kitchen hygiene and food standards seriously poor as I have a cast iron stomach. That gets a terrible rating based on that outcome. Avoid this one! The real food doesnt match up with the plastic ones outside on display!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tartarugas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiso Zanmai also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing